Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crown Valley Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Living in Laguna Niguel

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $456,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

CVES encompasses everything a young child should experience in early education. My child has been going there since Kindergarten and I have yet to find fault. The campus is as if it jumped out of a childhood children s book. The staff is so friendly and a day has not gone by without a gracious greeting from anyone who passes by. The Principal, who knows almost every child by name, stands in front of the school every morning to greet the children as they come onto the school grounds. He then does Flag salute outside with all the children of all grades and follows with a joyful speech on upcoming events, kids birthdays and special awards. And with all the children listening, there are so many parents there supporting the children. My child is in first grade and was fortunate enough to get one of the most amazing teachers I have ever met. She doesn t believe in negativity and disciplines the children with such an amazing positive approach that the children truly respond to. I am so truly appreciative of what CVES has done to help my child grow into a happy and educated small adult and sincerely believe that this school is a wonderful example of what education should exemplify.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2014

I like Crown Valley and I like the principal! I'm frustrated and thinking about changing schools for next fall. My daughters 1st grade class this year has many challenging factors. 30+ students, learning curves for a lot of the children, children not focusing and having emotional outbursts which effects everyone in the classroom!!!! I volunteer to support my child and this gives me the chance to see how the class overall is doing. Thankfully my child has learned to adapt much like many of the kids have had too. My child is bored and tends to draw elaborate pictures on the back of her work because she is waiting for the teacher to help others that are either not listening and just simply don't understand the assignment that they are working on. The teacher can only do so much!!! MY consensus is it's not the school or the teacher but the lack of parenting for these kids. The kids that do listen and are eager to learn are not being challenged because of the disruptive and troubled children that take a lot of the teachers attention. I will continue to volunteer because the teacher deserves the support and especially the young children but it needs to start at home!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

This school used to have a great kindergarten teacher with Mrs. Seftel but unfortunately for the students but great for her she is no longer at this school. The new teacher does not seem to teach the kids rather hand homework out and let the parents do the teaching. My son has gone backwards since entering in to this class. On a high note for the school is the principal he knows everyone and takes time to greet the kids each morning and say goodbye at the end of each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

Crown Valley Elementary School is a breath of fresh air. It has the feel of a small town school, the parents are wonderful and the staff is so knowledgable! I feel so fortunate that my children attend this school, it's the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

Crown Valley truly is one of a kind. Mr. Bogle is a wonderful principal, who knows every child and their family. We have a beautiful campus with gardens where the children learn to cultivate various fruits and vegetables, an energetic PTA where the parents spend countless hours working for the students and teachers, loads of new programs for the entire school including a stand alone science laboratory. The science lab has monthly instruction for all K-5 students, with lab equipment available to all teachers at the school and a brand new Panasonic Interactive White Board which was donated by a former scholars family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

The principal, teachers, and staff are wonderful. The principal knows every child by name and is frequently in the classrooms visiting with students and observing teachers. The teachers provide an engaging and supportive educational environment. The support staff at CVES is top notch. The office staff is informed and helpful. The classroom aides are friendly and provide additional support to the students and teacher. The PTA is active in promoting activities and programs to support student success. We have a diverse student population which allows every child to learn compassion and patience. Recently, I have spoken to many parents who transferred to CVES and have been very happy with their choice. We may be small, but we are mighty!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2013

We are fairly new to the school and we absolutely LOVE it. The Principal knows every student, sibling & parent by name. We have a FABILOUS PTA that has brought in a new music program this year and does a lot to help our school. We have GREAT parent involvement and a beautiful campus. There really isn't much that is negative that I can say. We are a smaller school but I think that is a bonus. There is more personal touch. We are the hidden gem of the neighborhood. I would totally recommend Crown Valley Elementary School to any new incoming families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

nice school, terrific principal, not great teachers. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

CVES is an amazing school with teachers, staff, and a principal that truly cares. How many schools can boast a principal who knows every single student? The person who wrote about Mrs. Alexander should take a hard look at herself as a parent. When you point a finger at someone else, there are three pointing back at you. My child had Mrs. Alexander and THRIVED in her class. She inspired the kids to be great readers and many of her students were doing multiplication and division. She caters the lessons to each student's level. Are you involved at the school? If not, you should. That is what truly tells you what is happening in the school. Don't base your opinion on a schizophrenic parent who can't control their own child. Get to know the people at the school first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

NOT a great school. I enrolled my daughter in kindergarten here last year. She was in a class room where two teachers share the class - it was like Dr. Jekyl and Mr Hyde. My daughter was having a hard time adjusting to being at school, and I caught one of the teachers literally screaming at her as she sobbed not long after I dropped her off. It was really scary to see a kindergarten teacher acting in such an uncontrolled and inappropriate, and just cruel manner to such a young child adjusting to a new school. I would hate to see how she treats the kids half way through the school year. I do not recommend. It was very traumatizing for my daughter, and infuriating for me. I will say that the principle handled it in a nice way, and the teacher apologized - but really should people like this ever be in a classroom?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

Our school is wonderful, truly one of a kind! The campus is beautiful and the students are loved by their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2010

I have two kids at Crown Valley and absolutely love it! It's the kind of close knit school that I remember going to...great families, wonderful teachers, fantastic principle, and dedicated PTA. Our campus is beautiful with large, mature trees and a vegetable garden in the middle. The kids recycle and have started a composting program. My kids are getting a great education and love their school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

I have a child attending this school and love this hidden gem! The school has a smaller number of students than some of the surrounding schools but that is the added bonus of getting to know every kid, their parents and really be involved in his elementary school experience. This school has great teachers, administration and parent participation. My son is getting a great education and loves going to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

I have a 1st grader and we love Crown Valley. I have had nothing but a great experience here, my son really likes going to school and adores his teacher. The administration, teachers and parents show alot of pride and commitment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

My kids love this school and they're getting a great education. Parent involvement is high, teachers are excellent and the children are thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

796

Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

796

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females72%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females72%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Females63%
Males24%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate46%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students64%
Females67%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females91%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state72%

Math

All Students70%
Females82%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females68%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state65%

Math

All Students47%
Females55%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate36%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state53%

Science

All Students48%
Females50%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate27%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 26%
Hispanic 18% 52%
Black 2% 6%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 10%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

29292 Crown Valley Parkway
Laguna Niguel, CA 92677
Phone: (949) 495-5115

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grace Classical Academy
Laguna Niguel, CA


Grace Classical Academy
Laguna Niguel, CA


Grace Classical Academy
Laguna Niguel, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT