Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Marin Primary And Middle School

Private | K-8 | 243 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Larkspur

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $850,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2014

This is our 7th year and we are thrilled with our decision to send our children to Marin Primary & Middle School. A few highlights include: outstanding teachers who make learning fun and challenge each child; excellent leadership; and the newly renovated campus. My children love all aspects of the academic program combined with the specialist program including Outdoor Education, Library Media Center, Projects Lab (Woodworking & more!), Art, Drama, Music, and more. This is a place where children are asked to be the best they can be, and develop self confidence. There is a strong focus on multicultural education, community service and social emotional learning. We are grateful to have been accepted and look forward to the years to come at Marin Primary & Middle School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2014

My kids love their school. They are engaged and excited by what they are learning. The school environment is relaxed and happy. The kids are encouraged to get to know themselves as learners and develop the skills they need to excel academically, socially and creatively. The teachers and staff are also happy and engaged. They are present and available to meet the kids wherever they are, and help them develop to the next level. This is truly individualized education, in a cohesive and cooperative environment. The school addresses the social, emotional, academic and creative needs of the children. And it is a lovely and enjoyable place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2014

MP&MS is an incredible school! My children have attended the preschool, primary and middle school. My oldest is close to graduation and he loves school. The program has developed him into an inquisitive, hardworking, self-advocating student. His teachers know him well and provide a warm, caring and safe learning environment. The specialist program (projects lab, spanish, art, drama, music, tech lab and outdoor eduction center) is amazing and the two-teacher model in each classroom provides one-on-one attention. Lastly, the parent community is wonderful. It is a school that quickly becomes part of your family from the moment you arrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2014

We've been a Marin Primary and Middle School family for over 13 years. Our two oldest children attended MPMS, graduated and are successful students in high school and college. Our 3rd is on the way to finishing her MPMS education. All three of our kids are different in talent, temperament and ability, but all grew in this nurturing environment to be confident learners with great self awareness and self esteem. Throughout their K-8 experience, my children loved to go to school every day. MPMS is a thoughtful and friendly community and parents are encouraged to be involved. The teachers really know your children and the kids feel supported and challenged. This is a community of amazing teachers, parents and students that is very much a privilege to be a part of. Leadership is top notch and the educational experience is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2014

Marin Primary and Middle School is a hidden treasure in beautiful Marin County. It is a K-8 coed independent school with an innovative approach to educating our children. There is one class per grade, with two teachers in each class, so the student to teacher ratio is very low. The teachers are enthusiastic and enjoy traveling and taking outside courses to keep up with the latest trends and tools in education. They know each student (and their family) as they grow and develop through the grades. Marin Primary and Middle School prides itself on their relationships with the students, their families and the school community. The students graduate as well rounded, really nice kids who can advocate for themselves, who understand their role as global citizens, and who are well prepared for their high school years, whether at a private high school or a nearby public high school. The campus is newly renovated - very gorgeous with an outdoor garden and great play structures. And the extracurriculars can't be beat with drama, music, art, projects lab, physical education and Spanish four out of five days a week!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

We have just completed eight years at MP&MS and have to say it's been a gem. The teachers were experienced and committed, and the new leadership is excellent. Children feel personally committed to their own education because it's so obvious on a daily basis that the school cares deeply about them. Integrated learning is great in theory and even better in practice. Wonderful balance of caring and responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2008

We wanted a curriculum that was robust with a strong arts program. When we toured MP&MS we felt right at home. Great core curriculum. The teachers were connecting with each child, and the team of teachers outside the home room , art, spanish, music, PE, projects lab, outdoor education center. We are incredibly impressed. Now 6 years later, we are more than satisfied and know this investment in our children's education is already paying off. Marin has so many great public and private schools, we think MP&MS is one of the best kept secrets. The new Head of School is brilliant and is leading the school to its next level. We are impressed with the teachers, they know how to reach the child, get them to stretch where they are, and not rush them out of childhood. Both our children love the school and teachers. The PA is strong, too.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

I rate Marin Primary & Middle School a five star rating in each catagory. The teachers are amazing, the extracurricular activities are varied and very well organized. Parent involvement is extradinary and the school goes to great lengths to keep the children safe and to handle discipline in an appropriate mannor. The kids are kind to each other and love going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

Our kids are in the preschool program and we/they love it. Son had some difficulities with adjustment and they were very helpful/responsive. Parents had some concerns about security recently as campus is open like all other campuses- a committee was formed and now security is much improved. Afterschool program is great- there is a lot of attention paid to your individual child's needs and they pick up on little things. As a working parents this is invaluable to us...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2005

This school is outstanding - the teachers are clearly dedicated to providing the best possible education for your child...they find the way your child learns and teach to the individual child. Can't say enough great things!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 14, 2004

Marin Primary & Middle School was established as a place that addresses the learning needs of the particular student. And to some extent, this remains part of the culture and DNA of this school. A key constuct they employ is team teaching through the 8th grade. Having only two teachers per grade provides continuity and focus for each individual student's needs. It appears that MPMS's need to secure reliable sources of funding has shifted focus to more traditional environment which emphasizes more achievement in the fundamentals. This may be a good change to establish base line abilities and ensure students actually learn the curriculum. The teaching staff seems more pressed to develop high achievers who can get into the 'best' private high schools. My recommendation is to get infront of the adminstration and teaching staff to make sure you understand how they approach teaching and determine if it is a fit for your
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 26%
Two or more races 13% 3%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Julie Elam
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20 Magnolia Avenue
Larkspur, CA 94939
Phone: (415) 924-2608

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Allaire School
Corte Madera, CA


St. Patrick School
Larkspur, CA




Park Elementary School
Mill Valley, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT