Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Laguna Hills High School 5

Posted July 05, 2016
- a student
I just finished my freshman year here at Laguna, and it is a very good school. The school has a "family" feel to it, and I've never had any problems with any of my teachers or other students. There is something for everyone here, and the staff try their best to make it possible for you to do multiple extracurriculars. I personally am involved in the theater department, but there are so many other ways to get involved as well! AP and IB courses, ROP classes that help with career planning, sports, clubs, and a plethora of electives to choose from. The staff as a whole have been very supportive and helpful, and Mr. Hinds as the principal has been amazing! He is always out and about, talking to students and making them feel welcomed. I'm excited to spend the rest of my high school years at Laguna. Go Hawks!

Laguna Hills High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 16, 2016
- a teacher
Mrs. Belfield is a great role model for her passion and having a strong civic voice. Thank you for defending our schools and helping expand awareness about the state of education out into the community!


Laguna Hills High School 4

Posted May 16, 2016
- a teacher
Although administrative personnel can come and go over the years, the teachers here have a strong voice and really care about their students!

Laguna Hills High School 5

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
AP and Honors courses are exceptionally outstanding. My daughter has been attending LHHS for 2 years now and I feel the curriculum is helping her prepare for a university. Great, caring teachers and super athletic departments.

Laguna Hills High School 5

Posted August 09, 2013
- a parent
Something for everyone. Get involved to make your experience much more meaningful. IB, MUN, AP, great sports, and fun all inclusive environment.


Laguna Hills High School 2

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
As with all schools, this school isn't for everyone. The teachers do not take an active interest in the students. SVUSD's mission statement is "preparing today's students to succeed in tomorrow's world" and this clearly is not happening at LHHS. When administration takes a concerned parent's questions and concerns in a defensive manner and one of complaint, thus resulting in actionable behaviors, then SVUSD's mission statement is a complete failure. There is absolutely no accountability held to administrators, but rather they "use" their authority. Maybe it is out of the norm to have a parent care about the future of their child. The administrators seem entirely too concerned about a lawsuit and making sure they cover their a$$ instead of simply doing the right thing and following correct procedures. When questioned, as a concerned and caring parent, I was met with extreme defensiveness and constant complaining about all the "extra" hours of work he (administrator) had to put in to finalize reports. I'm pretty sure that's part of the job description. If the success of our children truly mattered, then I wouldn't be here writing a failed report on the school.

Laguna Hills High School
no rating

Posted December 29, 2009
- a student
I am currently a freshman at Laguna Hills High School and so far I am very impressed and glad to be at this school. Most of my teachers are very helpful, intelligent and fun which makes learning easier. I highly applaud the English 1 Honors teacher, Mr. Macare, he has made learning a great experience at Laguna Hills. Most of the other students at Laguna Hills High School are also very friendly. I'm proud to be a Hawk!

Laguna Hills High School
no rating

Posted November 30, 2009
- a student
As an alumni of Laguna Hills High School I can say with certainty that this school is one of the best in the area. API scores are better than most other schools in the county and the great combination of academics, sports, and extracurriculars make this a top notch school. The AP classes and honors program are difficult, yet, but I feel that they thoroughly prepared me for college. As always, Go Hawks!!!


Laguna Hills High School
no rating

Posted November 18, 2009
- a student
I wasnt diappointed with Laguna Hills High School at all. I was looking forward to going for a long time and now its just as good as i hoped. the teachers and the students are great.

Laguna Hills High School 4

Posted October 08, 2009
- a community member
I attended high school there and it was a great experience. From great teachers to a fun theatre department, Laguna Hills is a great school to graduate from.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Laguna Hills High School
25401 Paseo De Valencia, Laguna Hills, CA  92653-5395
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (949) 770-5447
Last modified Laguna Hills High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top