Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Lakewood, CA
Students enrolled: 689
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Stephen Foster Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2013
- a parent
This is our first year at Stephen Foster. So far, we couldn't be happier. The staff is kind and caring, the teacher (Mrs. Elliott) is extraordinarily patient with the 32 5-year-olds in her class and the motto and daily announcements that focus on awareness and kindness are awesome. A great place to send your child!

Stephen Foster Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
Ive been a parent of this school for over 10 years. The teachers, staff and Principal have gone above and beyond for my children. The teachers work extremely hard to make sure each individual is taken care of. They also allow you to help in their classes as much as 5 days a week, and I believe you need to build a team of a happy, healthy, learning environment for your child by working together. Every day our Principal stands in front of the whole school with announcements, saying the school pledge, singing a song, as well as a moment of silence. I am truly honored to be able to help at this school as well as allow my children to learn in such a positive place and environment as STEPHEN FOSTER ELEMENTARY. No child is ever left behind, and with that being said... our students will achieve more and gain more self esteem.


Stephen Foster Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a community member
this is the best school and the office staff have improved very much. best choice for your little one.

Stephen Foster Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
I love this school. The staff is amazing the principle is so sweet and I love the PTA they are so involved with the kids.

Stephen Foster Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
I currently have 2 of my 3 sons attending Stephen Foster. My oldest will graduate this year and then my youngest will begin kindergarten in September. I have been extremely happy with every aspect of Foster. There is a ton of parent involvement at Foster. Every morning the entire school (and parents if they chose to stay) gather for the Pledge, a patriotic song, morning announcements, a moment of silence to gather thoughts, and then the Stephen Foster Pledge - "Today has been given to me, fresh and new. I will use it, not throw it away. I will chose to do my best in thoughts, words and actions. Today will be used and not lost" You can't beat a school who sends your children off to learn each morning with that kind of positive energy.


Stephen Foster Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2012
- a parent
stephen foster feels like a private school. the staff are amazing. we always looked forward to each day here at Stephen foster. They always go above and beyond when it comes to the students. This was a school that will never be forgotten .

Stephen Foster Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2012
- a community member
I am promoting from stephen foster and I had a great experiance there. The teachers are very helpful and I never really had a bully problem there. GO LIGHTNING BOLTS!

Stephen Foster Elementary School 4

Posted March 20, 2011
- a parent
I have two sons who attend this school. One of our sons started here in kindergarten and is now in the fourth grade and our other son is in first grade. They both have had positive experiences. They love their school! There are many extracurricular activities and programs for students! The GATE activities are great , even with budget cuts! I am very happy to have both my sons at Stephen Foster!


Stephen Foster Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 13, 2008
- a teacher
I did some student teaching fieldwork at this school and found it to be excellent! They have an outstanding reward program for students that turn in their homework and stay out of trouble. I had the good fortune of attending one of these events and it was highly academic and enriching, alongside being a fun experience for the students. The students are enthusiastic and friendly. I wouldn't hesitate sending my children to this school.

Stephen Foster Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 09, 2007
- a parent
Stephen Foster is a school where the teachers, office staff, and principal all take time to get to know the families of their students. Our principal of 3 short years has moved to Woodruff school (same district) and she went out of her way to encourage my daughter. My daughter is active in student council and the music program. On the first day of school my daughter (6th grade) was very upset that her 'friend the principal' was not going to be there for her last year at Stephen Foster. Which proves my original point: The teachers and staff really make a differnce in these kids lives and I'm very proud to be a Stephen Foster Mom.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stephen Foster Elementary School
5223 East Bigelow Street, Lakewood, CA  90712
(562) 804-6518
Last modified Stephen Foster Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Stephen Foster Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top