Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

918 students|Manteca Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mossdale Elementary School 3

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
We pulled our kids out of Mossdale in favor of River Island and STEAM Academy. The last straw with Mossdale was our 2nd grade child's experience. We went through a full year conflicted with how or if we really should reinforce the discipline that our son's 2nd grade teacher insisted he needed. She claimed repeatedly that he was a disruption to the class and her ability to reach the struggling students in her class because he was always trying to answer the questions she posed in class.....isn't that what kids are supposed to do? We moved him to STEAM in River Island and he is flourishing there. The 3rd grade teacher there seems to really appreciate ours son's desire to participate and learn, rather than shut him up, like the Mossdale experience. I would recommend looking at your options. If you are willing to drive your children a couple of miles, consider RITechA or STEAM. Mossdale isn't worth the Mello-Roos we are paying.

Mossdale Elementary School 4

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
It is a beautiful school. Teachers are excellent. Students are working hard. Need to have plan for trips to DC for 8th Graders. It is an experience of a life time. We need to have more parent involvements.


Mossdale Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2013
- a parent
My children have been at Mossdale for the 6 years it has been open. I specifically moved to this area so my kids could go here. The staff has been nothing but supportive and caring towards students and parents. The teachers go above and beyond to reach their students. I see the dedication in their jobs by all the extra UNPAID time they devote to their students. I am realistic in the fact that much of what is taught in schools is dictated by the district, and ultimately the state, as there are standards that have to be met. The few negative comments or attitudes toward the school/teachers have been from parents who don't take responsibility for their children's behaviors and place blame on everyone else. Teachers still manage to reach their students through the time constraints, unsupportive parents, struggling students, lack of educational funding and state testing. They go above and beyond what is required of them on a daily basis. I am so impressed by the teachers and staff, and feel blessed my children go to Mossdale!

Mossdale Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2012
- a parent
Great school. The teachers and staff are great. They have been improving every day. I am happy with the teaching level and care that has been given to individual students.

Mossdale Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2012
- a parent
The best place for education in lathrop.The teachers are very patient and good educators .


Mossdale Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2010
- a parent
Great job! API is increased again! My son is in the 4th grade and he got a lot of homework to do everyday, the good thing about homework is that the teacher cares about the kids' study. Cong' s! Even my kid is not doing good last year, I still feel happy about this school. Next year my little one will be in Kingdergarden and I hope the school will be better and better and my kids will do better and better!

Mossdale Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2010
- a parent
This is a FANTASTIC school! We have 2 children who have always been honor students. We have been with the school since they first opened about 3 years ago. I am so impressed with this school, the teachers are excellent and staff is warm and friendly. I am very impressed with the principal she is on top as far as educationally focused and still so wonderful with the parents and children! The school is new, the campus is laid out beautifully and the classrooms are so high tech! You couldn't ask for a better school environment or nieghborhood safety wise either. As a military wife (living all over the world) , a mom and past teacher myself I have a lot of experience in many areas relating to this.. I would give Mossdale A++! Most people pay for thier children to attend a school of this quality. - Bravo

Mossdale Elementary School 4

Posted July 11, 2009
- a parent
My son has had a great two year run at Mossdale and now it's my daughter's turn to enter the school. I would love to see more tearch and parent volunteers at school functions though.


Mossdale Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 17, 2009
- a parent
Mossdale is the best school my children have ever attended. Mrs. Meydam is a great forth grade teacher.

Mossdale Elementary School 4

Posted November 13, 2008
- a parent
Mossdale is a great school. This is my first year there and we have only been there since late September. My son has definitely had more challenging homework than his other school and he really likes it there. The school is very diverse and the staff is very friendly. The only thing that concerns me is that I feel the school lacks security considering it goes up to 8th grade. Often times, the little ones are mixed in with the older kids, yikes!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mossdale Elementary School
455 Brookhurst Boulevard, Lathrop, CA  95330-8688
(209) 938-6285
Last modified Mossdale Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mossdale Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top