Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Contra Costa Jewish Day School

Private | K-8 | 160 students

We are best known for strong academics and Jewish community.
 
 

 
 

Living in Lafayette

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $869,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2014

CCJDS has consistently provided a warm, loving environment in which my 8th grade son has developed as a confident, well-rounded student. We're particularly thrilled with the school's commitment to providing Spanish for the middle school, and to the advanced math curriculum. Dean Goldfein is very committed to creating a smooth transition to high school, based on the requirements of our specific school. We've been very happy here, and encourage more Reform/secular Jews to apply. This *is* the place for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2014

We LOVE CCJDS. My son transferred to CCJDS after years in the public school system in Lamorinda, which is known for its outstanding schools. He had a positive experience in public school but was bored and not engaged in school. He has been at CCJDS for one year and he loves it. I have never seen him so happy and engaged. The teachers and staff are amazingly supportive with individualized attention. My son is challenged and excited by the nurturing environment. We feel very lucky to be part of such a caring, creative and stimulating community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2014

This school was awful for me. The level of mathematic education at the school, and many of the students don't know how to behave. Our family also has had bad experiences at the school, and the kids have constant issues with Judaism. Tefillah at the school has a large lack of discipline, people talk all the time and do crazy things in the Tefillah room. People are extremely unmotivated to learn Hebrew or do anything with Judaism, they think it is completely useless and just wish it would all go away. I personally am Jewish by both parents and don't believe it is right that people must pray to God in one specific way or even have to have to pray to God at a Jewish school - there are many kinds of ways to express Jewish identity that CCJDS says they condone but in their hearts do not truly condone it or allow people to truly express. Also this school has had a long history of either rude or not-so-good teachers at the school. Also there is one schedule for all the kids in Middle School, expensive hot lunch and not well thought out electives. Overall, this school is not for someone who really wants to be studious, it is for someone who is religious and doesn't care about education.


Posted May 1, 2014

We love CCJDS! CCJDS offers great academics paired with an amazing Hebrew and Judiacs program and offers parents a warm and supportive Jewish community for their family to be a part of. Small classroom sizes make it easy for kids to learn and get the attention they deserve! We highly recommend Contra Costa Jewish Day School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Our family loves the Contra Costa Jewish Day School! We have two students at the school -- two children with different interests, learning styles and educational needs....and both of them are having an excellent academic and personal experience. The classes are small and the teachers are extremely smart, creative, and dedicated. The teachers know my kids as learners and as people. The dual curriculum is rich in values as well as skills. I love that my children have developed a confidence that they CAN make the world a better place. This strong connection to community is evident in how the children treat each other and the world around them. CCJDS is a happy, tolerant, welcoming place. Of course, not every day is perfect, but the overall atmosphere is extremely positive, inclusive and engaging. The school has grown a lot in recent years and there are opportunities for new curriculum offerings (e.g. more electives) and after-school activities. So far, the school leadership has worked hard to offer "big school opportunities" within a small school setting and I hope they will continue to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

This school has great academics in most areas. However, the school seems to be focused more on Hebrew and Hebrew grammar then on English and English grammar, and focus more (in general) on the students who are thriving and not on the students who are struggling. I would not suggest this school to anyone who's child has social or learning difficulties in any subject. It will not be a good experience for you or for them. However, if your child is a young leader, who is an extrovert, willing to learn, and is ahead (or at the curve) of all educational milestones, this is the right school for them.


Posted November 1, 2012

As parent of two students at this school, i want the community and prospective parents to know what a great place CCJDS is. It is true community of caring teachers, administrators and families. Academics are outstanding and students get the added benefit of learning about their jewish heritage and developing a great deal of pride and self confidence to go out in the world as a total rounded human being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

This school really knows and cares about my children! My son and daughter have been students at CCJDS for 6 and 7 years respectively, and have grown and thrived in this learning environment. Now as middle schoolers they love being leaders, having a significant role in the school musical, playing on the sports teams (soccer and basketball), participating in meaningful community service projects and being role models for the younger students. The teachers know them well and they are comfortable to approach them for help as they need it. They also know how much the teachers care for them and want the best for them, they have forged very close relationships with both current an former teachers. I can't recommend this school enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

This is an outstanding school with strong leadership, terrific teachers, comprehensive athletics, fabulous curriculum (where can you get Hebrew and Spanish?), a beautiful physical plant, nice children and parents, and a very inclusive and responsive community. My child says that he has learned more in one year at CCJDS than in his whole life. He loves coming to school. My kid will be mightily prepared for high school and life when the time comes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

This is a wonderful school--strong leadership, very strong academics (tremendous language arts, super math, and impressive science and lab, a nice athletic program, a beautiful physical plant, invested teachers, and a sweet, respectful, and inclusive population of kids who love learning. The Jewish studies curriculum is great, thought-provoking, and the Hebrew instruction is very strong. The newly-added Spanish elective uses an excellent curriculum, as well. My child loves the student--teacher ratio. The parents are a nice group, too, very committed to the healthy functioning of the school and supportive, financially and in their volunteerism..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

It is difficult to capture in words the great attributes of the Contra Costa Jewish Day School. The academics are excellent and built around the needs of the individual child. The community is unlike what you would experience elsewhere, very warm and giving - like a large family. Families from every walk of life with the common goal of providing a great education in a safe and engaging environment. Absence is the peer pressure and competition seen at other schools, private and public, in this and other high wealth communities. The social opportunities abound across all ages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

This school has wonderful learning and social environment. We are happy to be part of this school while it's still young. The administration is highly committed to providing quality in all areas and it feels like a large nurturing family in a setting that gives each child a lot of attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

I am a grandparent of a child in 4th grade who has been at the school since kindergarten. The school has a strong academic program in a wonderfully nurturing environment. In addition to the normal academics of the public schools, the school offers a comprehensive Hebrew language and Jewish studies program. The parents (as well as a lot of grandparents) are very involved in this school and support it with their time and talent as well as financially. There is a strong feeling of 'family', and I am delighted that my granddaughter has the opportunity to attend school in this very special environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 26%
Black 2% 6%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Hebrew
Russian
Spanish
swedish, welsh
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Lafayette Green School Award (2011)
  • CAIS Accreditation
  • WASC Accreditation

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Hebrew
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • swedish, welsh

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dean Goldfein
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • info@ccjds.org
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • JCDSA
Fax number
  • (925) 284-8289

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Hebrew
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • swedish, welsh
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Speech Therapy (private pay)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Van Service from Oakland/Berke
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • cricket
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • cricket

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Gan Ilan Preschool
Gan Avraham
Gan B'nai Shalom

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$17000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Acalanes High School
Jewish Community High School
Bentley High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

955 Risa Road
Lafayette, CA 94549
Website: Click here
Phone: (927) 284-8288

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St. Perpetua
Lafayette, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT