Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Altamont Creek Elementary School 4

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
Truly an exceptional school with an exceptional staff. As school chosen for STEM in elementary, a California Distinguished School....what's not to like! My son has just blossomed here. The Principal and the staff are so committed to maintaining the high standards, I have absolutely no doubt this school will be compared to Pleasanton standards very soon.

Altamont Creek Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2013
- a parent
Great school my kids is in this school for two years and is moving to fourth grade from third. The teacher in third grade is great very focused on improving kids. Catches them when doing wrong makes them do right thing appreciates them doing good my kid is concerned if he did not complete his home. Gives feed back to parents to improve kids. Outstanding teacher guides parents and kids to do better all the time we are very lucky to have her in third grade. We heard normal review about fourth grade teachers hopefully teachers and kids do better. My daughter is also in same school in 2nd grade now her teacher in first grade is great. Kids in elementary school need to be handled carefully and the teachers are doing great. It will be great if teachers from all grades keep communicating with parents to update the status of kids in terms of current homework and any other it might be more load on them but it can help them to be in touch with parents to make kids do better. My son's third grade teacher did excellent job...


Altamont Creek Elementary School 5

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
Our son has had a fantastic experience in his first year at Altamont Creek. The teachers and staff have created a superb learning environment for all students, no matter what their background, and the numerous opportunities for parents to get involved foster a true sense of community. Outside of the daily class schedule, activities such as the Running Club and Movie Nights are a big plus as well. Very much looking forward to sending our younger children here in a few years as well.

Altamont Creek Elementary School 2

Posted January 20, 2013
- a parent
Bullying is high for people of different cultures. Some teachers work over drive to bully kids and their parents if they perform. If the kid slightly falls behind due to parents busy work schedules teachers try to put all kind of remarks on kids and label them as autistic or any other and try to record on kids. probably eager to get funds for disabilities. very impatient kind of teachers. If your kid performs you have problems if your kid does not perform you will have problems. Very average school... Teachers need to be retrained on how to teach. if more private schools come to this area that will be great.

Altamont Creek Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2010
- a parent
Parent involvement & their financial support is what makes the value of your school. What your kids learn is actually what comes from support they get at home. Do not place blame on the school district, administration or teachers. After putting in 100's of hours as a volunteer at this school, it is clear there is no perfect school, but I can continue to be involved & write letters to the superintendent to express concerns about class size, curriculum&the finances.People love to blame others,instead of themselves. I see a lot of parents sitting in their cars wasting time when they could be helping in class. Every minute I help is money earned for the school- it keeps the teachers in class & not doing clerical tasks. I saw a teacher last year, take a day off (paid) to hire a sub for the class just to do paperwork.


Altamont Creek Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 29, 2010
- a parent
Teachers teach to the test. If your child doesn't learn something ..that's your child's problem are the teacher's philosophy . They teach above the child's grade level and they must just do it not understand it. The resources are slim to none. There aren't music, art, nor gym classes. These poor kids are getting a poor education.

Altamont Creek Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
Both our kids went to this school, one has moved on to middle school and the other still goes here and we really love this school. From the staff, teachers, parent involvement, it's a great experience.

Altamont Creek Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
I very much agree. Teachers put alot of work load on kids and parents. They teach above grade level and kids are burn out with alot of work. Teachers choose and push behind some kids.


Altamont Creek Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
I do not like Altamont Creek Elementary School at Livermore. The teachers does know what they are doing. Kids are burn out with way difficult homework, but they learn little. I feel teachers are teaching above the grade level, and kids are confused. The teachers themselves don't know the answers to some homework questions and their class are not will structred. The teachers do not go over the homework or test and they expect alot from kids. Teachers underestimate kids who are from different culture, and they push them behind or load them with more work that burn them out. I do not like livermore schools over all, I heard same complains from other parents. Also third graders and over have more than one teacher. Each teacher gave different review about a student and one does not agree with another, the school has leadership problem.

Altamont Creek Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
Our school has great students, teachers and parents! We increased our API our students love to learn and the teachers love to teach!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Altamont Creek Elementary School
6500 Garaventa Ranch Road, Livermore, CA  94551
(925) 454-5575
Last modified Altamont Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Altamont Creek Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top