Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Challenger Middle School

Public | 5-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lancaster

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $102,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,500.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

I can NOT recommend this school to anyone. After the nearby elementary school closed down, they squeezed the fifth graders into the middle school, so now the school is overcrowded. My child was in a classroom with over 60 students (and 2 teachers). Who can learn in a setting like this? They should have used two separate classrooms and there would have been less distractions for the students. Sometimes, the schoolwork is not graded correctly or the teacher will mark correct answers as wrong. When you point it out, trying to have your child get the grade she deserves, it is acknowledged but I don't see that the grade is changed to the correct grade. Also, it seems like foster children or children from less advantaged households are punished for almost nothing, and not treated fairly in the classroom or on campus in general. The teachers have favorites and bullies the students that are not their favorites or have problems. A few teachers at this school that are great, but the ones we came in contact with were not. I would encourage everyone to stay away from this school, nothing there encourages learning, it's a wasteland; culturally, intellectually and educationally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

I am thoroughly disappointed in the total lack of feedback that the teachers give to the parents. It's not just one teacher, but all of my son's teachers fail to let me know if/when my child is behind in class. This is unacceptable to me. Part of being a teacher is to make sure that the students are keeping up, and if that is not the case - the teacher should reach out to the parent(s). I should not find out after the fact. The next step will be discussing these issues with the Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

Going into 8 grade, I am really going to miss this school. Except some of the staffing they are just flat out rude and disprespectful. The students are very nice and so are the teachers. I sometimes wish that we didn't have weekends because I love school and I have NEVER said that in my life. I wont regret saying that either. Sports this year was great it as so much fun and a lot of people enjoyed it. I really recommend this school :)


Posted February 1, 2013

As a parent I must say this school is horrible. The administrators seem to be out of touch with what their responsibilities really are. My child has bee threatened by several students in the presence of staff and they have said nothing. The students are unruly and disrespectful. I recently attended parent teacher conferences and was told that the reason why my child does NOT receive homework in English or history because it is AGAINST DISTRICT POLICY TO GRADE HOMEWORK. This is because some of the students have such bad home lives that they can't be expected to complete it. My child has went from strait A's to D's and F's. There are too many distractions at this school that prevent learning and productivity. There is almost no parent teacher contact unless you as the parent starts it. Then I've had one administrator act as if he was irritated I was interested in my child's performance. Needless to say my child will no longer be attending this institution and I would not recommend it to anyone. I have so many more things to say but not enough space to write it in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

As a student there from the end of seventh and all of eighth grade(2010-2011), i must say that this school (compared to the two others i have attended) is the worst that i have have the misfortune of attending. The staff is unruly and disrespectful, as well, they do not discipline the children to the best of their ability. The students are extremely lacking in respect, yes this is the parent's fault be that as it may. I would not recommend this school to anyone, I would sooner return to Lancaster than go here. There is nothing motivating the children and nothing for extra curricular activities, they have even removed the last elective they offered, art. There is no band, there is no art, there is nothing and i highly regret attending this establishment. Please, unless you wish fights and teasing upon your child, avoid this school at all costs.


Posted April 2, 2012

I am extremely happy that this will be the last school year my child has to attend CMS. I have had nothing but problems with the school since my child was in the 1st and is now in the 6th (will most likely have to be held back for the second time). I would not recommend this school to anyone. I also feel that in order for your child to succed in this district is if you are part of the "good ole boy" network. CMS is of no value to our children and the staff and administration should be replaced at once.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

This school has to greatly improve their discipline program. Classes are constantly disrupted by a few students, but nothing is done to punish them. CMS is run like an elementary school, instead of a middle school. The students must be prepared for high school life.


Posted January 30, 2012

This school has so much to improve on. Part of the problem is the budget, partly the students, and partly the faculty. Aside from that, its a pretty good school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

This is a very great school. The teachers are great and supporting, but it needs more activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2009

I loved his school i didnt want to leave from it, its teacher are very great, and this school theres alot of people i can relate to and plus its in california, all i have to say is i love it&miss it if i were in middle school again i'd come here again, && the teaching&learing on my part was really good and understandable,.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2008

The education is average and even above average, but the other students' behaviors need some serious improvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2007

This middle school doesn't always care about the student's best interest. There should be more extra activities such as Drama Club,Chess Club and choir. I am going into the seventh grade and there is nothing for us non sports people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2007

This is a good school school it has awesome teachers that teach you all that you need to know,I even got a 99% on my constitution exam thanks to my teacher ms. escue. They have gotten new equipment for the school, we have a nice pentathlete team, and a great band that is almost always getting 1st place in every parade that they go to. Jennifer Lara
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2006

I am an 8th grader here at Challenger Middle School and I can really say that I am going to miss this school. The teachers are great and everybody loves the principal. I have gotten great test scores and have made many friends and this school has prepared me so much for high school and I will miss middle school alot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2005

I am in begining band and I really love it. I really like all of my teachers at this school. I would give this school a 14 out of 10.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

770

Change from
2012 to 2013

0

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

770

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

0

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
30%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
34%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
23%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females53%
Males47%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)42%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females89%
Males89%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner92%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate91%
Parent education - high school graduate85%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students51%
Females51%
Males49%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate49%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Females42%
Males48%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students34%
Females25%
Males46%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)37%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability34%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)37%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students41%
Females40%
Males41%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)24%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability41%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students43%
Females44%
Males44%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)38%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate49%
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students41%
Females41%
Males41%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)46%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability41%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only44%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)25%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Females55%
Males42%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner12%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students45%
Females45%
Males44%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students62%
Females53%
Males71%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate60%
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 67%
White 18%
Black 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Two or more races 1%
Asian 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/AN/A
English language learners 21%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Janice Stowers
Fax number
  • (661) 264-1793

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

41725 North 170th Street, East
East
Lancaster, CA 93535
Phone: (661) 264-1790

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Aviyah Academy
Llano, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT