Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ralph A. Gates Elementary School

Charter | K-6 | 975 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lake Forest

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $355,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2014

I can't say enough good things about Gates. I am in the unusual position of having two kids in the immersion program and one in the regular English program. All of their teachers have been nurturing and wonderful! My second grader is capable of doing all of his homework in spanish by himself, despite the fact that we have no native speakers at home. I have had close interactions and meetings with both the principal and the new vice principal and find them both professional and looking out for the best interests of my child. The fact that they are both busy (and therefor seem unavailable/unapproachable when dropping by the office) is irrelevant to me, as the most important thing is that they were there for my child when it really mattered. The English program academics are on the very low side for the district, which reflects the socio-economic status of the neighborhood. The PTA is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

There are some really great teachers here, and some mediocre. My daughter is in second grade here, and so far we are very glad that she is going to Gates. There is plenty of diversity, and I do not believe any one school can have it all. The principal does not seem friendly or approachable, but often times I realize appearances can be misleading. Over all I think it's a great dual immersion program, and I like how the parents seem invested and interested in their children, but like any other school, it has it's cons as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Amazing!! We transferred into the dual immersion program and can't say enough wonderful things:) Principal is involved, open and knowledgeable as are the teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

My son entered into the two way immersion program this Fall at Gates elementary. I don't know yet how the rest of the school is, but i am thoroughly impressed with my son's teacher and the enthusiasm and involvement of the parents in the immersion program. I have tried in the past to contact the principal but to no avail as it seems she is extraordinarily busy. This is one of the things that does concern me as i wonder how responsive she will be to requests for a meeting should any future issues arise during our child's attendance at Gates. Overall though, i am pleased with the quality of the two way immersion program here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

In July of 2012, my family moved to Tustin from San Jose where my oldest attended a Dual-Immersion Language School for Kindergarten. So, it was utmost important that I find a similar school as good or better. Gates Elementary has exceeded that expectation. From the moment I walked into the office approximately one month before school began to place my son on the waiting list to the moment I received a call that he had been accepted. From the moment of his first day of school when the principal provided a personal escort to his class to the moment I met his 1st grade teacher with whom I knew my son would be nurtured and strongly guided in his further acquisition of the Spanish language. And to all the moments through the end of the year, Gates has lived up not only to my expectations but the high standards it sets for itself! There is no other school I would want my oldest son and subsequently my youngest son to attend. My goals for my children are to be bilingual, biliterate and bicultural as well as succeed academically in a traditional program. Which means more than ranking by state scores that don't provide a world wide advantage to children as other countries do. GATES rock!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

I have been in this school for about 7 years. I had a great experience here at Gates. I am in the immersion program and I will hopefully continue until high school. The school over all is awesome from the assemblies to learning, it's all FUN! Yes some may say things about the principal, but it is amazing that she learns everyone's name. She started the same year I started going to that school. Teachers I have had, have been the best from patience to making learning easy! I am glad Gates was my school!


Posted June 4, 2013

We absolutely love the Spanish immersion program! My 1st grader is doing AMAZING! She's now able to carry full conversations in Spanish. I would recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2012

My son is in 2nd grade and is doing really, really well in the Spanish Immersion Program. The teachers use effective methods to educate the children. In addition, the parent involvement in the school activities is impressive. My husband and I made the right choice when we picked Ralph A. Gates Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

Love the two-way immersion program that this school offers. They have been doing the Spanish immersion program for a very long time so they understand what works and what doesn't. The teachers all seem very dedicated and because of the special program at the school I feel like the parents are more involved and connected. The principal does have an unapprochable look to her but everytime I need anything or have had an issue she is on top of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

The two way language immersion program at this school is unbelievable! The principal, along with many teachers have their own children attending here, so there is an incredible amount of support and accountability. You will experience a "private school" feel because of the amazing parent involvement. My nine year-old is completely fluent in Spanish and is an A student in both languages. She sounds like a native speaker and more importantly she has an appreciation for the other cultures that we come across in Orange County. While the state is taking out the music and art from our schools, we have an awesome opportunity to add the gift of language into our students' lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2010

The immersion program seems good. However I'm not agree with the way how to treat students in this school. When I went to visit to the school, I saw some staffs screaming horrible at students over loudspeaker during recess and lunch time.


Posted September 18, 2010

This is a fantastic school with an incredible immersion program. The teachers are passionate and committed to seeing each child succeed. The principal is supportive of the students and parents. We cannot say enough good things about Gates!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2010

My kids are also in the immersion program which is the only reason I stay in the school. This program has some wonderful and skilled teachers, but there are an equal number who are not up to the task. The principal is unapproachable, defensive and frequently unprofessional; the grounds are dirty; the over-all tone is un-welcoming. The parents who are involved are fantastic, but few in number.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

Great teachers and a wonderful principal! Any parent that is involved with our school knows exactly how great it is and how lucky we are to have our kids involved in such a great immersion program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

"Great school with amazing teachers and the most involved parents I have ever met" - I couldn't have said it better myself! I am very happy with the school and the progress my daughter is making in the immersion program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

HORRIBLE PRINCIPAL...HORRIBLE. My daughter has been in this school for 6 years and the environment is a very punitive, disrespectful one where kids are not allowed to be kids. I am taking my daughter out of the IMMERSION Program and the school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

Great school with amazing teachers and the most involved parents I have ever met. Not to mention the amazing immersion program that has made my kids bilingual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

Ralph A. Gates Elementary School is a 5 star school. I live in Laguna Niguel and I travel 25 minutes just to get my kids to school. A total of 1 1/2 of driving a day and it is worth it! My children are in the Spanish Immersion Program and come from a family that does not speak Spanish. This program not only wonderful and amazing but it really does work! My children are now bilinguel and we are tickled pink! Last summer break, we traveled to La Paz in Baja California, Mexico, and my children were checking us in the hotel, talking to the taxi cab drivers, ordering our food in the resturants, asking for directions, speaking Spanish in stores and snorkling trips! My husband and I do not speak Spanish and we were not only relieved but surprised and proud of our children. Thank you Gates Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2008

My sister attended Gates in the immersion program to then graduate from Mater Dei High School (one of the best private schools in the country). Gates has a great immersion program that teaches Spanish alongside their usual English. Its a public school yet is one of the most well known in the stateU.S. (California Distinguished) The immersion program, which has a waiting list that parents apply for up to a yr before the child even starts kindergarten (which is where they begin the lingual prog.) in order to even have a chance of getting in soon, guarantees the student's bilingual by 3rd grade!!!. My sister read her own book (1 Fish, 2Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish in Eng & Span!) before her kinderYear was 1/2over and is now fluent in Spanish, yet still has no problems with English and she's only turning six October this year08. I highly recommend!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

Gates Elementary School offers an exceptional program in Spanish Immersion. Our entire family reaps the benefits from the opportunities available in this program. We have developed life-long friendships and a tremendous network of support for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

821

Change from
2012 to 2013

-18

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

821

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-18

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students36%
Females40%
Males32%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability37%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state37%

Math

All Students65%
Females62%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner57%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students39%
Females36%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability38%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate20%
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)28%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate54%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females61%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner57%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females67%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state55%

Math

All Students65%
Females61%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner51%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females75%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate34%
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students52%
Females56%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate42%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students68%
Females69%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females78%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students57%
Females64%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate34%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 76% 52%
White 16% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 11%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 51%N/A48%
Male 49%N/A51%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Yvonne Estling
Fax number
  • (949) 837-5013

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23882 Landisview Avenue
Lake Forest, CA 92630
Website: Click here
Phone: (949) 837-2260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Arbor Christian School
Lake Forest, CA




Pathway School, Inc.
Laguna Hills, CA


AppleTree Montessori School
Mission Viejo, CA


K12
Mission Viejo, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT