Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Green Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 17, 2013

I am in Ms.Gallup's class she is so great such a awesome teacher.She has a great class.She helps us kids understand lots of different things in different subjects in 4th grade.......^.^


Posted October 16, 2011

My brother and I had attended this school for four years it is a great school and has a friendly environment. I wish i could go back to Williamgreen even though im about to go to high school.In the beginning i was struggling with English so they put me in tutoring which helped in so many ways.After that i was put in homework club which was a great opportunity.I could go on and on about how great of a school it is but that ll take a lifetime.So I recommend this school to a parent that has a child 5 through 10( they used to have preschool and sixth but i think that's changed)they go to this school, it a great learning environment and has so many outlets for a kids to express them selves. These are the best teachers at this school: Ms. Gallup,Ms. Sweet, Ms. Hoffman, and many more.


Posted September 19, 2010

My daughter is a second grader at William Green School and last year we had a great experience with the RAP after school program. She was in the dance group and performed at varies events.I feel that dancing in front of all those people gives her lots of confidence, which hopefully will help her in life. The RAP teachers are great and I would highly recommend everyone to take advantage of having such a great program at William Green by place your children in a safe environment and giving your children a great experience with the teachers that will help them as they grow. I hope that my child has a great time this year as she did last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

I attended this school for six years before having to leave. I enjoyed this school for ever. Some of my life choices have been based on this school. If you are a parent and is thinking about sending your child there it will be one amazing decision you could everer make.


Posted December 29, 2009

Yes, this is a great school I have two daughters here and I give lots of credit to so many of the teachers working here, to name few: Ms. Moore, Ms. Morales, Mrs. Gallup, Mrs. O'Rourke, Ms. Rojas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

I totally agree Mrs Diaz is the best preschool teacher, shes great very awesome and cant wait for my 3rd boy to start school so he can get her as well....my 2nd boy is doing another year with her and I am exited because he already knows so much and when he started he didnt even speak but now he speaks 2 languages knows his colors and shapes and more .....TKS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

Thank you for a wonderful year Mrs Diaz, at the preschool you are so well loved and I hope you stay in this school the children need you and the parents love you. Continue being the way you are my son will move on by my other son is coming next year, please stay! my soon to be kindergartner is going to miss you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

My child has just started school this year. He is finishing is kindergarden year and his teacher is great! The assistant principal is great too (unfortunatly he is leaving)! I think the staff need to be more informed as do us the parents. I call to get info. about any sort of graduation or celebration for the Kindergarden class and they say I have to talk to my childs teacher. Well I work and don't get a chance to see her very often, so that doesn't help me much. I also think that the performances and celebrations we are told about need to be at a time that all parents can come. I work from 8am to 4:30pm and can not make a singing performance at 11:30am. I feel bad I miss it and my son is sad too. That isn't fair for the kids! That needs to be addressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

Both of my daughters have attended William Green Elementary for the past 2 years and they love it!! Mrs Diaz in P1 and Mrs Cervantas are 2 of my favorite teachers there so far!! I only hope others get to experience there love for the children as i have!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

William Green is a great school, I have three kids, two of them in fifth an preeschool, and the other one already in high school, but attended W.G. too, I have nothing but good experiences. The principal is always there when you need him, the teachers knows each of the students and their needs, I like the activities after school... they have everything that the kids need to be sucessful. I'm very proud of OUR school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

they start young William Green Preschool is the best the teachers at P1 are wonderful thank you William Green for your support
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2007

it has helped my son a lot learning wise my daughter loves her teachers and my youngest son loves the friends he has made..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

I had attended this school for 7 straight years. From kindergarden to the sixth grade. I just wanted to share the great information on William Green since I've been there for 7 years, (now I'm a Junior at Lawndale High School) William Green has great teachers. Unlike a lot of teachers, the teachers in William Green are so involved with their students academic skills and involved in their life when something goes wrong. The teachers there know exactly what they are doing.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 5, 2006

My daughter is in the 5th grade and has attended William Green for all of her Elementary school years. She has really enjoyed her time there and her teachers have all been great. They work closely with the students and call the teachers to inform them of any issues. I think this school is doing a very good job. There are no extracurricular activities that I know of and that's really a shame because I think this is the only thing they are missing. Thank you,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2006

Both of my children have had wonderful learning experiences at William Green School! Their teachers have been exceptional, and have always challenged my kids to do their personal best. As a result, both of them have consistently excelled in their academics. I have been fortunate enough to spend a great deal of time in the classroom. I have always been welcomed and encouraged to be involved, by both teachers and administrators. We will miss everyone at William Green!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

This is a great school. The teachers and principals are very dedicated to this school and their students. Staff is very ambitious about their work and focuses very much on the best in every child. Itis very comfortable and gives a homelike school environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2006

William Green provides an excellent academic environment. There is a strong and consistent presence of parental involvement, from the PTA, to the School Advisory Council, African American Leadership Committee, etc. The school provides before and after school child care. Tutoring for the kids for 1.5 hours after school. The child can play various sports including soccer, hockey, basketball, and cheerleading. Music and Art is available twice a week for the students. The Vice Principal oversees the student council, and student newspaper and yearbook. All of these activities expose the children to various skill sets and career options. The students work in the student store which acts as year long fundraiser for student activities. The 6th graders, enjoys 4 days of Science Camp at Camp Highland in San Bernadino. My daughters will be graduating in June 2006. As I've told Mr. McCray, Principal, it saddens me that they must leave Green School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

Well I have to say that the school is one of the best of the schools that I have ever encountered which is a whole lot to say about it because the teachers are always on top of all homework and class work that is being given no matter if they are doing bad. They take their time to stay after hours or to talk to the parents to better the child work and it shows in their progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

817

Change from
2012 to 2013

+18

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

817

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+18

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females77%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner69%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate74%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students65%
Females66%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner66%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females57%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate15%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state59%

Math

All Students63%
Females67%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner37%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate43%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females69%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate75%
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state73%

Math

All Students84%
Females84%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate100%
Parent education - high school graduate80%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Females45%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students52%
Females47%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate82%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students29%
Females27%
Males29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino25%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability27%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only32%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)30%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 80%
White 8%
Black 6%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/AN/A
English language learners 43%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jennie Wright
Fax number
  • (310) 370-0522

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4520 West 168th Street
Lawndale, CA 90260
Phone: (310) 370-3585

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Madison Elementary School
Redondo Beach, CA



Lincoln Elementary School
Redondo Beach, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT