« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Livermore, CA

Contact this school

400 Wall Street
Livermore, CA 94550

School website
(925) 606-4800
(925) 606-4808
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Granada High School address.

Profile Completeness

INTERMEDIATE

Want to improve this school’s profile? You can!

All schools on GreatSchools begin with BASIC completeness, which includes important information like contact details and test scores. It’s up to the school community to take the next steps. As a parent or community member, you can share what you know with other families by writing a review or answering a few questions about what the school offers. As a school leader, you can upload photos, describe school programs, and more with an Official school profile.

The completeness meter moves to INTERMEDIATE, then ADVANCED, and finally HONOR ROLL as you complete the following: 10 or more reviews, at least 1 photo, and 9 program questions parents find helpful.

Want to improve this school's profile?
for Parents
for Schools
 
August 15, 2014
Granada is such a great school that includes a whole lot of school spirit and happines , its a far lot better then livermore high , granada has more education options and choices . granada is much safer while livermore has alot of bad influences in the types of kids there

- submitted by a parent
July 24, 2014
Granada is considered the best school in Livermore, but quite frankly, Livermore is a far better school. Most of the teachers have been awful at Granada and are only concerned about the money instead of students education. The administration is terrible and many students are far too immature compared to any other high school in the area. Highly recommend you send your kid to Livermore High School instead of Granada.

- submitted by a student
September 23, 2013
Recently my daughter graduated from this school. To be honest I dont feel that this school is very competitive against the fellow high schools in Alameda county. Look at Dublin High that is emerging from below everyone and is surging to be as competitive as DVH in San Ramon. We need a strong leader that will motivate staff and students to excel. Raising the bar and measuring it will get the whole community involved and bring about diversification. I hope the principle reads this and decides on a game change. I would like to see Granada High in the same bucket as San Ramon, Danville and Fremont High Schools. Livermore needs a Good School to boast about and Ive been waiting and hoping since the last 12 years of living here.

- submitted by a parent
June 10, 2012
Overall a very good high school. My daughter just graduated two days ago and I have been satisfied. The math department could be stronger and we've had some issues with the foreign language teachers. One thing that I love about it is the wide selection of elective courses. So many schools are eliminating these, but they still offer them. My daughter took marine biology and loved it. I have to admit, I'm not a fan of the current principal. She has mishandled two incidents with one of the teams my daughter was on. She over-reacts. Perhaps she will be better once she is secure in her job, as she is new. She should take a breath and learn to think before she reacts to issues. T

- submitted by a parent
June 08, 2012
My 2 teens enjoy this school and have made many friends there. A good selection of classes. Their English Honors class is outstanding, the PE teachers are very good and most of the teachers are engaged, alert and care about their students but there is one major challenge : MATH - oh dear - there are several students asleep in this class on a consistent basis - and the teacher does not have control. We have had to find an expensive tutor to compensate. As with any school, there exists an unfortunate element who are there to socialize, play sports and have little interest in learning causing a difficult and distracting experience for the rest. And 1 or 2 teachers need to check their political opinions at the door. Quality of the teachers pretty good - quality of some of the disrespectful sports students - pretty bad.

- submitted by a parent
December 06, 2011
While it may be adequate in most departments their mathematics department is severely lacking. Almost all the math teachers teach at too quick of a pace for my student and cause students to feel uncomfortable asking questions. My student also says there is too high of a focus on sports, causing her to feel singled out and lonely for not meeting high physical expectations. It pains me to see her come home so angry every day.

- submitted by a parent
September 09, 2011
The Administration is inexperienced, insecure and incompetent. The Principal is trying really hard to demonstrate that she is in control however the more she tries to maintain control, the more the staff, students and parents doubt her ability to lead. She comes across as though she is the authority on everything and she is quickly losing support of the staff. It would not surprise anyone if the parents don't mount a campaign with the Board to have her removed.

- submitted by a parent
June 13, 2011
My daughters have had strong academics with the honors and AP classes. Overall I think Granada has very good and caring teachers. They could use more school funding money but overall I think they do a great job with the money they do get.

- submitted by a parent
March 03, 2010
Granada has a unique schedule, allowing students to take a larger number of classes than a more traditional school. The administration is open to student and parent feedback. The students have great spirit.

- submitted by a parent
December 02, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
November 24, 2009
My kids and I have really enjoyed Granada. The staff really seem to care about helping students. The principal has a great vision of where he wants the school to go and he seems to have a lot of support. The elective options are really great and it seems like all types of students can fit in. My only complaint is that my son was on the waiting list for two months before he could transfer in. I know there are many students who want to transfer in and they should find a way to let them all in.

- submitted by a parent
February 18, 2009
I think Granada High is an alright school. It could be better and it could be worse. It is very safe, however they do not allow ambitious students to get ahead in courses, meaning if you are say taking geometry you are not allowed to take Alg II over the summer unless you really fight for it, and even then its still very difficult for them to approve credit for you.

- submitted by a student
January 03, 2008
I really like Granada High School. We have done allot of reasearch on schools and moved here to Livermore just because of Granada High. The teachers and staff respond to my calls and questions. The teachers update essembler weekly, which gives the parents and students information on grades. check out their website att www.granadhigh.com it is very impressive. There are a ton of clubs that your child can join and many many sports to choose from. Graada High pusses your child to succeed ,challenge yourself and look forward to college and a great employed future. Ask the kids, they are honest!

- submitted by a parent
September 27, 2007
Granada was a middle of the road high school. If you want to graduate it's great. The honors english program is really good (excepting freshman honors in 2000) But the res tof the programs are terrible. Mr Scheffler is a great teacher. If you take any math/ science class by him you will learn things. Mr. Hart is great for english. He is intelligent and brings his points across in a clear manner, mixed with enough bitter humor to drive his point home. Every other teacher is a vast disappointment. .

- submitted by a student
April 19, 2007
I attended granada for four years until I graduated in 2004. It was definatly a wonderful experience. Almost all of my teachers were really involved in helping me be the best that I could be. I graduated with high honors, and was at the top of my class. I think that those kids that wanted to make something out of their education there could, and they did. If a student did not want to be involved there is no way to make them. Many teachers from Granada still inspire me to this day, and I still keep in contact.

- submitted by a former student
August 24, 2006
My family loves Granada. The teachers my kids have had (for the most part) have been competent and caring. A few teachers have proven to be truly exceptional. The principal really cares about the school, as well.

- submitted by a parent
April 01, 2006
I have a freshman at Granada who does pretty good in class, but even she says she can't think of anything really good about this school except for the dance team. The schedules are inconvenient, the lunch facilities are inadequate for the size of the student body, plus there's too muchjunk food, and the traffic congestion getting to and from the school is really horrible. There is no public school bus so parents have to drop their kid off, or the kid has to ride the city bus. All this leads to unsafe conditions before and after school. I could add more but my daughter says thats enough. Anyway, be warned.

- submitted by a parent
January 11, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
November 26, 2005
Decent academic possibilities, available, but unenjoyable, music program, minimal art program, good selection of sports, but coachs often unenthused. Minimal parental involvement.

- submitted by a student
November 07, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 19, 2005
For the first time since grammer school I feel the school cares about my son's learning. The result is he is learning and the STAR scores reflect this too. I felt I was at war with Mendenhall Junior HS in trying to get simple accomadations for my son and that they had pigeon holed me as 'enabling' parent. Wrong! My son is getting better every month and I feel my opinions and concerns are heard and respected. If you and your child want an education Granada can provide it and will help you get it.

- submitted by a parent
April 16, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
July 02, 2004
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
January 21, 2004
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 28, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Granada High School
400 Wall Street, Livermore, CA  94550
(925) 606-4800
Last modified Granada High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Granada High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top