Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Esther Lindstrom Elementary School 4

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
The staff and parents are very involved. My daughter has attended since 2010. My son is now in kindergarten 2015. I think there are always areas of improvement. For one. . Can we please stop changing principals! ! And the new motto for the Lindy Lions "roar" ..I'm not feeling it. Loved when Mr Alexander would make the morning announcements and would start with. .this day has been given to me fresh and new. . We can choose to learn from it or throw it away. Today I will do my best and so on. .that was awesome! ! Hope they bring it back. I also hope they reinforce the drop off and pick up zone. . It's not for parking people! !!! The food could be better for 2.25 each meal if you buy from the cafeteria. This would be an excellent school if they took out common core math. It is terrible! !! Please look into it parents... the math our children are learning is ridiculous. I'm looking into home schooling because of it.

Esther Lindstrom Elementary School 3

Posted November 26, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attended Lindstrom from kindergarten until sixth grade and has always done academically.But I believe should could have done better if encouraged more by her teachers.She has recieved 4's or 3's on her report cards, but her last report card was tarnished with a 2 in math because of the lack of communication from her teacher. Her teacher never let me know her grade had dropped from a 4 to finally a 2, not even on her progress report. After talking to her teacher, she replied "I have over 100 students I can't focus on one".Some parent teacher commitment ! A student going from a 4 to a 2 without any communication between the parent and teacher looks like her teacher did not care about her. Isn't this part of a teachers job? If i had known vitale information from her teacher , i could have done my job as a parent.


Esther Lindstrom Elementary School 4

Posted September 14, 2011
- a parent
My three children attended Lindstrom and we've found the school to be competent to proficient in academics, discipline, and socialization. We were highly engaged parents so that made a difference and found most of the teachers we meet to be highly committed to teaching. One nit: excessive homework, which I personally believe to be educational "fluff" to make up for less than concentrated or creative teaching modalities or curricula. There is more to teach, so more effective and efficient methods are needed since the school year doesn't get any longer. But this is probably a criticism of many schools.

Esther Lindstrom Elementary School 2

Posted July 27, 2011
- a parent
The only teachers at this school that were worth while when my child was there were her teachers from K-2. The rest did not care about teaching the kids but just wanted their money and put no time in for my child. One of her teachers actually COMPLAINED about having to grade tests. Why in the world did she become a teacher then?

Esther Lindstrom Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2009
- a parent
Esther Lindstrom is an excellent school by my opinion.


Esther Lindstrom Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2009
- a parent
This is the best school for kids to go to.

Esther Lindstrom Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 13, 2008
- a parent
I am of the belief that the school's test scores reveal high parent involvement rather than superior teaching. Students that require differentiated instruction or need any sort of accommodation should look elsewhere. While there are a couple of excellent teachers that strive to keep up with contemporary teaching strategies, there are also a couple that are using techniques from 30 years ago...in other words - too much desk work and little or no enriching experiences.

Esther Lindstrom Elementary School 3

Posted October 02, 2007
- a parent
I have a student in 4th grade at this school. I do not think that their is enough attention focused on student achievment. Mine happens to be a straight A student ,but in the 4 years that he has been with this school, there has never been recognition for anything. I also am not certain why they dont offer after school programs. There are many areas of concern with this school, but the Parents and staff are great.


Esther Lindstrom Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2005
- a parent
We were introduced to Lindstrom as a result of my son's referral to a total inclusion program. We have been very pleased with the results. The academic program is rich and the staff are very qualified and highly motivated. There are measures in place to deal with any number of common problems in school life, including special lunchtime socialization opportunities for the 'loners'. My son has demonstrated a dramatic turn around. His grades have improved to the extent that he often earns A's and his participation in class has gone from none at all to fully engaged. He is enjoying a sense of achievement he lost in earlier years at another school.

Esther Lindstrom Elementary School 5

Posted March 05, 2005
- a parent
Academics are a high priority at Lindstrom Elementary. We have a wonderful Special Day program for kids with special needs. Our Kindergarten students are pre readers when they are on their way to 1st grade. We have outside school in the spring for our 6th graders. We have dedicated teachers who make learning wonderful in this environment. Our parent partcipation is outstanding! We have the best parents anywhere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Esther Lindstrom Elementary School
5900 North Canehill Street, Lakewood, CA  90713-1251
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (562) 804-6525
Last modified Esther Lindstrom Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top