Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Larkspur, CA
Students enrolled: 243
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marin Primary And Middle School 1

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
The school caters to a certain class of families and if anyone challenges the status quo, offers a different perspective and or reveals a systemic problem...you get marginalized, get the cold treatment (which isn't hard in an environment devoid of warmth and soul) and sadly get treated poorly. Most of the reviews that are positive are undoubtedly connected in some way to the finances or success of the school..either via staff, Board member, or professional networks.its akin to a yacht club or sorority/fraternity...superficial, soulless, and unreal.

Marin Primary And Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
Teachers seem to have their method and tools and some will act out if they are challenged, questioned, or offered alternatives. There is no differentiating instruction...the same lessons get recycled and if students don't fit the mold of rich, connected, aloof, strictly compliant or passive...they are sadly labeled in a most egregious way for a child. That's not only ineffective it's a breach of professional ethics.


Marin Primary And Middle School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
They seem determined to keep their image at all costs. This does a profound disservice to students. They pride themselves on the many activities offered yet character, service, humility are not at their core.

Marin Primary And Middle School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
Students seem to generally respect class, status and wealth..and it's all about image and power. Not a good ethos for kids.

Marin Primary And Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely not. Most students are detached, superficial and resorting to bullying and ostracizing at such a young age...so imagine their role models?


Marin Primary And Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
A culture of bullying, classism, superficiality prevails. Fairness is not the guiding principle...it is maintaining the status quo...and maintains status altogether. That lacks integrity and care.

Marin Primary And Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
This is our 7th year and we are thrilled with our decision to send our children to Marin Primary & Middle School. A few highlights include: outstanding teachers who make learning fun and challenge each child; excellent leadership; and the newly renovated campus. My children love all aspects of the academic program combined with the specialist program including Outdoor Education, Library Media Center, Projects Lab (Woodworking & more!), Art, Drama, Music, and more. This is a place where children are asked to be the best they can be, and develop self confidence. There is a strong focus on multicultural education, community service and social emotional learning. We are grateful to have been accepted and look forward to the years to come at Marin Primary & Middle School!

Marin Primary And Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
My kids love their school. They are engaged and excited by what they are learning. The school environment is relaxed and happy. The kids are encouraged to get to know themselves as learners and develop the skills they need to excel academically, socially and creatively. The teachers and staff are also happy and engaged. They are present and available to meet the kids wherever they are, and help them develop to the next level. This is truly individualized education, in a cohesive and cooperative environment. The school addresses the social, emotional, academic and creative needs of the children. And it is a lovely and enjoyable place to be.


Marin Primary And Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
MP&MS is an incredible school! My children have attended the preschool, primary and middle school. My oldest is close to graduation and he loves school. The program has developed him into an inquisitive, hardworking, self-advocating student. His teachers know him well and provide a warm, caring and safe learning environment. The specialist program (projects lab, spanish, art, drama, music, tech lab and outdoor eduction center) is amazing and the two-teacher model in each classroom provides one-on-one attention. Lastly, the parent community is wonderful. It is a school that quickly becomes part of your family from the moment you arrive.

Marin Primary And Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
We've been a Marin Primary and Middle School family for over 13 years. Our two oldest children attended MPMS, graduated and are successful students in high school and college. Our 3rd is on the way to finishing her MPMS education. All three of our kids are different in talent, temperament and ability, but all grew in this nurturing environment to be confident learners with great self awareness and self esteem. Throughout their K-8 experience, my children loved to go to school every day. MPMS is a thoughtful and friendly community and parents are encouraged to be involved. The teachers really know your children and the kids feel supported and challenged. This is a community of amazing teachers, parents and students that is very much a privilege to be a part of. Leadership is top notch and the educational experience is amazing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marin Primary And Middle School
20 Magnolia Avenue, Larkspur, CA  94939
(415) 924-2608
Last modified Marin Primary And Middle School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Marin Primary And Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top