Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare

2 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mary P. Henck Intermediate School 5

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
We have had 4 children attend MPH. As our first child attended we quickly learned the negativity we had heard was not true. Our oldest was not a strong student and the MPH staff took great care of him and kept us well informed. After all four have now left MPH we highly recommend this school and staff. We found the atmosphere to be positive and caring. We also feel they did a good job challenging our children appropriately and at least one of our four took what she was introduced to in 7th grade science and has gone onto a very high ranking college to work towards her doctorate in that field, and we attribute that to her being challenged and well taken care of by her MPH science teacher.

Mary P. Henck Intermediate School 1

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
I had 2 children attend MPH - both felt it was the worst experience. Several teachers were rude & uncaring. Assignments were worksheets that were copied from copies so many times that park of the problems were completely off the page or words were completely unreadable. Favoritism was terrible, bullying, racism & harassment were swept under the carpet time after time. Teachers must be held accountable for their classrooms. The principal & VP must oversee the quality of work & assignments. 3 times in the past month I have had to send graded assignments back to school because the teacher did not update Aeries correctly. Teachers need to stay on top of the Aeries update. That is a tool parents use to monitor childrens work but when it is not updated or is incorrect, what help is that? One teacher asked one child if he was taking any medication (out loud for the entire calls to hear) and then asked if he needed a refill. Unprofessional & unacceptable.
1 person found this helpful


Mary P. Henck Intermediate School 1

Posted March 16, 2011
- a parent
One word for the coffe drinking, chatting, no-working, non-job doing, drama atmosphere of this JOKE of a school.... I will give you a ZERO!!!! A big FAT zero.. Do NOT bring your kids here if your children care about school and grades and a future... no one up on this mountain seems to give a hoot about anything but gossip... and focusing on the kids that cause trouble. JOKE... that's what this place is a JOKE! BEWARE!

Mary P. Henck Intermediate School 4

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
I would like to point out the positives first: The teachers seem caring and even stay after school to offer tutoring. My son is happy here for the most part because of his friends and some teachers. The principal seems dedicated to making sure the school and student body are performing at their best and the PTA is working hard to help with fundraising issues. I should mention that automatic calls are always sent out when important information needs to get to parents and parents can check their child's grades online. The only negative thing about this school is that a small number of teachers and staff seem too busy to answer emails or phone calls. I think parents should receive responses when they try to communicate with school personnel. My son's grades are not great, but we've figured out that he just doesn't WANT to do the work and needs to pushed harder by us when it comes to homework and classroom behavior.

Mary P. Henck Intermediate School 3

Posted December 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mary P. Henck Intermediate School 1

Posted December 14, 2009
- a parent
MPH continues its downward trend. The principal doesn't seem to worry about the falling test scores and the teachers seem a bit demoralized. After having one child go through MPH we have decided to move next year rather than have child #2 go here. The area is lovely but I'm afraid that the administration can't or won't improve.

Mary P. Henck Intermediate School 4

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
MPH is a great school, but it is really tough for both the kids and the school staff. Kids from all the elementary schools merge into this school and now have several classes to attend. It is a huge adjustment for the kids. There are a lot of conflicts and struggles. Kids are trying to figure out where they fit it. The school is always on top of it and notifies the parents regularly. They are doing a great job in what are a very difficult two years.

Mary P. Henck Intermediate School 5

Posted April 13, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Mary P. Henck Intermediate School 1

Posted November 30, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mary P. Henck Intermediate School 1

Posted April 20, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mary P. Henck Intermediate School
730 Rhine Road, Lake Arrowhead, CA  92352
(909) 336-0360
Last modified Mary P. Henck Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mary P. Henck Intermediate School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top