Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
350 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marin Primary And Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
Donna, the Admissions Director. She does an amazing job selecting great families for our school, people who embrace the mission of the school and are rooted in what is best for our children.

Marin Primary And Middle School 5

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
MPMS walks the talk. We have two children enrolled and have attended the school for five years. This is a community that embraces the entire child and family. Each year I am amazed by how well each teaching team gets to know my children. They are in touch with the details of how they learn, how they process, how they interact socially. My husband and I joke that they get to know our children as well as we do in way less time. This is a school with dedication and commitment to cherishing children and meeting them where they are to facilitate and guide them to flourish and grow. It is wonderful to see them, from the young grade of Junior Kindergarten, experience specialist classes such as wood shop, garden, drama, technology, art, music, PE and Spanish. Marin Primary is the gem of Marin.


Marin Primary And Middle School 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Marin Primary is a hidden treasure. There is a warm community of parents, a low student teacher ratio, compassionate and enthusiastic teachers that are excited to teach the students. The campus is lovely, new, and centrally located. The children learn from a strong and innovative academics program. Community service is important to the culture of MPMS. Most importantly, they learn to grow up to be smart, compassionate and giving citizens and students.

Marin Primary And Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Here's a shout to Dave DeMartini, the middle school director. He is beloved and respected by students and families alike, and has expertly guided the middle school for many years.

Marin Primary And Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Many of the teachers take outside courses in order to stay current on the most innovative teaching tools. I love the fact that there are male teachers in many of the classrooms. My son benefited from having both male and female teachers almost every year. I find the teachers enthusiastic and effective. The students graduate from MP&MS into rigorous high schools and are well prepared. They are also taught to advocate for themselves, which empowers the student to be curious, ask questions and ultimately learn more.


Marin Primary And Middle School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
I agree, but I also believe that true grit and the drive to persist through tough times should be taught by family and supported by schools.

Marin Primary And Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Yes, when a parent or teacher greets a student they smile and say hello. I had my daughter in another Marin school and when I walk through the hallways they would simply stare. And if I greeted them, I was met with silence. Very different in the halls of MPMS.

Marin Primary And Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
MP&MS's strong culture of community service is indicative of its passion for teaching students compassion and empathy for not just their fellow students, but for those outside the MPMS community. The Halloween costume drive, the beach cleanup, the animal rescue volunteer hours, the car washes, the emergency clothes drives for wildfire victims... the list goes on and the children learn so much.


Marin Primary And Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Because of the small class sizes, the students work in groups in a type of project based learning environment which fosters a classroom of honesty, fairness and partnership among the children.

Marin Primary And Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
Teachers seem to have their method and tools and some will act out if they are challenged, questioned, or offered alternatives. There is no differentiating instruction...the same lessons get recycled and if students don't fit the mold of rich, connected, aloof, strictly compliant or passive...they are sadly labeled in a most egregious way for a child. That's not only ineffective it's a breach of professional ethics.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marin Primary And Middle School
20 Magnolia Avenue, Larkspur, CA  94939
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (415) 924-2608
Last modified Marin Primary And Middle School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top