Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Altos Elementary School 1

Posted October 22, 2015
- a community member
Horrible horrible horrible. My nephew is bullied everyday no one sticks up for him. It is to the point of taking him out and putting him in a new school. He is now 2nd and it has been going on since Pre K . We talked to the principal and he said if we take him out he will just be a target at the new school and get picked on worse. I WOULD NEVER EVER EVER PUT MY KID IN THIS SCHOOL EVER

San Altos Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2014
- a community member
Love it! I like all the play grounds and it seems safe and I love how they serve Pizza to the school mostly every Friday.


San Altos Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2012
- a parent
My child has attended since Kindergarden. Now entering 2nd grade. The class sizes are smaller than neighboring districts. The quality of teachers is excellent, and the staff and parents are great. I am proud to have my child at San Altos.

San Altos Elementary School 1

Posted June 08, 2011
- a parent
My Son has been attending San Altos for 3 years and unfotunately each year his grades and performance go down. He has special needs and the teachers do little to help him and work with him one on one. The Principal is horrible and expects kindegartners to stand up to peer pressure at such a young age, he also brings his presidential politics into school which i think is completely inappropriate! We are no longer a part of San Altos and will never reccomend this school to anyone.

San Altos Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2008
- a parent
The school is wonderful...the staff,the parents even the children.Each individual contributes their part to make it a great school and a very involved community.


San Altos Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2007
- a parent
The principal and staff are great, they really show they care and they are always willing to provide support. My son is fortunate to be able to be part of San Altos. Thanks San Altos for setting high expectations and and for expecting nothing less.

San Altos Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2007
- a parent
I think the staff is extraordinary. They truly care about the kids and want them to succeed. The Principal is always available to address any concerns. He is fabulous! The PTA is the best in the district. I watch the same committed people (PTA) volunteering many hours of their time bringing programs to our kids that they would otherwise not have. Kudos to them. I have had no problems getting flyers ahead of time about events or programs being offered. In addition, upcoming events are always posted on the sign in front of the school. Keep up the great work San Altos!

San Altos Elementary School 4

Posted March 13, 2007
- a parent
My son has attended San Altos since 1st grade and from the very beginning I was not impressed with the communication level of the staff or the PTA. All notices went out a day or two before the event was to take place. Very frustrating for a parent who has to give at least a week notice for time off. I do have to admit that four out of the five teachers my son had were awesome and he has learned a lot from them.


San Altos Elementary School 4

Posted July 13, 2005
- a parent
Classes provide lots of technology interaction, as well as opportunities for field trips to premiere San Diego locations. Parents are involved in PTSA and have art nights for students.

San Altos Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2004
- a parent
I think all the teachers are great. The principal is very connected to the children which makes for a very positive relationship.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Altos Elementary School
1750 Madera Street, Lemon Grove, CA  91945-2515
(619) 825-5621
Last modified San Altos Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
San Altos Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top