Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Christian School

Private | K-12 | 221 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lake Forest

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $355,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2014

I love this school, my daughter has grown leaps and bounds here, their motto "love makes all the difference" is lived out by the staff and principal. I would highly recommend HCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2014

Heritage Christian School Lake forest We are so pleased to be able to participate in such a great school. The summer program was what made our children want to go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2014

With over 240 students now, we look forward to going here for Junior High. Our daughter went to summer day camp and theater camp and cannot wait to go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

This school is a blessing to my family. Our first day there we felt welcomed and it has been that way ever since. Academics are outstanding, the online student progress is very helpful for busy parents. My son loves the school and it's staff. I would recommend HCS to anyone looking for small classes and caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

I can only attest to the preschool as I have no experience with the elementary school, but after having my child attend preschool here for the past year, I would not reccomend this school to any one. My mom picked my child up early one day and her teacher was yelling at two of her fellow student- while my mom was in the room. When I toured the school I was shown books with the curriculum for the year. To date I have seen maybe 5 worksheet from those books sent home. I have not seen any organized craft/ project sent home since September.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

This is a very loving, and Christ filled school. The classes are small and the staff and teachers are caring. Wonderful school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 16, 2012

Heritage Christian School has been a blessing to us. We came from a small in-home daycare without any structure prior to coming to Heritage's Preschool. The teachers are patient, kind, loving, structured, and interested in my child's development and learning. The preschool director and principal have also done some great things to really set the school apart. We hope to stay for Kinder and beyond!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

The small class size was the main reason that we started looking at this school. There is a real lack of supervision at pretty much all times. The entire Administrative staff are all related to each other in one way or another as well as some of the Board members and most of the schools staff. So there is never any way to get a concern heard or dealt with in a reasonable fashion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

Heritage is the best thing that has happened to me and my children. We were transitioning from a small in-home child care facility to preschool and Heritage made that transition smoother than I expected because of the small, loving enviornment. The school provides small class sizes and great teachers that genuinely care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Great teachers who really care about your childs well being & academics. Lots of love & respect given. Great sports team. This is the kind a school a parents prays to find :) There enrollment is really growing so check it out before its to late :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2009

Everything you could want in a school.... and more. Fantastic staff, low student to teacher ratios, strong cirriculum, excellent biblical basis thread throughout the subjects taught. We love it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 26%
Hispanic 6% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 11%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 2:55 pm
School Leader's name
  • George Gay
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (949) 598-1892

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22882 Loumont Drive
Lake Forest, CA 92630
Website: Click here
Phone: (949) 598-9166

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Infant-Toddler Center
Lake Forest, CA


Canyon Crest Academy
Lake Forest, CA


Arbor Christian School
Lake Forest, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT