Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,078 students|Anaheim Union High
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Walker Junior High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Winn and Mrs. Armijo wonderful teachers they were very helpful and pushed my son toward success is a great way his 7th grade year! This year I have a 7th grader with Mrs. Armijo and she still is a WONDERFUL teacher Very Caring! . Mr. Winn is a wonderful resource teacher and always there to help my son in any way he can! Thank you to you both for all you do with not just my sons but with all the students at walker... :)

Walker Junior High School 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
I think Walker is a wonderful Junior high, I now have 2 sons that are attending here one in 8th grade and 1 in 7th grade. The teachers and office staff are polite, friendly and always so helpful!!! Thumbs up to Walker great school :)


Walker Junior High School 1

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Appalling student behavior at this school. Many loitering at the 76 gas station taunting customers. Very pathetic.

Walker Junior High School 2

Posted July 07, 2012
- a community member
as a incoming 8th grader to walker Jr high School, i can say that this school has its flaws. The class rooms are always SO loud that not even the teachers can handle it.(as if they really care if the students talk) i am a student who is passionate about learning, and i can say that these classrooms are NOT the place to learn. and on top of that, the teachers and staff are just REALLY unapproachable. They just dont respect students with the respect they deserve.(ex: a teacher would ignore or yell at a student for asking a simple question. how do i know? 2 of my teachers did that to me) The rules that are enforced at walker are REALLY unreasonable. There are rules that they dont emphasize that are SO much more important then the ones they do now. i give this school 2 stars because it does have a lot of choices for students. For the art class they allow students to use clay and provide CORE class (a mixture of history and English class). other than that...this school is a mess.

Walker Junior High School 2

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
everybody who has kids in this school should be aware that theire policy of being bullied and picked on is not to fight back and let the bullie keep hitting you(the student). so talk to your kids if they currently are in walker jr high.


Walker Junior High School 1

Posted November 05, 2010
- a parent
My 7th grade child comes stressed out because of an old honor science teacher, He expects his students to learn on their own. He does not seem to care to teach them about the subject. He speaks in a very low volume which the students cannot hear his lecture. Anytime a student asks for clarification, he states,"I just explained that." You can tell he is there just to clock in and out. He does not display any effective teaching methods and approach. Among his approach, he announces the test to his class a day before, he loses students' papers and mark them "0" on their assignments. You can tell he does not plan ahead nor knows how to teach the subject. I am very disappointed at Walker Junior High for allowing a teacher like him to be in a classroom. The school should do a secret

Walker Junior High School 1

Posted April 04, 2010
- a student
this school doesnt care about what the students want and the teachers expect us to do so well when they barely teach us things. There is few teachers and such big classes. they make us have 2 separate lunches when there arent even alot of students!

Walker Junior High School 1

Posted March 17, 2009
- a parent
Non responsive to parents request for an appointment-do not push kids or seem to care about their education


Walker Junior High School 5

Posted September 19, 2007
- a parent
I think that this school has a lot to offer, My child seems to enjoy this School and she doesn't know anybody there. This school has great communication with the parents and the layout of the school is easy to follow. The only thing that I wish that would change is the Lunch time, it seems that the students don't have enough time to eat lunch since the lines are really long, but other than that I'm really happy with the school. Walker Jr. High Rock On!!

Walker Junior High School 3

Posted January 16, 2006
- a parent
This school has a few great teachers and few that don't care about your child's success. Class sizes are too large for individual attention to students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walker Junior High School
8132 Walker Street, La Palma, CA  90623-2097
(714) 220-4051
Last modified Walker Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walker Junior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top