Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Lafayette, CA
Students enrolled: 160
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Contra Costa Jewish Day School 4

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
CCJDS has consistently provided a warm, loving environment in which my 8th grade son has developed as a confident, well-rounded student. We're particularly thrilled with the school's commitment to providing Spanish for the middle school, and to the advanced math curriculum. Dean Goldfein is very committed to creating a smooth transition to high school, based on the requirements of our specific school. We've been very happy here, and encourage more Reform/secular Jews to apply. This *is* the place for you.
1 person found this helpful

Contra Costa Jewish Day School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
We LOVE CCJDS. My son transferred to CCJDS after years in the public school system in Lamorinda, which is known for its outstanding schools. He had a positive experience in public school but was bored and not engaged in school. He has been at CCJDS for one year and he loves it. I have never seen him so happy and engaged. The teachers and staff are amazingly supportive with individualized attention. My son is challenged and excited by the nurturing environment. We feel very lucky to be part of such a caring, creative and stimulating community.
2 people found this helpful


Contra Costa Jewish Day School 1

Posted August 07, 2014
- a community member
This school was awful for me. The level of mathematic education at the school, and many of the students don't know how to behave. Our family also has had bad experiences at the school, and the kids have constant issues with Judaism. Tefillah at the school has a large lack of discipline, people talk all the time and do crazy things in the Tefillah room. People are extremely unmotivated to learn Hebrew or do anything with Judaism, they think it is completely useless and just wish it would all go away. I personally am Jewish by both parents and don't believe it is right that people must pray to God in one specific way or even have to have to pray to God at a Jewish school - there are many kinds of ways to express Jewish identity that CCJDS says they condone but in their hearts do not truly condone it or allow people to truly express. Also this school has had a long history of either rude or not-so-good teachers at the school. Also there is one schedule for all the kids in Middle School, expensive hot lunch and not well thought out electives. Overall, this school is not for someone who really wants to be studious, it is for someone who is religious and doesn't care about education.

Contra Costa Jewish Day School 5

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
We love CCJDS! CCJDS offers great academics paired with an amazing Hebrew and Judiacs program and offers parents a warm and supportive Jewish community for their family to be a part of. Small classroom sizes make it easy for kids to learn and get the attention they deserve! We highly recommend Contra Costa Jewish Day School!
1 person found this helpful

Contra Costa Jewish Day School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Our family loves the Contra Costa Jewish Day School! We have two students at the school -- two children with different interests, learning styles and educational needs....and both of them are having an excellent academic and personal experience. The classes are small and the teachers are extremely smart, creative, and dedicated. The teachers know my kids as learners and as people. The dual curriculum is rich in values as well as skills. I love that my children have developed a confidence that they CAN make the world a better place. This strong connection to community is evident in how the children treat each other and the world around them. CCJDS is a happy, tolerant, welcoming place. Of course, not every day is perfect, but the overall atmosphere is extremely positive, inclusive and engaging. The school has grown a lot in recent years and there are opportunities for new curriculum offerings (e.g. more electives) and after-school activities. So far, the school leadership has worked hard to offer "big school opportunities" within a small school setting and I hope they will continue to do so.
1 person found this helpful


Contra Costa Jewish Day School 4

Posted September 02, 2013
- a community member
This school has great academics in most areas. However, the school seems to be focused more on Hebrew and Hebrew grammar then on English and English grammar, and focus more (in general) on the students who are thriving and not on the students who are struggling. I would not suggest this school to anyone who's child has social or learning difficulties in any subject. It will not be a good experience for you or for them. However, if your child is a young leader, who is an extrovert, willing to learn, and is ahead (or at the curve) of all educational milestones, this is the right school for them.
1 person found this helpful

Contra Costa Jewish Day School 5

Posted November 01, 2012
- a parent
As parent of two students at this school, i want the community and prospective parents to know what a great place CCJDS is. It is true community of caring teachers, administrators and families. Academics are outstanding and students get the added benefit of learning about their jewish heritage and developing a great deal of pride and self confidence to go out in the world as a total rounded human being.
1 person found this helpful

Contra Costa Jewish Day School 5

Posted January 31, 2012
- a parent
This school really knows and cares about my children! My son and daughter have been students at CCJDS for 6 and 7 years respectively, and have grown and thrived in this learning environment. Now as middle schoolers they love being leaders, having a significant role in the school musical, playing on the sports teams (soccer and basketball), participating in meaningful community service projects and being role models for the younger students. The teachers know them well and they are comfortable to approach them for help as they need it. They also know how much the teachers care for them and want the best for them, they have forged very close relationships with both current an former teachers. I can't recommend this school enough!
1 person found this helpful


Contra Costa Jewish Day School 5

Posted May 11, 2011
- a parent
This is an outstanding school with strong leadership, terrific teachers, comprehensive athletics, fabulous curriculum (where can you get Hebrew and Spanish?), a beautiful physical plant, nice children and parents, and a very inclusive and responsive community. My child says that he has learned more in one year at CCJDS than in his whole life. He loves coming to school. My kid will be mightily prepared for high school and life when the time comes.
1 person found this helpful

Contra Costa Jewish Day School 5

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent
This is a wonderful school--strong leadership, very strong academics (tremendous language arts, super math, and impressive science and lab, a nice athletic program, a beautiful physical plant, invested teachers, and a sweet, respectful, and inclusive population of kids who love learning. The Jewish studies curriculum is great, thought-provoking, and the Hebrew instruction is very strong. The newly-added Spanish elective uses an excellent curriculum, as well. My child loves the student--teacher ratio. The parents are a nice group, too, very committed to the healthy functioning of the school and supportive, financially and in their volunteerism..
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Contra Costa Jewish Day School
955 Risa Road, Lafayette, CA  94549
(927) 284-8288
Last modified Contra Costa Jewish Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Contra Costa Jewish Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top