Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Perpetua

Private | K-8 | 261 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lafayette

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $869,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2014

We have attended St. Perpetua school for some time and were shocked to see that they are planning on installing a cell tower on the church/school campus right by where our kids play each day. If you are concerned about exposing your child to the possible harmful effects of this cell tower, please make sure to investigate the risks before enrolling your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2012

Our children went here for longer than they should have. The tuition was fine, the teachers were good, but the parents were really into gossip, and competitive with their children. We moved to another private school and have had no more issues. We kept none of the friendships from this school, and the kids don t ask about their former classmates, (that tells you something right there). There was a lot of student and staff turnover. We knew families that said they were happy there, but if we run into them now they have moved their children as well. We did our homework on schools, but sometimes you just can t tell until you experience it for yourself. If you decide to give this school a try; don t share more than you are willing to have the entire school know, because it will travel around the campus in about 24 hours! I was pretty shocked at some of the late night phone calls I received to update me on school yard gossip.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

If you want a school that knows your child, knows your family and cares about the big picture of education, ethics, good citizenship and building great leaders of tomorrow, then St. Perpetua is the school for you. Great academics, caring teachers, involved parent community and administrators who understand the needs of all involved -- an excellent blend that will serve your child and your family well. In an area where we are surrounded by public schools that offer excellent academic programs, you'll experience how St. Perpetua School offers a solid foundation well beyond your academic needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

Saint Perpetua is an outstanding school. The teachers love what they do and are there for the children and do whatever they can to help each succeed. The school also provides a place where my children's spirit can be stimulated as well as their minds. As a graduate of this school, it is my pleasure to give the gift of an education at this school to my own kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

Outstanding school. It has an amazing community, incredible parent involvement and the teachers truly invest themselves into the children. We love it but more importantly, our children love it. It is a true pleasure to be involved with St. Perpetua School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2012

When it was time for my son to go to school, we looked at several schools in the Lafayette, CA area. What impressed us about St Perpetua was the commitment and passion that came across from the teachers to the principal. Once you are involved with St Perpetua, you quickly realize why it is a great school - the community. The parents are extremely involved in the education of their children. It is a perfect balance of education, faith and letting kids be kids. We are extremely happy with our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2010

St. Perpetua Elementary School is a gem! As a parent of three graduates, our children were blessed with the education and community that surrounded them. As an educator I am always impressed by the lengths to which the faculty works to meet the needs of individual students. Creating a triad consisting of student, parent and teacher is the framework in which they set the goals and objectives for student success. My children are now all in college and I continue to be grateful for the foundation they received at St. Perpetua School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

Both my daughter and son attend St. Perpetua and they truly love every minute they are there! We have to admit that this is perhaps our smartest decision in sending our kids to St. Perpetua. We are fortunate to live in an area where the public schools are those highest in the state. However, we still choose every year to send our kids here knowingly that St. Perpetua in comparison is socially and academically above par other local public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

My daughter attened St. P's for 8 years and I cannot say enough good things about the school. Aside from its academic orientation, it is also a wonderful environment for the whole family. It has a small town feel because everyone seems to know one another. Their new Children's Learning Garden is an incredible plus. I encourage anyone to check it out..but be prepared for academic rigor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

We have been at St.Perpetua School for 3 years. It is by far one of the best experiences my family has had. The staff and the students are wonderful. Everything you look for in a school St. Perpetua has it, great teachers, kind students, parent involvement, fun activities, high rank academics. But most of all is the approval from our children. They love their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

St. Perpetua School's administration, faculty and staff include some of the finest educators I have ever encountered. They are a dedicated group who are highly committed not only to the academic education of their students, but to the children's spiritual and moral development as well. St. Perpetua is a small school that offers a safe and nurturing environment and a sense of community to all students. Students in the upper grades are taught and encouraged to attend to and look after the younger students. Teachers as a whole do not hesitate to take whatever steps are necessary to help students who are floundering. The school's office manager doles out tough love with a surreptitious smile, and every student knows s/he is loved. St. Perpetua offers a unique educational environment that fosters academic excellence in a warm and caring community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 26%
Hispanic 9% 52%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Karen Goodshaw
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Oakland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3445 Hamlin Road
Lafayette, CA 94549
Phone: (925) 284-1640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Meher Schools, The
Lafayette, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT