Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Lafayette, CA
Students enrolled: 459
 

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

25 reviews of this school


Springhill Elementary School 4

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
Springhill is definitely on the mend! After a rough few years with the principal who replaced Bruce Wodhams, the school atmosphere is peaceful once again. The interim, Mr. G., was just what we needed! And everyone is so excited about the new principal who was recently hired to start next year. She used to work at the school and will bring great experience and enthusiasm. She also has a special ed background and that will be beneficial since this is the special ed hub for the district. Lots of families of children with special needs move to our district to attend Springhill.

Springhill Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
This is a beautiful school with some great teachers. The new principal is wonderful and a breath of fresh air after the last principal. The office manager is so kind and sweet with the students and parents. This school is a hub for special education students, and the services are top notch. This is a school who is slowly healing after a stint with a very polarizing, negative principal. Hopefully this trend will continue. My kids are getting a great education and feel safe and supported at Springhill.


Springhill Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
Sprinhill is a wonderful school! The campus is spacious with plenty of space for the kids to play and explore. The teachers have been dedicated not only to teaching the academics but to the wellbeing of the kids too. I love all of the art, science, music and PE enrichment provided. Last, but not least, the parent community is involved and friendly. All in all, we have had a great experience at Springhill.

Springhill Elementary School 3

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
After three years of painful flux, the Principal has departed Springhill. The interim Principal will be Mr G - the district psychologist. He used to be the school psychologist at Springhill prior to his district position, so he knows the school, families and staff. This is a great step in the right direction for the school. Let's hope the new principal is a thoughtful choice. This is a committed group of parents and volunteers.

Springhill Elementary School 2

Posted July 04, 2014
- a parent
The overall academic quality of Springhill Elementary School has declined over the past four years as evidenced by decreasing standardized test scores in comparison to other local Lamorinda public schools. Our class sizes have increased significantly over this time and student need has grown without an adjustment in campus resources. Many children in need are under served. The current principal has successfully reduced parental involvement during school hours as well as field trips in some grades. School problems are minimized or not communicated to parents. Quality, experienced teachers and staff are leaving and the school community morale has declined. The committed community of parents are more hesitant and less willing to get involved because of the principal's philosophical differences, lack of leadership and collaboration, and investment in quality education.


Springhill Elementary School 4

Posted June 30, 2014
- a parent
We have two children at Springhill, one entering 1st grade, and the other entering 3rd grade. We've found the teachers to be very professional and engaged. We receive regular communication from the teachers and administrators with respect to goings on at the school - programs, special days, calendar, etc. There's quite a bit of parent involved, both on the organizational front, as well as volunteering for events, and helping the teachers. The school is clean, and the facilities are well maintained. There is a before/after care center adjacent to the school propery, which many of the children attend (ourselves included from next year). The setting of the school is picturesque, as it backs up to the Briones State Park - the kids can see the cows grazing on the other side of the fence. There's also a large garden area at the back of the property. On the downside, the homework is somewhat hit or miss - there seams to be less emphasis on homework at this school than we're accostomed to, having recently moved to the area from out of state. Overall, we're pleased with the school, and our kids feel safe/happy there.

Springhill Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
We have been at this school for the past 2 years and love it. My kids are getting a balanced education and preparing to be bett r citizens, not just robots who can take tests but can navigate through the world based on their experiences at school.

Springhill Elementary School 2

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
The mantra here in Lafayette is " Lafayette schools are the best in the State and the Nation". They are NOT. At all. All you have to do is look at the Standardized test scores and school rankings. Maybe people just assume if they pay outrageous prices for homes that the schools must be great in the area. A bad and erroneous assumption.


Springhill Elementary School 1

Posted March 02, 2014
- a parent
School test scores reflect high socioeconomic demographic, not quality of school (and are lower than other schools in area). Current principal is unhelpful and not well-liked by either parents or teachers. School is special ed hub for district but doesn't have necessary resources to serve the numbers of students who are referred here, and if you have a kid with a milder learning disability they are unlikely to be well-served, nor are gifted students. Some excellent teachers, but also some fairly awful and mediocre teachers who should be removed. Current principal is trying to cut back on field trips and opportunities for parent volunteers in school, aside from fundraising.

Springhill Elementary School 2

Posted February 19, 2014
- a parent
You will find that people from the Lafayette area think Lafayette schools are great. If you move here from other parts of the country you may find like I did that Springhill is good but definitely not great. You only need to look at the Standards test scores to see that Springhill is not up to par with other schools in the area. Also Springhill was rated a 10 on this website and recently dropped to a 9. It does not appear that this school is striving for academic excellence. Because of Proposition 13 that was passed decades ago the property taxes just aren't enough to fund all that the schools need. Every parent is asked for money at the beginning of the year and there are fundraisers throughout the year to help pay for things that should be standard in a school. Thankfully they do have a lot of parents willing to volunteer. Also my child has had excellent teachers. That is probably the only reason we are still there.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Springhill Elementary School
3301 Springhill Road, Lafayette, CA  94549
(925) 927-3580
Last modified Springhill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Springhill Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top