Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chaparral Elementary School 2

Posted August 11, 2016
- a parent
Whoever is on the staff today on August 11th 2016 is rude. Supposedly she said there were only 2 workers and the person who answered the phone was rude. I received an email from my daughters teacher saying that we should know by now if our daughter is early bird or late owl. I checked my phone and even called my voicemail to see if I had any missed messages. So I asked my husband to call for me while I was taking care of my newborn and right off the bat she was rude. She said we should've gotten a call but obviously we didn't. She asked rudely what are daughter name was and I now feel that they purposely didn't call due to our last name to discriminate against my family. The staff said she was early bird and she said next time check your phone or messages. Like what I said in the first place, we didn't receive any message at all, that is why we are calling. My husband asked for her name and this person that works with kids acts like a kid and hangs up. My husband calls back and a different person answers the phone and claims she doesn't know who we are talking about. How should I feel about my child going to this school when they are not acting as adults and being responsible. I very disappointed with the staff working today.

Chaparral Elementary School 4

Posted March 22, 2015
- a parent
This is my daughter's 5th year at Chaparral and she has had amazing teachers every single year! It has been awesome that there has always been 2 student teachers in the classroom working with the class to bring the ratio down and all have been excellent student teachers from UCI. My daughter is one of the highest ranked students in her class but I think it has a lot to do with her teachers keeping her focused. She is in the Gate program but I'm not too sure what exactly she has been doing that has been different from other kids. I do feel like the community as a whole can be a little "fake" and that the you need to act or dress a certain way to be accepted (kind of like high school). My daughter has a group of friends but I don't know if I see them being lifelong friends for her. Of course there are a handful of parents that are really cool and down to earth but that's the overall feeling I get. I send my other daughter to a different elementary school and the feeling and community among the parents is a lot tighter with more real conversations about life rather than trying to keep up with what someone else's kid is doing or who has the nicest house, etc


Chaparral Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
This school is awesome! They have been able to take the state mandated huge class sizes and develop a system of learning that works! My son is both excited to go to school as well as challenged when he gets there. Starting his third year at Chaparral....he has never had a bad teacher. They have all been actively involved and communicate well. And...the principal is AWESOME!! He is always visible and involved. Cannot say enough good things about this school... staff ...teachers... principal... love this school!

Chaparral Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2011
- a parent
My two children tell me everyday how much they love chaparral. The positive learning environment created by the principal, office staff, and teachers ensures me my children's safety and enables me to notice their growth academically. I am highly impressed with SchoolLoop and the Learning with Laptops Program. Well Done.

Chaparral Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2011
- a parent
Our children have attended Chaparral for the past 6 years and we couldn't be more pleased with the school. It feels more like a private school with opportunities to be actively involved in your child's education in both the classrooms and on the PTA. The principal, office staff, teachers, parents, even the regular substitute teachers, know and care about the kids and do what it takes to be sure the kids are doing their best everyday. We highly recommend Chaparral!


Chaparral Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
Our kids love the teachers and while I miss our old Principal it is still one of the best in the OC.

Chaparral Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2010
- a parent
My son has been in the pre-school program and it is excellent. The teachers are incredible and I feel is well prepared for the next kindergarten.

Chaparral Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2009
- a parent
Chaparral Elementary is an amazing learning community! The principal, staff, students and families of Chaparral are second to none.


Chaparral Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2009
- a parent
Dr Rafferty is an amazing principal!

Chaparral Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2008
- a parent
This schools has some of the hardest working teachers I have ever seen. They spend a huge amount of time meeting, planning and creating a positive atmosphere for all kids. Even those with special needs. The teachers have all recently been doing a hands on program of math problem solving that has taken my children to a whole new level of thinking. This school (and principal) does put children first and reminds them everyday to 'learn like a champion!' I wish school was like this when I was a kid!

Nearby schools

Chaparral Elementary School
29001 Sienna Parkway, Ladera Ranch, CA  92694-0433
(949) 234-5349
Last modified Chaparral Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top