Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cottonwood Canyon Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Living in Lake Elsinore

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2005

This School has only been open for 3 years. It's test scores do not yet reflect its true teaching progress. CCES has many great teachers that truly care about their students. My son has made tremendous academic progress at this school. He is starting 3rd grade and can read books intended for teenagers. His math test scores are way above the state average. The principal has a dry personality, but truly cares about the kids and their education. This school is still fairly new and adjustments are being made each year. Keep an eye on the scores, you will see a tremenous improvement over the next couple of years. Also, parents need to suppliment their child's education at home if they want to see real results. Schools can only go as fast as the average student. Resources are always low everywhere, so take charge and be a teacher to your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

As far as special education goes, this school is lacking in adeqaute staffing. I would recommend taking your special needs child elsewhere until this school works out their kinks
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2005

My son had the best 3rd grade teacher. Ms Mackay went above and beyond her call of duty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I pulled my son out of this school and have found a good alternative. When asked about a long term substitute plan when our teacher was out, I was treated as if I were bothering the principal. She was confrontational and did not follow up as promised. I do not feel that anyone is paying attention to whether the children are actually learning what they are supposed to be learning. The administration's attitude is not a team attitude, they don't care whether the parents and students are happy and doing well. They forget that in a sense, we (the taxpayers) are their customers and should be treated with respect. The scores are not great and get worse as the kids get to middle school. I'm very sorry that I didn't do more research on the district before moving to this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

What can I say about cottonwood canyon, my daughter had an awesome teacher last year and I am hoping this year will be another good teacher, I didnt really care for my sons teacher, but his speech and language teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

My daughters go to this school and seem to enjoy it overall. Unfortunatley, the test scores are what there are with the overall potential of the student population.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

I have two children that attend Cottonwood Canyon. We are very lucky to have some of the best teachers available. As a parent I make it a point to volunteer at the school so I can see first hand what really goes on at the school. I have found that we have a group of teachers (95% of them) who truly care about our students and want to be there. Our school has a lot to offer students. We have a great music program that all classes attend. We have homework club that offers help to our students after school, we have teachers in most grade levels who offer tutoring before or after school (free). Get involved, meet the Principal, join the PTA, volunteer your time and ask so you know all that is available. Our school truly does have a lot to offer. Make a difference, volunteer. Educate! Motivate! Participate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

I think that Cottonwood Canyon Elementry School is a good school. My daughter is in kindergarten, so my opinion is really based on the class and the teacher. I taught my daughter a lot before she started and she has learned a lot more after. I think that Mrs. Sharon Tyler is one of the best teachers I've ever known and my daughter loves her. I like the way she does the childrens homework plan and class activities. However, the rest of the school, such as the office staff and the principal, I think have issues when it comes to parents being involved in their childrens activities, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

I am really not sure what to say about this school, I know that we need some older teachers in the schools, the old way of teaching and the way teachers would call you and let you know what's going on. It seems to me that the teachers now a days are doing there time and thats it. I am not saying that all teachers are like that there, because there are some wonderful teachers out there and by the way teachers if you are reading this, thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

CCES is an outstanding academic school, the standards exceed my expectations for elementary education. My child is in his 2nd year and my other has already moved on to CLMS. But, I do feel that we the parents are almost if not more responsible for our child's education at CCES, the amount of homework and the number of projects are not family friendly, in my opinion. The amount of after school, schooling keeps my family from enjoying other family activities like dinner and a movie for example. I totally disagree with the amount of after school schooling!!! I have liked a handful of teachers that I have met, I agree with a few of their styles of teaching. I feel that the good half have not forgotten to have fun teaching but that the others are there for the paycheck and they let you feel that!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

875

Change from
2012 to 2013

-17

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

875

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-17

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females78%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females80%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)89%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females58%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)34%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females77%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females88%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate72%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females88%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate78%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females77%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females67%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students66%
Females55%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 26%
Hispanic 28% 52%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Black 5% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

32100 Lost Road
Lake Elsinore, CA 92532
Phone: (951) 244-2585

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Canyon Academy
Lake Elsinore, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT