Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brainard Elementary School 4

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
This has always been a great school. The teachers and staff are very caring and want children to excel in their studies. The main problem is that the district does not monitor the administration or ask the staff's or parents' opinions on why so many children are leaving. The principal does not take responsibility. The children that parents say are bullied are usually the bullies and are in denial about how their children behave at school.

Brainard Elementary School 1

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
This is a horrible school. Mrs. Smith the principal doesn't have a clue as to what the word bullying means. My son is in first grade at this school and he has been sent home with a welt on his head, he has been kicked, socked and pushed. No one is monitoring the kids on the playground. Mrs. Smith does not investigate these situations , she is completely unaware of the bullying that goes on in her school. My son has been called names and harassed . Mrs. Smith answer to me was to change his classroom. That is not an answer to bullying. Do not bring your children here. Mrs. Smith is clueless to what is going on at recess and lunch. There is no supervision for kids who are in kindergarten and first grade. I got no answers as to why this school tolerates bullying. Do not send your children here.


Brainard Elementary School 2

Posted January 27, 2013
- a parent
As long as you avoid a certian 4th grade teacher whom every kid and parent knows, you may like Brainard.

Brainard Elementary School 2

Posted May 26, 2011
- a parent
I use to love Brainard, but ever since Mrs. Smith became principal the school has gone down hill. Children are being "bullied" made fun of, they are disrespectful to some of the teachers. What is sad is that this is just elementary level children. What will they be like in Junior High and High school levels if disciplinary actions are waved. Mrs. Smith feels it is better to remove a child who is picked on to another class room as opposed to giving discipline to the perpetrator. She can't handle any situation and resorts to the LAPD if a parent has a complaint or takes measures.

Brainard Elementary School 1

Posted November 06, 2010
- a community member
I did not like how the students here always got introuble,always seemed to fight,and how they used to do mean things.there is to much bullying,to much careless teachers,and the teachers are extremeley mean to the students.they push to hard on them to learn,and punish them in the wrong way.i did not agree with the principal from last year in 2009,he had always been careless in what i had problems with.and this school had not done anything to olve my problems.one student had hurt me very badly,almost braking my leg,and the teachers had just sat the student down on the bench and i.i did not like this school,and i would like to see improvement on it.


Brainard Elementary School 4

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
my kids have been going to Brainard for the last 5 years (since kindergarten).. and I have loved all but the 3rd grade which was a nightmare. The new principal, Mrs. Smith, is trying but doesn't seem to quite have a handle on things yet, but it is getting better. Mrs Upshaw, the 4th and 5th grade teacher is absolutely the best ! She really cares about every child and communicates with the parents often which has really helped. My daughter adores her. For the most part, I'm very happy at Brainard. Sandy in the office is always helpful and pleasant. Debbie, the PTA president is an absolute joy and really works hard for the school. The YDP program (after school care) is also very helpful and the kids all seem to enjoy it.

Brainard Elementary School 3

Posted February 28, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Brainard Elementary School 3

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
This is my son's first year at Branard and will be his last. Yes it's a nice campus but the cruelness of the other kids and his techer has been too much of a strain on him. There is a serious lack of supervision in the after school program.


Brainard Elementary School 4

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
Great campus in a great area, about the best in the SF valley. My daughter has loved all her teachers except in the 4th grade which was very rough. I agree with the one parent that the kids are cruel at times, but that's just kids and not the school. Mostly a great staff.

Brainard Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
I have 2 kids that have been attending this school since first grade, and I have to say that it's been a great choice, my kids attended private school, before coming to brainard and so far it has been a great expirience with the teachers as well as every one else

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brainard Elementary School
11407 Brainard Avenue, Lake View Terrace, CA  91342
(818) 899-5241
Last modified Brainard Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brainard Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top