Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Macarthur Elementary School 2

Posted September 11, 2014
- a community member
I am a grandparent and a nurse. I am very disappointed that the school has no air conditioning. Its is 99 degrees outside and the children are miserable. How can children learn in this enviroment? Also a class sizes of 30 students,( even if its for only part of the day ) is not reasonable for one teacher. How can a teacher with this many students do their job? The outside of the school has peeling paint ( Has the paint been lead tested?) the auditorum has torn seats. Is this really how we treat our children. This is why parents who can afford private schools do not send their kids to public schools. Do we need to have a Bake sell so the kids don't have to get heat stroke in the classroom? I am very disappointed in this school Lakewood should have better standards.

Macarthur Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
We love MacArthur Elementary School! We moved into the neighborhood from a home in the Minnie Gant Elementary School District. We loved Minnie Gant & were a little apprehensive to switch to MacArthur where there wasn't the same coveted buzz about it. Being right down the street though it didn't make sense to keep driving our 2nd grader across town. We have been nothing but impressed though with the Principle, staff & teachers at MacArthur & our son loves it there. To our surprise he even says he loves it more than Minnie Gant! He is thriving & learning just as well & we are very, very glad that we took the chance & gave MacArthur our local home school a try.


Macarthur Elementary School 4

Posted July 18, 2013
- a parent
Almost every teacher and administrator, including the after school ICIS program cares about our children. I would check out the teachers prior to K enrollment ;)

Macarthur Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
MacArthur is a fantastic school. My daughters have thrived there due to the excellent leadership from the Principal, teachers, staff and PTA. The kids are engaged, challenged and they seem to have a lot of fun. Great on and off campus activities as well as additional assistance offered for parents and students who need more help.

Macarthur Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2012
- a parent
Mr. Gutierrez is by far a great principal. He goes out there, gets his hands dirty and gets involved. He is diplomatic and yet caring towards the students. Unlike other principals, he is visible at all times. The teachers and all of his other staff completes the greatness of the school. All I can say is, my husband and I and our kids have been very happy here from day 1. My kids are excelling in their academic performance and all other issue and concerns we may have is addressed immediately and dealt with. Thank you to all that is is an instrument or directly responsible for leading my children in the right direction.I appreciate that the school has a caring and a family oriented atmosphere. May I add that Ms. Linda plays a big part to the wholesomeness of the school. We absolutley adore her.


Macarthur Elementary School 4

Posted March 07, 2011
- a parent
I have 2 children at MacAthur: 1 in 5th Grade, 1 in 1st Grade. My 5th Grader has been at MacArthur since Kindergarten. We have experienced many changes at MacArthur since 2005. Some were frustrating, most have been Great! Our school is definitly moving in a positive direction. Unlike other reviewers, I feel Principal Gutierrez has been the best thing that has happened to our school. As a parent, he has made us feel connected by always keeping us in the loop of what is going on at MacArthur. The staff / Teachers seem much happier, the students are much happier and it has become a place we all enjoy visiting. The kids test scores are way up - you can't ask for anything more!

Macarthur Elementary School 2

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
An organization is only as good as its managment/leader. This school leaves much to be desired. Some staff are more concerned about popularity and recognition than the progress of the students individually.

Macarthur Elementary School 2

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
Principal is more concerned with the teachers and his reputation with them than this students. Identifiying childrens weakness is poor here. If your child is struggling socially or academically, do not send to this school.


Macarthur Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 27, 2009
- a parent
My daughter started kindergarten this year at MacArthur. She has learned so much from her teacher Mrs. Robertson she is from tucker and she is fabulous. The whole kindergarten team that came is well organized and work well together.

Macarthur Elementary School 3

Posted December 03, 2008
- a parent
i wish there were more artistic involvement opportunities at the school and more parental involvment opps;

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Macarthur Elementary School
6011 Centralia Street, Lakewood, CA  90713
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (562) 420-3588
Last modified Macarthur Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top