Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Larkspur, CA
Students enrolled: 243

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marin Primary And Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
This is our 7th year and we are thrilled with our decision to send our children to Marin Primary & Middle School. A few highlights include: outstanding teachers who make learning fun and challenge each child; excellent leadership; and the newly renovated campus. My children love all aspects of the academic program combined with the specialist program including Outdoor Education, Library Media Center, Projects Lab (Woodworking & more!), Art, Drama, Music, and more. This is a place where children are asked to be the best they can be, and develop self confidence. There is a strong focus on multicultural education, community service and social emotional learning. We are grateful to have been accepted and look forward to the years to come at Marin Primary & Middle School!

Marin Primary And Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
My kids love their school. They are engaged and excited by what they are learning. The school environment is relaxed and happy. The kids are encouraged to get to know themselves as learners and develop the skills they need to excel academically, socially and creatively. The teachers and staff are also happy and engaged. They are present and available to meet the kids wherever they are, and help them develop to the next level. This is truly individualized education, in a cohesive and cooperative environment. The school addresses the social, emotional, academic and creative needs of the children. And it is a lovely and enjoyable place to be.


Marin Primary And Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
MP&MS is an incredible school! My children have attended the preschool, primary and middle school. My oldest is close to graduation and he loves school. The program has developed him into an inquisitive, hardworking, self-advocating student. His teachers know him well and provide a warm, caring and safe learning environment. The specialist program (projects lab, spanish, art, drama, music, tech lab and outdoor eduction center) is amazing and the two-teacher model in each classroom provides one-on-one attention. Lastly, the parent community is wonderful. It is a school that quickly becomes part of your family from the moment you arrive.

Marin Primary And Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
We've been a Marin Primary and Middle School family for over 13 years. Our two oldest children attended MPMS, graduated and are successful students in high school and college. Our 3rd is on the way to finishing her MPMS education. All three of our kids are different in talent, temperament and ability, but all grew in this nurturing environment to be confident learners with great self awareness and self esteem. Throughout their K-8 experience, my children loved to go to school every day. MPMS is a thoughtful and friendly community and parents are encouraged to be involved. The teachers really know your children and the kids feel supported and challenged. This is a community of amazing teachers, parents and students that is very much a privilege to be a part of. Leadership is top notch and the educational experience is amazing.

Marin Primary And Middle School 5

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
Marin Primary and Middle School is a hidden treasure in beautiful Marin County. It is a K-8 coed independent school with an innovative approach to educating our children. There is one class per grade, with two teachers in each class, so the student to teacher ratio is very low. The teachers are enthusiastic and enjoy traveling and taking outside courses to keep up with the latest trends and tools in education. They know each student (and their family) as they grow and develop through the grades. Marin Primary and Middle School prides itself on their relationships with the students, their families and the school community. The students graduate as well rounded, really nice kids who can advocate for themselves, who understand their role as global citizens, and who are well prepared for their high school years, whether at a private high school or a nearby public high school. The campus is newly renovated - very gorgeous with an outdoor garden and great play structures. And the extracurriculars can't be beat with drama, music, art, projects lab, physical education and Spanish four out of five days a week!


Marin Primary And Middle School 5

Posted October 16, 2008
- a parent
We have just completed eight years at MP&MS and have to say it's been a gem. The teachers were experienced and committed, and the new leadership is excellent. Children feel personally committed to their own education because it's so obvious on a daily basis that the school cares deeply about them. Integrated learning is great in theory and even better in practice. Wonderful balance of caring and responsibility.

Marin Primary And Middle School 5

Posted October 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Marin Primary And Middle School 1

Posted October 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Marin Primary And Middle School 5

Posted July 12, 2008
- a parent
We wanted a curriculum that was robust with a strong arts program. When we toured MP&MS we felt right at home. Great core curriculum. The teachers were connecting with each child, and the team of teachers outside the home room , art, spanish, music, PE, projects lab, outdoor education center. We are incredibly impressed. Now 6 years later, we are more than satisfied and know this investment in our children's education is already paying off. Marin has so many great public and private schools, we think MP&MS is one of the best kept secrets. The new Head of School is brilliant and is leading the school to its next level. We are impressed with the teachers, they know how to reach the child, get them to stretch where they are, and not rush them out of childhood. Both our children love the school and teachers. The PA is strong, too.!

Marin Primary And Middle School 5

Posted July 11, 2008
- a parent
I rate Marin Primary & Middle School a five star rating in each catagory. The teachers are amazing, the extracurricular activities are varied and very well organized. Parent involvement is extradinary and the school goes to great lengths to keep the children safe and to handle discipline in an appropriate mannor. The kids are kind to each other and love going to school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marin Primary And Middle School
20 Magnolia Avenue, Larkspur, CA  94939
(415) 924-2608
Last modified Marin Primary And Middle School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Marin Primary And Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top