Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Shiloh Christian Academy

Private | K-12 | 33 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lemon Grove

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $229,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 24, 2012

This school was great for Kindergarten, I think they do a lot with the kids However, the problems that are caused by the lead Pastors opinions and his Rude mannerisms are not worth the money paid. The school is only staying afloat because the Sherwood family has taken all positions possible. When you have an issue with something it is not met with helpful understanding. They often reward the children with candy and slurpees, and dont ask the parents first. The extremely small school size should allow for any issues with kids to be seen, . I was met with them not knowing what happened most of the times and still my son was told he would be caught red handed lying one day and would not like the punishment he got. Not how I want my childs self confidence handled! They do not want the parents talking to one another or they are accused of "parking lot talk". The pastor often says "if you dont like what I have to say well then I'm sorry your wrong!". Mrs. Sherwood is the only teacher with credentials and often complains about being overwhelmed. I was treated extremely poorly when I chose to leave and was met with extreme rudeness when the pastor did not get the answer from me he wanted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

This school is amazing. my daughter is learning alot and the teachers are great. By reading the very immature comments made by other parents, I was worried. But now that my daughter has been attending this school for over 6 months, I realize those parents must think its more important to have a fancy building, or state of the art play ground, then a strong education with christan princples and a family enviorment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

This school is like a jar of dog farts; the funk will knock you down and make your children scream in agony. Buildings look like an abandoned abattoir, wiseass street kids sneak in and vandalize things, they rent out rooms to another school. When I walked past the place I heard "faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaart" and assumed it was the pastor's wife.


Posted August 24, 2011

My son has been going to La Mesa Christian school for just over 3 months now and I cant say enough about the staff. My son loves going to school everyday not to mention he has learned a lot already. The preschool / kindergarten teacher Mrs. Sherwood is a great teacher. I have and would recommend this school to my friends and family or anyone who wants the best for there child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

Terrible preschool. My child attended for 1 month. Do not send your child there unless you wish to pay for therapy later.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

This a wonderful school,with strict Christian values. The students are well behaved mannerly. This school has a great modest dress code. La Mesa Christian school is worlds away from the Zoo of the public schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

My child has gone here since 4th grade she is now in high school. The school is academically sound despite the limited staff. We never deal with fights, drama, malicious gossip,over sized classrooms, and many other issues that are common occurance in public school. It has it's flaws but your child will be taught in a Godly atmosphere by competent people who are committed christians.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

My daughter went to school here from pre-k to second grade. Then we moved out of state. This is an awesome school. Teaches principle of Christianity, chivalry (promotes boys growing up with old fashioned morals to treat a girl like a young lady politely) and modesty. I have two daughters and the oldest went to la mesa christian and was able to read and able write in cursive by age 5. The youngest went to public school and by age 5 could barely print her first name. The school is strict but in the right way. The teachers are old fashion and going to visit the school may make you feel like you went back in time 25 years but hey kids were better off 25 years ago as far as morals and values go. Check it out it is reasonably priced and overall a wonderful atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

this is an excellent school for parents to keep close observations on thier children. i belive that my child respected me more ever since he came to la mesa christian school. he was at first getting horrible grades and when in the school for about 2 weeks he drastically began to improve with the helpful guidence of his new teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 26%
Black 13% 6%
Hispanic 4% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Philip Sherwood
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2770 Glebe Road
Lemon Grove, CA 91945
Phone: (619) 463-5591

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT