Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Delphi Academy of Los Angeles

Private | PK-12 | 170 students

Our school is best known for the excellence of our standards of education.
 
 

 

Living in Lake View...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $254,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,570.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

Delphi is awesome! My kids love it and are doing SO well. ALL kids should go to Delphi! My kids are learning quickly, have great friends and are proud of themselves/happy and calm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

My son comes home singing every night after being at Delphi Academy Los Angeles all day. He is a happy boy, excelling in many different subjects. He's having a blast playing flag football and is deeply involved in Lego League... and he's 8 years old!! We LOVE Delphi Academy Los Angeles for being a Partner with me in the education of my son. Thank you Delphi LA!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

My 4 1/2 year old son loves this school, his teachers and his classmates. There are so many things that I like about this school. Here are a few of them: I like that each child has an individual program so can work on their strong and weak areas at a pace that is right for them. The teachers take the time to make sure each child is doing well socially as well as in thier studies. I am happy that he can get individual attention because the classes are not overcrowded. It is a very caring atmosphere. I am impressed at how the older kids take an interest in being good role models for the young kids in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2011

This school deserves every fifth star I've given it and way more. My daughter absolutely loves this school and once you go Delphi you never go back!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

My 8 year-old daughter has gone to Delphi Academy since she was 3 1/2 and we absolutely love it! She has been able to foster a love of learning right from the beginning with teachers who ensure her understanding on every part of the curriculum, not just to a passing standard, but a full understanding. We are so grateful to have such a fantastic school available to us! My 1 year-old is already enrolled to start the preschool as soon as he turns 2!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

I have a child in middle school, about to enter high school and one in preschool at Delphi Academy. I conisder this school, the best I have ever seen. Both of my boys are flourishing there. They are both learning at astomically rates and are emmersed in a wide range of knowledge so they really get and understand for themsevles each thing they are studying. I have seen my older boy put different things he has learned at different times together for a really well rounded deep understanding of the subject. Both boys can not wait to get to school in the morning and love their friends and teachers. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

My children love attending Delphi. I know that the education they are receiving is excellent and that they will actually know (not memorize) what they learn. My biggest goal for my children is for them to have the ability to pick up any book and learn a new subject. I feel Delphi is the school where they will achieve this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2010

My son LOVES his school. He has become a leader and friend to all ages there - The teachers too. He knows that he is in a safe environment at Delphi Academy. Every time I am at the school I observe the kids relationship towards each other and am amazed at how they encourage each other and are really friends that care about how the other is doing. I have never heard the kids say bad things about the other. I wish I had grown up with this type of school when I was a child!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

My daughter just started Delphi La and Loves it. She has made so many great friends and her teacher is so wonderful and happy! They have a science lab so now my daughter has a great interest in science. They have a wonderful theater and music program. It's a little far away from where we live but so worth the drive!!! :) We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

My daughter started in Delphi last year and the change in her is amazing. All of a sudden it seems her creative expression soared. She started playing piano, singing in the choir, playing drums in a band, took up volleyball and loves it! She has clearly shown an enormous increase in her interest and participation in Life! I highly recommend this school to any parent who wants to see their child reach their full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2010

Any parent who is considering home schooling their child should take a look at this school. At Delphi, your child will receive a great education and individual attention in addition to socialization skills. Delphi utilizes a 'standards' program where your child will not just memorize their studies, they will progress knowing the information and be able to apply it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2010

Our son has been a student at Delphi for 3 years. His younger brother will be starting this year. Delphi has helped him become a confident, educated, polite young man that has an incredible desire to learn. He loves to go to school. Rarely will he be ready to go home when we pick him up. We highly recommend this school to any parent looking for an exceptional education for their children. The teachers and staff are second to none and inspire their students. You will not be disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

This school is exceptional in it's academics. A child who attends this school will learn how to learn, be able to study anything and be able to apply it to his or her own life in a positive way. The Basics are learned throughly and are built upon it a way that gives each student the ability to excel in life. This is proven when you look at the students who have graduated from Delphi. I've looked at many schools and have never found a school like Delphi Academy. It's the best!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

Delphi is an amazing institution with small classes, motivated teachers and a strong ethics division that makes sure every kid is doing well and is well behaved. They have sports, arts, and many kinds of extra curricular activities. My daughter loves it there and I'd advise any parents looking for a private school in this area to please check it out. You won't be disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

We have two boys that attend this school. There are so many wonderful things to say but to sum it up each child is treated as an individual with a curriculum tallored to the speed at which they can learn. This means they actully learn. Our boys are so much brighter and and happier than most children their ages. When I go to pick them up at the end of the day, they rarely want to leave the school, that really sums it up nicely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

All three of my children got to Delphi LA and they have been loving it! They switched to go there over a year ago and their progress is amazing! My six year old (he was about five when he started and he couldn't read anything yet as he had no desire to learn how and wouldn't pay attention at school in that area - although he was waaay ahead in math). Now he can read anything! My husband and I go out and we will continually be amazed as he will read signs with large words with ease and understand the words and their meaning! It is truely amazing! My 12 year old LOVES it as he is a very quick student and being able to work at a pace that suits him has allowed him to move ahead in his studies so he is never bored. Overall I am thrilled!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

My daughter started going to Delphi about a year ago. She was very behind in reading and hated doing it. She always seemed overwhelmed by reading and acted like it was torture for her. Now she tells me she has 3 books to read this week and it s no big deal . I also love the curriculum. The projects and the hands on exercises made me want to take some classes. I know that when she graduates she will be ready to go on to college even though she had some trouble in the past. My friend has a son who is advanced and he is also doing well here. He is encouraged to advance even more and is expecting to graduate early.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

I have 2 kids in this school age 7 - twins. When I was at this age I was in grade 1. Both my kids are at the reading level of grade 3 and 4. Amazing how they are in an environment that brings out their self-confidence and raises their aptitude level. They love to learn and look forward to going to school everyday. It is a safe environment to grow, learn and develop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2009

My 6 year old son goes to school at Delphi LA. He loves it! He is reading at a second grade level, writes in cursive and excels in math. When I pick him up at the end of the day I always have to wait as he is not ready to leave yet. There is always 'just one more thing' he wants to do! He adores his teacher and his friends. The summer program here is REALLY fun. It's a great time for kids to try out the school and see how they like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2009

We recently moved our teenage children to Delphi Academy and they are thriving! One does not have to worry about the normal peer pressure of drugs, gangs, sexual activity etc. The sole focus is education and as a prior student myself I have no doubt that they will retain what they learn, have the ability to apply it towards their goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Various other schools
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 15% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 35% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 50% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation West coast colleges
California State Colleges
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
French
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Presidential Academic Achievement (2012)
  • CIF Academic Excellence (2010)
  • Presidential Academic Achievement (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 5:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 8:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Karen Dale
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Year-round
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (818) 583-1082

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Internships
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
70
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
90
Students typically come from these schools
Various other schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$10000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
West coast colleges
California State Colleges
College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Summer college prep programs
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 15%
4 year college - 35%
Workforce - 50%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11341 Brainard Avenue
Lake View Terrace, CA 91342
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 583-1070

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Brainard Elementary School
Lake View Terrace, CA


Puc Lakeview Charter Academy
Lakeview Terrace, CA




Fenton Primary Center
Lake View Terrace, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT