Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Piute Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2013

piute middle school isamazing, the teachers here help you believe that you can succeed in life!


Posted July 13, 2011

I went to Piute from 6th-part of 7th grade till I moved back to PA. I loved being in that school and hated to move. I am now 35 yrs old and still remember it like it was yesterday. I love Piute and always will. I wish there was a way that I could get a copy of all the kids that were there when I was. I'd like to get ahold of some of my old friends and see how they're doing. The years I was there were 1987-1989. If u can help, I'd very much appreciate it as I do not remember everyone's names. Thank u very much.


Posted June 5, 2011

Several of the teachers at this school are totally disgruntled and like to air their gripes on line and complaints about the principal and budget. Mr Glatfelter isn't responsible for the huge budget cuts. So Ms Nighbert, Ms Del la Tova, Jenny Fuller (and you don't even teach in this district any more), and especially Lori Christensen, who likes to stir up negativity, if you don't like your jobs, go find different careers. Students needs positive role models, depsite the budget and what your benefits are, you get far better benefits than any other person in this state, be happy you have a job!


Posted April 1, 2011

I Love Piute! Warrior Pride!(: Im A 7th Grader Im In Advance Classes! I Love This School Theres Soo Many Oppertunties! Even Thouqh The School Is Old There's Amazinq Teachers That Help Students Reach Thier Goals Nd No Student Is Left Behind! We Hav Band Witch I Am In . Its Sooo Amazinq! soo Many Experinces That I Wouldnt Chanqe! Theres Leadership,Spanish Class,ColorGuard, So Many Thinqs. Sometimes There Is Drama Once In a While But Not Everyday. I Would Recomeend This School even Thouqh It Looks Bad Its Not Once You Get To Kno The School Its Amazinq Nd Were The 3 Or 2 Hiqhest MIddle Schools In The Av! Give It A Go(:


Posted August 15, 2010

I love Piute its so fun. I am in the advanced 7/8th grade band class . Band Is so fun u play in concerts and u get to march in the lancaster christmas parade. The have very nice teachers Like Mr. Adriano, Mr. Ervin, Ms. Kingsley, and Coach Hazard. I was in the girls volleyball team but they got rid of volleyball because of budget cuts. The lunches are good to like their salads and burritos. Oh ya and I am in the 8th grade.


Posted May 14, 2010

I am an eighth grade GATE student at Piute Middle School and I will be promoting in just a few weeks. I'm so depressed that I will be leaving this school; I've become so attached to it. The teachers are great and our principals are doing their absolute best to keep the best learning environment possible. Piute's test scores have gone up multiple points the last few years, and we've beaten part of the schools in the district. This year has been the first year in many that Piute has gotten the music program back. I'm in the guitar class, and the new music teacher Mr. Adriano is absolutely fantastic. I've learned so much from him; he is very skilled. I'd definitely recommend taking his music class next year: Band, Guitar, or Advanced Guitar. These last three years have been so memorable, and I'm going to miss this great school.


Posted April 21, 2009

Very good school!!very intelligent students.I would say best in district area all the way to palmadale.It beat cole,parkviewect.Go warrriors!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

I Attend Piute Middle School And And Iam In The Seventh Grade And The Thing I Like About The School Is the Teachers Like Currisa Welsh,Donald Hodges,Cathy Wright, Mr. Deshler,Ms.Kingsly.The 2 Main Things I Think What Makes The School Looks Like It Has A Bad Reputation Is The Attitude Of Some Students Who Dont Treat The Teachers And Staff With The Same Respect That They Treat Every One With.Also The Attitude Of Some Students To Treat The School Bad By Littering Not Following Rules Like Fighting, Arguing, And The Gum Rule.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2006

Well I think that piute is a great school. I love this school and so does my kids .They love their green track teachers.They love their security guards and principles very much.I wouldnt blame them .They are so kind.They able to play sports after school and sometimes during lunch. They also have fn during pe.Its very safe and educational.They are never harrased.So I think that this school is best for your child.Also the vollyball team was all about fun the coach is also a good language arts teacher mr.Conte.The parent are very involved they are also nice and fun.Piute was also very welcoming.My child was so happy that she started there.My son was very exuted when he started this year.He loves all the activities that they have.My daughter tryes out fir every thing she could.Sothats what I think abot piute middleshool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

I have to say that Piute Middle School has taken an active stance in ensuring that each student receives a quality education. I also like the fact of the Piute Newsletter which is sent home to keep the parents up to date as to what is going on in the school. The other thing that I like about the school is the fact that the teachers that my children have had are very flexible when it comes to parent teacher conferences. Some I have done online because of my work schedule and others I have done over the phone. Also when I ask for a weekly report of how my child is doing, they are willing to oblige me in my request. It is a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

I have a student at Piute, in the GATE program. My child feels valued by her teachers, and in turn, values her teachers. Her GATE classes are wonderful; I wish all her classes were GATE level. My daughter had some problems with teasing her first year; teachers & administrators corrected the problem immediately! Do not let 'low' school test scores influence your opinion of this fine school; my child does A-level work because she works hard and cares! Bravo, Piute teachers! for inspiring my child! Suggestions? A Drama program! She'd love to participate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My son had the best ever teacher while he attended Piute. Her name is Jeanette Crounse. She was his band teacher. My son was small with an attitude. Mrs. Crounse took him under her wing and showed him love and respect and made him realize his potential. She never made him feel like he was a pain or bother to her. He was having problems outside of school and she was still there to help. I praise Mrs. Crounse for all she did or my son. I believe he is a better person for having Jeanette Crounse as his teacher. I want to thank her for all the hard times she went through with us. For all the time and energy and money she put into her program to make these kids feel like they deserve the very best life has to offer. I also want to thank the principals for supporting Mrs. Crounse. You are all the BEST! Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2012.

This school's
API score

657

Change from
2011 to 2012

-30

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2012.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2012

This school's
API score

657

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2011 to 2012

-30

Change from 2011 to 2012
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
25%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
35%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
5%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students20%
Females21%
Males20%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino24%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)20%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged8%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability21%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only24%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduate20%
Parent education - high school graduate22%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)14%
Parent education - college graduate36%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students15%
Females11%
Males18%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)13%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability15%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only17%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented55%
Parent education - not a high school graduate14%
Parent education - high school graduate18%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)11%
Parent education - college graduate21%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students57%
Females74%
Males38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented62%
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students22%
Females24%
Males20%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino24%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)31%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability21%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only26%
Migrant education14%
Gifted and talented72%
Parent education - not a high school graduate20%
Parent education - high school graduate21%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)27%
Parent education - college graduate24%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students12%
Females12%
Males12%
African American6%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino13%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)19%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disability15%
Students with no reported disability12%
English learner2%
Fluent-English proficient and English only14%
Migrant education0%
Gifted and talented41%
Parent education - not a high school graduate14%
Parent education - high school graduate10%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)15%
Parent education - college graduate6%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students13%
Females14%
Males12%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino13%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)14%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability13%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only14%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented53%
Parent education - not a high school graduate12%
Parent education - high school graduate12%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)14%
Parent education - college graduate6%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students27%
Females30%
Males25%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino30%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)42%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability29%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only33%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate24%
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)31%
Parent education - college graduate20%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students0%
Females0%
Males0%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino0%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged0%
Not economically disadvantaged0%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability0%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only0%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate0%
Parent education - high school graduate0%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)0%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students48%
Females50%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented64%
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students28%
Females26%
Males30%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)32%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disability4%
Students with no reported disability32%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only31%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented76%
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)28%
Parent education - college graduate26%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students45%
Females41%
Males51%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disability14%
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner28%
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate35%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 54%
Black 35%
White 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Asian 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/AN/A
English language learners 18%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 8%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Davis
Fax number
  • (661) 940-6676

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

425 East Avenue H-11
Lancaster, CA 93535
Phone: (661) 942-9508

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT