Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Livermore, CA
Students enrolled: 2,125

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Granada High School 2

Posted March 02, 2015
- a teacher
Granada has the potential to be a first-class school, but instead is third-rate because of poor administrators, not only at the school, but also at the District office. Instead of setting high expectations and then helping both staff and students to meet or exceed those high expectations, administrators want parents and students to be happy, which means for all students to have good grades, whether or not the grades have been earned. To this end, administration hires teachers on the basis of their popularity, not competence, and rewards teachers who inflate grades, while punishing teachers who give the honest grades that students actually earn. The principal is the chief culprit in this nefarious scheme; she plays favorites among staff, punishing those who won't play her game. She is incompetent and ethically-challenged. She lurches from one crisis to another, when with foresight and planning, she could have avoided the crises altogether. Granada has many teachers who are dedicated professionals and it has a student body which could rise to higher expectations, but Granada will never be a great school as long as it has the administrators it has currently.

Granada High School 5

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
Granada is such a great school that includes a whole lot of school spirit and happines , its a far lot better then livermore high , granada has more education options and choices . granada is much safer while livermore has alot of bad influences in the types of kids there

Granada High School 1

Posted July 24, 2014
- a student
Granada is considered the best school in Livermore, but quite frankly, Livermore is a far better school. Most of the teachers have been awful at Granada and are only concerned about the money instead of students education. The administration is terrible and many students are far too immature compared to any other high school in the area. Highly recommend you send your kid to Livermore High School instead of Granada.

Granada High School 3

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Recently my daughter graduated from this school. To be honest I dont feel that this school is very competitive against the fellow high schools in Alameda county. Look at Dublin High that is emerging from below everyone and is surging to be as competitive as DVH in San Ramon. We need a strong leader that will motivate staff and students to excel. Raising the bar and measuring it will get the whole community involved and bring about diversification. I hope the principle reads this and decides on a game change. I would like to see Granada High in the same bucket as San Ramon, Danville and Fremont High Schools. Livermore needs a Good School to boast about and Ive been waiting and hoping since the last 12 years of living here.

Granada High School 4

Posted June 10, 2012
- a parent
Overall a very good high school. My daughter just graduated two days ago and I have been satisfied. The math department could be stronger and we've had some issues with the foreign language teachers. One thing that I love about it is the wide selection of elective courses. So many schools are eliminating these, but they still offer them. My daughter took marine biology and loved it. I have to admit, I'm not a fan of the current principal. She has mishandled two incidents with one of the teams my daughter was on. She over-reacts. Perhaps she will be better once she is secure in her job, as she is new. She should take a breath and learn to think before she reacts to issues. T

Granada High School 4

Posted June 08, 2012
- a parent
My 2 teens enjoy this school and have made many friends there. A good selection of classes. Their English Honors class is outstanding, the PE teachers are very good and most of the teachers are engaged, alert and care about their students but there is one major challenge : MATH - oh dear - there are several students asleep in this class on a consistent basis - and the teacher does not have control. We have had to find an expensive tutor to compensate. As with any school, there exists an unfortunate element who are there to socialize, play sports and have little interest in learning causing a difficult and distracting experience for the rest. And 1 or 2 teachers need to check their political opinions at the door. Quality of the teachers pretty good - quality of some of the disrespectful sports students - pretty bad.

Granada High School 2

Posted December 06, 2011
- a parent
While it may be adequate in most departments their mathematics department is severely lacking. Almost all the math teachers teach at too quick of a pace for my student and cause students to feel uncomfortable asking questions. My student also says there is too high of a focus on sports, causing her to feel singled out and lonely for not meeting high physical expectations. It pains me to see her come home so angry every day.

Granada High School 1

Posted September 09, 2011
- a parent
The Administration is inexperienced, insecure and incompetent. The Principal is trying really hard to demonstrate that she is in control however the more she tries to maintain control, the more the staff, students and parents doubt her ability to lead. She comes across as though she is the authority on everything and she is quickly losing support of the staff. It would not surprise anyone if the parents don't mount a campaign with the Board to have her removed.

Granada High School 4

Posted June 13, 2011
- a parent
My daughters have had strong academics with the honors and AP classes. Overall I think Granada has very good and caring teachers. They could use more school funding money but overall I think they do a great job with the money they do get.

Granada High School 5

Posted March 03, 2010
- a parent
Granada has a unique schedule, allowing students to take a larger number of classes than a more traditional school. The administration is open to student and parent feedback. The students have great spirit.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Granada High School
400 Wall Street, Livermore, CA  94550
(925) 606-4800
Last modified Granada High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Granada High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top