Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sierra Vista Middle School 1

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
The principal at this school is very rude!!!! I came to the school to ask a few question, and I was greeted by a rude lady! As I'm leaving she gives me her business card and tells me , "I'm the principal if you have any questions." Wow!!! How can some one so rude be the principal. I'm glad I didn't send my kids here.

Sierra Vista Middle School 1

Posted May 31, 2011
- a parent
bad school bad sistem a lots of drugs problems around this school. just never will recomend this school to no body


Sierra Vista Middle School 5

Posted June 16, 2010
- a community member
Sierra Vista is the best school around. Did you know that the school scored a 10 in the like school scores of all schools that are just like Sierra Vista in student population. The administrators during the past several years have shown a committment to students that has created a wave of change. The school is safe and orderly and it is a happy place for students to learn and grow. Excellent school.

Sierra Vista Middle School 4

Posted August 30, 2009
- a student
Sierra Vista is improving at a great pace. I just got promoted from grade 8 a few months ago. Teachers are always there for their students and are willing to give them chances. If your son or daughter is still having a hard time, the school has an All Star Saturday program to help assist those in need of help for the state tests. The librarian is also really nice, and the library is full of new books. If you have any questions for any teachers, they will always surely answer them. I have a feeling this school will do even better this year.

Sierra Vista Middle School 5

Posted January 23, 2009
- a student
im now attending SVMS and it is very great and has improved in test scores and even has a waiting list for people trying to get in! And you get a laptop when you enroll!


Sierra Vista Middle School 4

Posted January 13, 2009
- a student
This is a great school because the teachers are hard working but they should have more. Overall it's pretty good , but if you really want to learn go somewhere ales. It is still a very good school.

Sierra Vista Middle School
no rating

Posted September 03, 2008
- a community member
I used to teach here. You can't have a well organized school when there is so much in fight amongst teachers and administrators. There were so many politics at this school that it is a wonder that anything was taught at all. Perhaps, and this is just a thought, if something is broken, fix it. But, as I said, so much was broken, perhaps there's no way to fix it. But, the other person said it very well, get involved, that's the best way to get your child a good education or even better, opt out of the school. In fact, maybe move to Hacienda Hts, the schools are much better there. I'd let my child go to a school there, but I wouldn't let her set foot on S.V's campus.

Sierra Vista Middle School 2

Posted March 21, 2006
- a student
I'm a former sudent from Sierra Vista, compared to other middle schools, it isn't a very good school over all.


Sierra Vista Middle School 4

Posted November 16, 2004
- a parent
I attended Sierra Vista a couple years ago. Now I am in high school. I have obtained excellent skills and abilities from SV. They have some of the best teachers that I have had in my former schools.

Sierra Vista Middle School 2

Posted May 10, 2004
- a parent
S.V. is an 'opt out ' school. This means that parents can decide to put their children in a different school, if they live in the S.V. attendance area. This school is not very well organized, which is unfortunate. The teachers work very hard for the most part, but the hard working teachers are not rewarded. If you really want to make this school better, get involved, if you're a parent. Go to Back to School Night, Open House, etc. Volunteer to help! Teachers cannot do it all alone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sierra Vista Middle School
15801 Sierra Vista Court, La Puente, CA  91744-4040
(626) 933-4000
Last modified Sierra Vista Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sierra Vista Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top