Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ladera Ranch Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Living in Ladera Ranch

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $478,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

Ladera Ranch Elementary- I found found that some teachers are better than other but overall, I can't complain. I have not found the PTA to be cliquey. I don't attend meeting because I work full time but my husband attends and volunteers, and as the "odd man out" he has always felt welcomed and included. He is actually chairing some committees this year. I love that they don't have fences. This is school, not prison. Volunteers are required to wear very official badges so anyone who is not supposed to be there is immediately noticed. The parent involvement is incredible. I live in Ladera Ranch but work in Santa Ana, and the reason I don't move closer to my job, is because of the far superior education my children will receive in Ladera Ranch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

Very very sad!!! This school deserves a 1!!! First of all the school isn't fenced in, a open campus, 38 kids in a 3 rd grade class and a teacher that all she does all day is sit in front of her computer and email. The only way to start a dialog is through email. BAD BAD BAD School! What has California come to? We use to have the best school now the state is ranked 48. Needless to say my son won't be going here next year!!! We are going to be playing catch up this summer to get him up to par for a private or charter school. STAY FAR AWAY FROM CAPO SCHOOL DISTRICT!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2012

My child just finished fifth grade here. He's always had great teachers since kindergarten. I am confused by the Meg Gwyn bashing. My guess is it is from parents who didn't get their way. She is not warm and fuzzy, but runs an academic school.. We had 6 great years here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2012

I like the school. I find that the parents are very involved and that does go a long way. A lot depends on the individual teachers your Kid gets for each grade. We are happy with the teachers that my Daughter was privileged to have in all Her grades so far. We parents take active interest in my kids school - homework, tests, additional practice, .... and I think that is very important in addition to the teachers you get. The school has very good API scores and API growth though I think they give you just one dimension and do not present the whole picture. The school has excellent facilities I must say. Things can be much better though in my opinion. I do agree with some of the comments from other parents that there is too much (emphasis on) fluffy stuff like fundrisers, drives, sellathons, ... etc. I don't need/want my Kids to be expert salesmen/saleswomen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2012

Always somethin...But I am not pleased with this school since we started. My child is in kindergarten, and the way things are going, my child will be hating school for the rest of his life. Our teacher happens to be very passive, and just doesnt seem like she wants to be there. I know you happen to be a parent too but by gosh, take advantage of some after school program so your own children doesnt need to stay there in your classroom. The principal is very defensive when you bring up something to her attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

I saw a new posted 1 star yesterday, but someone was removed it. Please be honest with whatever parent commend. Telling the truth is helping the school, principal and management to be better for our school. If you still keep doing only posted the best commend, then your website is always lier. Thank you for your understanding
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2011

This school is definitely not as good as it shows here. I just pulled out my kid this school year. Can you believe that teachers' kids were allowed to stay during a parent-teacher conference??? I wish I could watch my kid at work!! Very unprofessional!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 16, 2011

Thank you Ladera Ranch for teaching & loving the whole child! My kids are blessed to have such a caring group of educators. My family could not be happier with the wonderful teachers, fabulous principal, and a fun-loving and supportive PTA! This is truly a model school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

LRES is an excellent school!! You can't argue with an API score of well over 900 for 2 years in a row. Almost all of the teachers are incredibly talented and extremely dedicated to our students. Meg Gwyn does her best to balance all factors. If it weren't for budget cuts from the state and the drama from our school board, life at LRES would be just about perfect. We should be grateful for our PTA - those parents have worked exceptionally hard to provide many wonderful things for our students and our school. And I have found the parents to be very friendly! Wonderful school - we are blessed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

Why do we need a principal like Meg Gwyn. She basically just eats, sleeps, and plays with our taxpayer's money. Look at the core curriculum at this school; writing, reading, and math are far behind other schools. Does she care??? All she cares about is to "FIT IN" to the PTA girls asking for MONEY paractically every month. Party is her goal. Parents are unfriendly just like Meg Gwyn.


Posted May 21, 2011

Meg Gwyn has poor leadership. She has been led by the PTA instead. It's time for a change. We need a new principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

The teachers are certainly "dialed in" but the problem comes from the principal and trickles down. There's no emphasis on core curriculum, e.g. reading, writing, math. Instead you get bombarded with emails and flyers about golf tournaments or parties disguised as after school activities and all demanding money. What really rankles you is the amount of class time diverted to things like the Jog-a-Thon, Jump Rope for Heart, Walking for Something or Other. There's an imbalance between the value of education and these PTA sponsored activities that really contribute nothing to my child. The principal, Meg Gwyn, however, is in the PTA's backpocket. It's sad really...it's like she wants to be accepted by the "popular girls" (and just to give you a picture, there's a hierarchy with the mom volunteers at LRES: room moms are at the bottom and PTA moms are the ruling clique). Gwyn will either brown-nose you or give you the run-around, neither of which is conduct befitting a school principal. After several years of this nonsense, I'm joining the growing contingent of parents who are pulling their kids out of LRES and into a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

Wonderful school! My daughter has attended K-2nd there so far & we can't imagine being anywhere else! Great teachers, a lot of parent involvement and a real sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

We have the best teachers who really take a lot of time in planning wonderful lessons and activities for our kids. Our PTA is also fabulous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

It is a top rated elementary school with an awesome principal & teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

The teachers go beyond the ordinary lesson plans to enhance the students' learning and curiosity....


Posted February 10, 2009

My son attended this school from 1st-5th grade. He did not have such a great experience. He has learning disabilities, and the principal and staff did not know how to work with him. They had low expectations of him, and his self-esteem was extremely low. He is now going to a private school (not for students with disabilities) but they have embraced him and made him feel welcome. He still struggles in school, but his self-esteem has risen and he now has more confidence in himself. We should have moved him out sooner from Ladera Ranch Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

My child has been at LRES for 2 years - very good experience. Staff is responsive and caring. Teachers work well together and are interested in the learning of the students. Parent involvement is great. The environment is like a small school but there are more than 800 students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2006

A great school- They truly have the best interest of both child and parent. Great teachers who truly care and teach well.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted June 7, 2006

My son has attended LRES for the last 2yrs. K-1st grade and it has been a wonderful experience. The teachers have been extremely attentive, the prinicpal knows almost all the students by first name. Parent support is amazing. Programs offered are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

914

Change from
2012 to 2013

-20

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

914

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-20

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females83%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability55%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females80%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females67%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students85%
Females82%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Females91%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females84%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Females95%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females80%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students94%
Females94%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 67%
Hispanic 14%
Asian 9%
Two or more races 6%
Black 2%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/AN/A
English language learners 4%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

29551 Sienna Parkway
Ladera Ranch, CA 92694
Phone: (949) 234-5915

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT