Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 58 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Joe Michell K-8 School 5

Posted June 25, 2016
- a parent
I love this school! Within two weeks of transferring (we had moved from Sunnyvale) my child learned more in just two then he had in the five months he was at his previous school!!! The IB program is fantastic and the are lots of enrichment activities to take advantage of.

Joe Michell K-8 School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 25, 2016
- a parent
Ms Mathews is an AWESOME TEACHER. She is a true gem and the kids love her.


Joe Michell K-8 School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Patricia, in the front, is a hardworking woman and she remains cordial and friendly to everyone at the counter. I'm happy with all of the staff.

Joe Michell K-8 School 5

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
This school not only focuses very well on the obvious--learning, but they also want the children to be responsible citizens and positive contributors to the world. Multiculturalism and acceptance are taught throughout the year, not just for Martin Luther King's birthday. The principal, Dr. Lembo, is very active, engaging and forward-thinking, which is one reason the IB Program is going so well. I commend everyone involved in making Joe Michell the best kept secret while others continue to have outrageous waiting lists and overcrowding.

Joe Michell K-8 School 5

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
My daughter started in Joe Michell last year (K) when we moved to Livermore and I have nothing but praises to say about this school. She immediately made new friends and settled in nicely. The principal along with all the teachers and staff have worked hard to accomplish the IB program and there is no doubt in my mind that they will continue to work as hard to carry it out successfully. The two teachers that she's had so far have been brilliant teachers who have kept the parents involved in all the activities and at every stage of the school year. I feel that Joe Michell has great support from the district as they trust and believe in the principal's vision. And it is partly that vision and the level of the teachers engagement that makes this school so great. The PTO is also under new leadership this year and I know that within that there will be a new enrichment program as well as other activities and events happening which will be aimed at strengthening our community. There is a real sense of community within the school. I feel very excited as to how the school will develop within this new program in the coming years and no doubt it will be a phenomenal improvement to the children's quality of education and to the Joe Michell community at large. My daughter would be able to walk to Sunset but she goes to Joe Michell where she is getting an International Education.


Joe Michell K-8 School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
This is part of the IB 'skills' that all students have to work on throughout the year. Parents are asked to comment on how the students demonstrated a certain trait and the students discuss this at home and at the school as well.

Joe Michell K-8 School 5

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
Love this school.bgreat IB program, all grades learn Spanish, lots of different enrichment activities for kids. My son loves this school. Principal very friendly. Teachers are great

Joe Michell K-8 School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
I'm hoping my son will get his teacher again as she is now teaching a different grade level. We absolutely loved her and have meet some great other teachers


Joe Michell K-8 School 5

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
We moved from Smith to Michell this year and are 100% happy. I am also a teacher in the district and there are so many fabulous things JMS has to offer. The small size and close knit community were why we switched. My son has blossomed and is thriving and I enjoy how involved the teachers and staff (custodians, office staff, and principal) are. Like the Cheers theme goes "sometimes you want to go, where everybody knows your name..." Fantastic environment and teachers! As a mother of 4 I am so excited to have such a great school that's also our neighborhood school for all four to attend.

Joe Michell K-8 School 5

Posted March 24, 2015
- a parent
We were new to Joe Michell this school year. Our children had been attending a local private school, and we were a little nervous about the transition to public. We could not be happier. The teachers at Joe Michell are excellent, the community has been welcoming and we are very excited about the blossoming International Baccalaureate program. Even my youngest comes home talking about what a principled inquirer (two of the IB traits) he was that day. The principal, Dr. Lembo, has a truly unique vision for the school that has her students' best interests in mind. My children are happy socially and academically, and we're looking forward to growing with the school.

Nearby schools

Joe Michell K-8 School
1001 Elaine Avenue, Livermore, CA  94550-5414
(925) 606-4738
Last modified Joe Michell K-8 School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top