Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
La Verne, CA
Students enrolled: 1,978

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bonita High School 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a community member
Bonita High School is a superb school, with nearly all aspects of school-life flourishing. Arts, sports, and most-importantly academics are all taken seriously there. It is currently a California distinguished school. The campus is a great size, not too large and classes are easy to find. If you are struggling in a subject, there are so many options of classes to fit your needs. Bonita has a fantastic Freshman CORE program, and an abundance of athletic options for every season with friendly coaches. The arts program is also one of the best I've ever heard of, with complex theatre arts classes and clubs, a fantastic array of bands, an abundance of art classes ( such as jewelry making, and one of the best choir programs in the nation. Bands have performed at the LA County Fair, and in many competitions (always winning awards). In short, this school absolutely covers the triple A (arts, acedemics, and athletics) and should definitely be a consideration for people looking for a successful high school life.

Bonita High School 5

Posted March 01, 2012
- a community member
Great behind the wheel students. Most of Bonita High School students are very defensive. They look out for others.


Bonita High School 2

Posted June 05, 2011
- a parent
If you have an over achiever child they will be treated much differently than if you have a child who struggles and/or has learning difficulties. Those with very high grades and good test scores are treated well, those who struggle are treated with distain and are sometimes humiliated by the teachers.

Bonita High School 5

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
We have been very pleased with the Education 2 out of our 3 children have recieved at Bonita, the third will enter BHS in 2013. We are proud to say our oldest is graduating in 4 years at Berkeley with an Engineering degree. Her success in college stemmed from the support and the academic rigor during her years at Bonita. Thank you teachers, staff and Administrators.

Bonita High School 1

Posted April 04, 2011
- a parent
Your kids are in danger at this horrible school. At this very moment, Bonita High School is being investigated by the California Department of Education for refusing to let parents participate in meetings regarding their children. The CDE is currently investigating violations of ELEVEN different federal and state laws. The special education teachers and school psychologists are incompetent - so are their general education teachers. At a meeting held at Bonita High School a month ago, it was discovered the their teachers are completely unaware of the No Child Left Behind Act. Run, don't walk from Bonita High School if you want your child to receive an education. They've harmed my child - don't let them to the same to yours. At Bonita High School, your child will be left behind.


Bonita High School 0
no rating

Posted February 17, 2010
- a student
Bonita High School is the cream of the crop. If you want your kids to have the best time in high school, and still learn a lot...make them go to Bonita. I had so much fun being involved in clubs sports and asb, it made me wish that high school was 6 years instead of 4! Most of the teachers are amazing and very helpful. They take their job very seriously and still make the classes fun and will joke around with the students. So basically the definition of amazing is Bonita High School!!

Bonita High School 0
no rating

Posted February 03, 2010
- a parent
We have a handicapped son and we were very impressed with the special education teachers. They are supportive and really listen to the parent and the child. They really care and pushed my son just the right amount. When he would be enrolled in a class with the jocks they would immediately transfer him so he would get teased. We were so proud when he graduated with his class in 2008.

Bonita High School 1

Posted January 06, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Bonita High School 5

Posted October 25, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bonita High School 5

Posted October 17, 2009
- a student
This school is amazing. It not only has teachers who care about their students and stay hours after school, come in early in the mornings, and spend their lunch periods to help students, but they also connect with them. The school is such a close knitted school. Teachers and students are friends and it's a very friendly environment. When I moved and had to come to this school, I was surprised and shocked at how nice everyone was. Not only that but they have the most amazing arts programs. Band has amazing shoes, Drama puts together great performances, and Art is displayed proudly. And that's just the students and teachers! There's also so much parent involvement that helps make this school that much better.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bonita High School
3102 D Street, La Verne, CA  91750
(909) 971-8220
Last modified Bonita High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bonita High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top