Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 100 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Emma C. Smith Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Oliver is a fantastic 3rd Grade teacher at Smith! She has a high regard for all of her students. She makes learning an inclusive, respectful and enjoyable experience. My son is so happy and learning so much. He has no idea that her clever teaching methods are always in the works!! Thanks Ms. Oliver!

Emma C. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and administration are dedicated to the success and well being of all students. Couldn't be happier with our elementary school experience.


Emma C. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
The teachers, principal and parent volunteers are all amazing at Smith. Nothing but good things to say!

Emma C. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
We love Smith school! My daughter start from 2nd grade at Smith and she is in 4th grade now and my son is in 1st grade. I really appreciate all the hard work from teachers and office and yard duties. Thanks Smith :)

Emma C. Smith Elementary School 2

Posted January 11, 2015
- a parent
I hear that the new science teacher for the 2nd thru 4th graders does not explain things and expects the kids to know things that she has not taught. children leave the class in tears. It is very sad as the other science teacher has primed the children to love science in 1st grade. I have never heard so many parents indicate that their child hates science or does not want to go to school because it is a science day. Shame on Smith for allowing this to continue after numerous complaints. This school has turned into quite the standard for mediocrity. I feel like just getting through the day is the goal of the school and developing the students to be high achievers is not their ultimate goal. I am very sad about this, and there is nothing I can do to help them change.


Emma C. Smith Elementary School 2

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
Why doesn't the principal interact with the children? We came from private school back east and the principal knew all the children. It was like a family.

Emma C. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
Great school! Only complaint I have and I have heard from other parents is that the principal is not very active with the kids. I have never seen her come out in the morning or after school to see the kids. No involvement.

Emma C. Smith Elementary School 4

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
I absolutely love this school! The teachers and staff are all VERY caring and compassionate towards the children. All the programs the school offers children are amazing. The only reason I did not give it a 5 star rating is because of the current principal. Getting her to follow through with a problem is like pulling teeth. She seems more concerned with all her meetings than getting to know the children. Like I said before, I love, love, love this school, and the only thing I would change would be the principal.


Emma C. Smith Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is having a terrific experience at Smith. She is learning a great deal and thoroughly enjoying herself.

Emma C. Smith Elementary School 4

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
Hard working and caring teachers and staff. New principal to the school is student centered and supports programs. The PTO continues to work hard at providing extra activities and strong support for programs. The new "goal-setting conferences" were interesting and somewhat useful. Still don't know if we'll miss participating in the Report Card Conferences. School needs more quality and interesting activities for advanced/GATE students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Emma C. Smith Elementary School
391 Ontario Drive, Livermore, CA  94550
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 100 reviews. (925) 606-4750
Last modified Emma C. Smith Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top