Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Baptist Church And Schools

Private | K-12 | 81 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in La Verne

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $374,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,490.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2013

The teachers here are not required to have teaching degrees, or even a degree at all. They hire friends and family members of the church. There is also very little options for class selection.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

This school lives God"s words and not just preach it . The kindergarten teacher is awesome .Small classrooms meaning more attention to students .They work on fostering skills that come handy in life .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

Calvary s curriculum involves critical thinking, analysis, and application. The students participate in fundraisers which helps them build confidence and aquire job skills. Calvary is absolutely one of the best investments I have made for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2012

Great staff, small classes, more one on one attention from teachers. A very caring and safe environment. Their daycare/after-school program is really good, with loving teachers and aides. Our older child goes to this school and our second one will be, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

Staff is caring and nuturing. Curriculum is challenging in a positive way. Great sports programs with opportunities for everyone to play.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Calvary is a wonderful school with loving, caring staff. I have been very pleased with my child's growth as a person, as well as academic achievements. I am a happy and proud Calvary parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2010

Our first year at Calvary has been a wonderful experience. The staff is very loving to our Son's and we are always recommending Calvary to our friends.


Posted November 18, 2009

CBS is a place for students with all abilities. Staff care about students and want the best for all!


Posted August 30, 2009

We thought we found the perfect school for our kids. Small classes sizes and the website states they can help kids with special needs in which two of my children needed. My son's class was very small and he wasn't able to get the help needed' We had to put him back in the public system to receive help with his phonetics and phonology. My daughter's algebra course wasn't taught in the traditional manner rather was based on switched on schoolhouse (SOS) which is a program for home schooled kids. School is decrepit and teachers need to be better educated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

I went to this school for about 4 years, I left before the start of the 8th grade, iI am a junior now at a nearby highschool and well this school was good to me. The teachers and other staff were like family, since it is a small school it is like a larg family, I liked it but, well i have moved on and well I like were i am so yea it was a good school for about 4 years.


Posted June 13, 2008

Our first year at Calvary has been a wonderful experience. The staff is very loving to our daughter and we are always recommending Calvary to our friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

This school is more than a place for your child to learn and grow. It is a family of teachers and students that cater to your child s needs. The curriculum is not only educational but fun and gives my child the tools necessary to approach life with a Godly perspective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

Very small school in need of repairs. Poor student behavior. Under educated staff. A poor school for a student. This is one unhappy parent.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted February 23, 2004

A very good atmosphere and close family love from staff and fellow classmates. The school produces productive and God Loving students. A good school for parents to investigate for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 27% 26%
Black 23% 6%
Hispanic 23% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 11%
Two or more races 10% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Taylora Dial
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
  • CSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2990 Damien Avenue
La Verne, CA 91750
Phone: (909) 593-4672

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Joan Macy School
La Verne, CA


Holy Name Of Mary
San Dimas, CA




Foothill Montessori
San Dimas, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT