Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

La Verne Heights Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

I am a Parent first, and a teacher in another district first. As such, I can easily recognize great teachers, staff, and unbelievable parent involvement. We have contemplated moving several times but have stayed specifically so our kids can stay at La Verne Heights...which according to district records has the highest amount of transfer requests into the school. I've always said that a school is a reflection of the community. Nothing could be truer for La Verne Heights. It is safe, clean, and a PTA and parent involvement that makes it the envy of like schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2014

Our new principal Mr. McKee is amazing. There is a quality of care, understanding and education in his leadership for each individual student. His top priority is the student, individually. Accompanied by wonderful, supportive and strong teachers this has been the best school my son has been attended. The parent involvement is outstanding!! So many extra curricular activities and programs put in place by volunteers and the PTA at La Verne Heights. I could not ask for a better environment, educational and social experience for my son
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

My child just completed 5th grade at La Verne Heights. I am so pleased with the quality of education he received, and the professionalism of his teacher Miss Konrad. He is well prepared for middle school thanks to her high expectations and attention to his individual needs. Thanks La Verne Heights, and especially to his teacher for a great education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

I have two children that attend La Verne Heights. They love going to school to see their friends, teachers & principal, They are provided homework to challenge them and can take A/R tests anytime to keep improving. We are lucky to have so many parents that also volunteer and push to have activities that make it a family school and atmosphere! Couldn't be more proud to be a LVH PARENT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2010

Now that my child has experienced 6 years at La Verne Heights, I can see which grade levels actually have great teachers. I have been so extremely disappointed with my child's 5th grade year. I think the teachers need to remember that this is their job, not the time to discuss dating or their social lives. LVH used to be known for having the best 5th graders going on to middle school, that will not be the case this year. Fortunately, as parents, we will hopefully get our students to the level that they need to be. Sincerely, A Very Disappointed Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

The teachers are very much invested in the students. The classrooms are relatively small, so it allows for more personal attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

Good school - my daugter likes her teacher and brags about being an accelerated reader. The school does not accept misbehaving and uses a pyramid program to monitor behavior. She tries very hard to keep her full pyramid. My daugter can be a talker, so the teacher updates me on her progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

My sons attend La Verne Heights Elementary school. Our family loves this school. It is like a 2nd home/family for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

I honestly tried to like La Verne Heights, but after my daughter was bullied by another girl and this incident was not brought to the attention of the principal like it would of been in her prior school. And those ungodly trailors that are substitutes for a class room and the high student to teacher ratio, enough was enough and it was time to make a change....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

I decided to enroll my son in La Verne Heights after researching all the schools in La Verne, and figuring I would most likely enroll him here, but it wasn't until I met some parents thru local sports that it clinched my decision to enroll. They had such positive things to say about La Verne Heights, all the parent involvement, the teachers, nothing but good things to say. My son is now in 2nd grade and he has had such a positive experience. Wonderful, caring teachers and made some great friends. I volunteer as much as I can with my full-time work schedule. I believe all the parent involvement, caring teachers and staff is the reason for the success of the children and the school. My son's educational experience here is helping him to develop a strong work eithic for his future success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

I had my son at La Verne Heights for the fifth grade it was a horrible experience for him with a 36 to 1 student to teacher ratio. After 3 days I had to take him out and put him back in private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

I had my daughter in private school and she is doing so much better at La Verne Heights! It feels like a private school because it is a close-knit group with a lot of parent involvement. My kids will never go back to private school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

I have two children attending this school, and have had two others attend a neighboring elementary school North of here. I can say with experience that La Verne Heights has been an asset to my childrens education. The Principal keeps firm, and simple objectives with the help of the exceptional teachers, staff, and parent community of La Verne Heights. He blends so many different personalities together to make a well flavored team that encourages the child to reach their self-potential. The children are asked to focus on good character, take accountability for their education and pursue academic excellence. LVH was a good move for my children and family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

I have two daughters that attend La Verne Heights. They just completed 3rd and 4th grade. This school is well rounded in every way. From academics to the arts, La Verne Height puts the kids first. It is a small school which allows the families to get to know each other and involved in all their children's activities. I strongly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

My son Justin is in the 4th grade. Our experience at Laverne Heights has been wonderful. His teacher Ms. Bartley is excellent, caring and dedicated to her students. The principal has an open door and the children enjoy talking to him. I can't say enough great things about this school. Thank you for bringing joy, laughter and an educational experience that my child will teasure for a life time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

I am a grandma of a Kindergartner and I help in my grandsons Kindergarten class. I love this school. I am a former Kindergarten teacher myself at a private school, this school has the feeling of that and the love that goes along with a small school. I am proud to have a grandchild attend this school and we just love his teacher and aide.


Posted September 7, 2007

La Verne Heights has an excellent teaching staff who are both dedicated and caring. My children have been fortunate to have excellent teachers who are highly qualified. In addition, learning is enhanced by a wide variety of programs and activities that make La Verne Heights an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

The instruction my daughter received in Kindergarten was wonderful. They received one-on-one attention, and each students academic level was addressed individually to bring them up to the appropriate standards. The principal and teachers are caring and nurturing, on a campus that feels much like a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2003

The work assignements for my daughter have been both challanging and a good learning experience for her. I believe she is both interested and excited to be attending La Verne Heights.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

882

Change from
2012 to 2013

+10

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

882

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+10

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females79%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females83%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Females47%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)21%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate55%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females67%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Females92%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)95%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students84%
Females75%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females88%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females71%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students85%
Females85%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 45%
White 42%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Black 2%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/AN/A
English language learners 4%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1550 Baseline Road
La Verne, CA 91773
Phone: (909) 971-8205

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Foothill Montessori
San Dimas, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT