Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Lafayette, CA
Students enrolled: 261
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Perpetua 5

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
We are very pleased with St Perpetua. We currently have two children at the school. The teachers are great educators and dedicate to the kids and school. The community has been warm and welcoming. It is the right balance of education and religion. The children learn how to be good people while receiving a great education. The principal is a constant learner and focused on providing the best education for the kids. Her background in both parochial and public school education has been an asset in helping provide a well rounded education and environment for all kids of learners.
1 person found this helpful

St. Perpetua 1

Posted December 19, 2014
- a parent
As a perspective parent, I was very taken aback by several things I observed. The principal's background/experience is solely in public education. That fact is very evident in how she runs this school and the teachers she chooses to hire. Terms such as "Fun Friday" and "specials" are not part of a parachocial school's vocabulary. Having attended Catholic school myself, I am very familiar with how they are run and was incredibly turned off by this principal. Moreover, she came across as stiff and frosty. I once met the previous principal who ran the school years ago. That woman was a true advocate of Catholic education with a much warmer personality. If you are considering this school, I would suggest you keep looking. There are other Catholic schools out there that truly embrace the faith. Saint Perpetua is nothing more than a front for a public school.


St. Perpetua 3

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
We have attended St. Perpetua school for some time and were shocked to see that they are planning on installing a cell tower on the church/school campus right by where our kids play each day. If you are concerned about exposing your child to the possible harmful effects of this cell tower, please make sure to investigate the risks before enrolling your kids.
2 people found this helpful

St. Perpetua 3

Posted November 03, 2012
- a parent
Our children went here for longer than they should have. The tuition was fine, the teachers were good, but the parents were really into gossip, and competitive with their children. We moved to another private school and have had no more issues. We kept none of the friendships from this school, and the kids don t ask about their former classmates, (that tells you something right there). There was a lot of student and staff turnover. We knew families that said they were happy there, but if we run into them now they have moved their children as well. We did our homework on schools, but sometimes you just can t tell until you experience it for yourself. If you decide to give this school a try; don t share more than you are willing to have the entire school know, because it will travel around the campus in about 24 hours! I was pretty shocked at some of the late night phone calls I received to update me on school yard gossip.
1 person found this helpful

St. Perpetua 5

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
If you want a school that knows your child, knows your family and cares about the big picture of education, ethics, good citizenship and building great leaders of tomorrow, then St. Perpetua is the school for you. Great academics, caring teachers, involved parent community and administrators who understand the needs of all involved -- an excellent blend that will serve your child and your family well. In an area where we are surrounded by public schools that offer excellent academic programs, you'll experience how St. Perpetua School offers a solid foundation well beyond your academic needs.


St. Perpetua 5

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
Saint Perpetua is an outstanding school. The teachers love what they do and are there for the children and do whatever they can to help each succeed. The school also provides a place where my children's spirit can be stimulated as well as their minds. As a graduate of this school, it is my pleasure to give the gift of an education at this school to my own kids.

St. Perpetua 5

Posted February 21, 2012
- a parent
Outstanding school. It has an amazing community, incredible parent involvement and the teachers truly invest themselves into the children. We love it but more importantly, our children love it. It is a true pleasure to be involved with St. Perpetua School.

St. Perpetua 5

Posted February 19, 2012
- a parent
When it was time for my son to go to school, we looked at several schools in the Lafayette, CA area. What impressed us about St Perpetua was the commitment and passion that came across from the teachers to the principal. Once you are involved with St Perpetua, you quickly realize why it is a great school - the community. The parents are extremely involved in the education of their children. It is a perfect balance of education, faith and letting kids be kids. We are extremely happy with our choice.


St. Perpetua 5

Posted November 18, 2010
- a parent
St. Perpetua Elementary School is a gem! As a parent of three graduates, our children were blessed with the education and community that surrounded them. As an educator I am always impressed by the lengths to which the faculty works to meet the needs of individual students. Creating a triad consisting of student, parent and teacher is the framework in which they set the goals and objectives for student success. My children are now all in college and I continue to be grateful for the foundation they received at St. Perpetua School.

St. Perpetua 5

Posted March 25, 2008
- a parent
Both my daughter and son attend St. Perpetua and they truly love every minute they are there! We have to admit that this is perhaps our smartest decision in sending our kids to St. Perpetua. We are fortunate to live in an area where the public schools are those highest in the state. However, we still choose every year to send our kids here knowingly that St. Perpetua in comparison is socially and academically above par other local public schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Perpetua
3445 Hamlin Road, Lafayette, CA  94549
(925) 284-1640
Last modified St. Perpetua is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Perpetua Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top