Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Ladera Ranch, CA
Students enrolled: 1,119

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oso Grande Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
I have had two children of mine attend Oso Grande and one more to go. Here, you will see teachers who truly care about students, a strong school spirit, a beautiful campus, a focus on helping others and opportunities to excel. The students love their school and contrary to the outdated reviews posted here a few years ago, this school is way above average. I have met several parents from other Ladera elementary schools who said they wish their kids had been assigned to Oso Grande, which has a reputation as the best elementary school in Ladera Ranch. There is strong parental involvement, which makes a huge difference in academic achievement. The teachers work hard and the principal is always open to new ideas on improving the school. The PTA does a great job too. We are so lucky to be a part of this school!

Oso Grande Elementary School 4

Posted April 26, 2014
- a parent
My three children have been at this school of years. I think most of the teachers are great.


Oso Grande Elementary School 2

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
Basically after 2 years with 2 children, we got 1 great teacher & the rest were less than mediocre! Expect to have to pay for a private tutor for Math, esp after 3rd grade, staff teacher said they didn't like they way the were teaching it! Not consistent with implementing reward programs, Big Buddy, Plays, field trips, ETC. Not impressed with how Principal handles conflict between students and looking into other school options.
1 person found this helpful

Oso Grande Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2012
- a parent
Oso Grande is an exceptional school! In reading the negative reviews, I don't think those people would be happy anywhere... Yes, Ladera and Chapparal may have higher test scores, but that is not a true measure of what makes a school great. Oso has an amazing leadership team, a strong staff, and a supportive community. My child loves school, and that is what matters...the joy of learning.

Oso Grande Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2012
- a parent
My son had excellent, dedicated teachers at Oso Grande. The principal is a truly gracious leader who really cares about the students.


Oso Grande Elementary School 3

Posted September 12, 2011
- a parent
This school underachieves. Compare it to other schools in Ladera, and you scratch your head as to why the test scores are so-so given our equal if not superior resources. Yes, scores are not the end all be all, but they are a factor in measuring progress. While LR and Chapparrel excel and improve, Oso's improvements are less than the district average. It surprises me that many Oso parents have been bragging about Oso's test progress. Our similar schools comparison have been abysmal for years whereas the other Ladera schools (including LR Middle) all compare favorably. Test scores are not my only criteria. While the teachers and administration are very nice and promote school spirit, Oso simply is not academically rigorous. My son was often bored in class and with his assignments and I have to work hard to challenge him beyond school. Like any other school, it's hit and miss with teachers -1 good, 1 ok, 1 bad. I'm sure other parents will attack my review as off-base/misinformed but having talked extensively to parents at the other schools and at Oso, I'm not drinking the Kood-Aid. Given the student, parent and financial resources, we really should be doing better.
2 people found this helpful

Oso Grande Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school would not change a thing, great principal excellent parent helpers strong leadership at the school test scores just keep going up

Oso Grande Elementary School 3

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
Oso Grande is merely average. Though the teachers seem to truly care, they don't provide necessary leveled learning so that all children should expect. For the more gifted children who need to be challenged beyond grade-level curriculum the teachers will not or cannot do so. They are stuck in a box and refuse to think outside of it. They should be ashamed to expect the district to give them greater comensation from this economically-broke state and high-tax community considering they don't 'teach' all the children.


Oso Grande Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 10, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school if you are most interested in the amazing leadership of the principal and most of her staff. Some of the parent volunteers tend to live through their kids and are so incredibly over the top about being at the school daily to show everyone how hard they try. Just be sure not to cross anyone who is an over achieving parent who might just see that they can make life for you and your children as miserable as possible. I have witnessed it with my own two eyes. Parents like this should remain off campus and let the truly interested volunteers help the students succeed. It's an amazing school if you can see through the clicks.

Oso Grande Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oso Grande Elementary School
30251 Sienna Parkway, Ladera Ranch, CA  92694
(949) 234-5966
Last modified Oso Grande Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oso Grande Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top