Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lemon Crest Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lakeside

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $264,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2011

We have had two children go K-5 at Lemon Crest and they did great, we presently have another in K. Teachers are outstanding and great leaders. I see parents on this post complaining about too much homework or a couple absurd comments that make me wonder about the quality of parents saying that the school expects the parents to teach (duh) and do their students homework, and another comment 'the students are punished for things that are the parents fault' (I am guessing this has to do with tardiness). To that I say, yes there is homework starting in K. I personally think is great to start them early with homework because good homework habits are crucial to higher education. Yes, part of your responsibility as a parent is to help teach your child. You are responsible for your child, teach them to be on time - there is no excuse for tardiness so don t put your child in that position that they will be punished for it! Finally, it is your own fault you are doing your child s homework, they are capable of doing it themselves; encourage, support and assist them and they will do it. Start being parents and stop expecting everyone else to do your job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2010

This is by far one of the worst schools my son has attended. He went into 3rd grade knowing his multiplication tables and came out knowing nothing. He is currently below 4th grade level per his teacher yet they are passing him on to 5th. The school told me that they do not "hold back" students, whether they are at grade level or not doesn't matter they will continue to pass them without any regard to what the child actually knows. The teaching skills of the staff are virtually non-existent. The only things my child learns are at home. He comes home with loads of homework everyday with no explanation from his teacher of how to begin doing it. This school has done nothing good for my son at all despite my constant requests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

way too much homework is right- we'd rather be playing games and spending time laughing and talking as a family than using up nearly the entire evening on homework and the weekly packet. i don't see how all of this homework is helping him learn more- it seems more like he's stuck behind a desk with an inbox and an outbox, trying to meet deadlines.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

My child was at this school for two years and I was completely unimpressed. They gave a tremendous amount of home work and projects such as reports and such were not allowed to be done at school. The kids had to bring it home and have their parents do it. My child was in 5th grade and assigned a 10 page research project to do at home with an addititional 5 pgs of illustration and the teacher just handed out the instructions without even teaching them how to properly research. The teaching was left up to the parents. Also in the way of punishments, the children there are punished for things their parents are responsible for. I was not impressed with anything about this school. It is by far the worst school my child has attended which is alot since we are military and move frequently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

I love the teachers at Lemon Crest! They are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

My child was in first grade last year and the teacher gave WAAAAYYY too much homework. The homework was never returned to the parents so I don't know if they even corrected it. Also, the green, yellow, red system is being implemented incorrectly since the children are penalized for inconsequential stuff and once they get a red card they can't earn their way back. Also, wasn't impressed with the quality of the education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

My two children are at Lemon Crest this year and we are so happy with the teachers, parent volunteers, office staff and principal. My kids love school and it helps when they have homework. They want to go back even during the breaks and holidays. Excellent school! Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

My daughter is in K-1 and I love the school just as much as she does. It is a great place to send your children. I always feel comfortable dropping her of at school knowing that she is safe and having a great time. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

My kids started lemon crest last year and were put in a 2nd 3rd grade split but they were the only 3rd graders. The school was unwilling to fix the problem because they have too many students per class.Their teachers this year so far are great but we are moving so that my kids no longer need to attend this school.There is a lack of supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

My husband and I went to an open house in the spring of 2007 at Lemon Crest. After visiting the classrooms and meeting some of the teachers we fell in love with the school. My two grandchildren had moved from RI to Lakeside & started EAK and Second Grade at Lemon Crest. They had the most wonderful year with great Teachers and a caring Principle. We look forward to another great year at Lemon Crest with the new Principle and all the wonderful programs they offer.


Posted June 30, 2008

I feel like my child is very safe while at school. The school handled the last emergency lock down very well. The even notified the parents immediately!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

My daughter started Lemon Crest in Kindergarten and has just completed the 5th Grade at Lemon Crest Elementary. The teachers, support staff and especially the principal Mrs. Kyriakidis have made a huge impact on my daughters life. Nothing but Kudos from this Military Famiy for giving my daughter the best education there is to offer... Just look at the test scores if you don't believe me! Lemon Crest test scores are the highest int he district! Kudos to all the teachers for your hard work and constant dedication to our students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2008

Lemon Crest is the best elementary school in the LUSD. Test scores are the highest among the other schools, the kids are great & the teachers are awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

Lemon Crest Elementary is an excellent school. My children love it. We are very pleased and last year they had the highest scores in the district! My children scored very well on the state exams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

My child just started kindergarten at Lemon Crest this past September. I find the school to be everything I had hoped and more, The teacher is wonderful and my child is already reading! She even goes to a computer lab twice a week and I am so impressed with what she can do. Mrs. Kirikidis, the principal is very supprtive and always with the kids. It is an wesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

My daughter attends Lemon Crest and I am very pleased with what I see. The principle, in her second year, has implemented some new and innovative programs to help the students achieve academically . I like the homework club concept that allows students to do homework in a structured environment with access to teachers when they need help. I am impressed with the computer lab that has enough computers for the children to learn without having to share computers with other students. I also like the community involvement like Military Appreciation Day which honors many of the military families whose students attend Lemon Crest. The teachers are providing the necessary rigor and the test scores reflect the overall focus on academic excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

We've been at lemon crest since Kindergarten and have seen a big change in the school since the new principal came. She came in and changed the way the the school was run. Although we are not happy with the way the new principal runs the school, My child is getting an excellent education. The teachers are fantastic and the community is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

My 2 children attend and Lemon Crest and I am extremely happy with the school it's staff and principal. The staff is excellent and truly caring. The new principal has brought in many exciting new programs and I find that the facilites and supervision to be excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

When my daughter started at Lemon Crest Elem. in kindergarten we loved it. Now that the principal has changed, there are alot of areas that the school seems to be lacking. I do not feel safe with the lack of supervision the kids have on a regular basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2006

My son has attended this school since Kindergarten and he loves it. The teachers are very caring and he is excelling in academics. Mr. George, the principal, really cares for his kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

787

Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

787

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students41%
Females47%
Males35%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)43%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disability29%
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate18%
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students64%
Females65%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disability47%
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students38%
Females40%
Males36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino13%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Non-economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability40%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only42%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)28%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females65%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability36%
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females47%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students52%
Females50%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females67%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students56%
Females64%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students64%
Females67%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disability15%
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 52%
Hispanic 34%
Two or more races 6%
Black 4%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/AN/A
English language learners 14%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 8%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Robert Brown
Fax number
  • (619) 390-2563

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12463 Lemon Crest Drive
Lakeside, CA 92040
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 390-2527

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT