Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


57 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sunset Elementary School 2

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
Bullying is a HUGE problem at this school. They do not apply the consequences that are CLEARLY stated in their policies. Yes,the teachers ARE WONDERFUL, but if your child is being bullied, do not EXPECT them to do anything.My child is a straight A student and is in GATE. She belonged to the debate club,choir, volunteers at the public library ,does cheerleading, etc. Because of this she has missed school. Do NOT expect anything to be done by the principal, as you can see by other" reviews" , she will DO NOTHING. asked to be pn independent study, wonders why GOD doesn't love her, and other EXTREMELY serious things that I. won't repeat. The school's principal

Sunset Elementary School 3

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
My school is strong for kindergarten and 1st. Thereafter it is all worksheet learning. Now with open enrollment classes at Sunset are extreme and quality of education is lower. ESS is very good. In fact if it was not for ESS, my kids would not have had a winter or school program. Teachers pawn off reviewing homework to the parents therefore I am not sure how they know forward progress or areas kids need to improve.I have tried to keep an open mind, but I am looking at private school and/or would recommend the same.


Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2013
- a parent
The school site is well maintained. Principal is very caring and listens to concerns or feedback and takes action. She is awesome. Workshare programs don't work - teachers are not 100% checked in when they do workshare programs. Bad experience with this already. Otherwise, the FT teachers in first and second grade are great.

Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2011
- a parent
During our move to California, my husband and I did exhaustive research on schools and chose Sunset based, in part, by this site. We are very pleased to say that the community and site have it right! Sunset is a great school and our son is thriving in an environment that is nurturing and academically challenging. We made the absolute right choice.

Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2010
- a parent
Both of my boys attend this school and I've been very pleased with the teaching styles and flexibility in the classroom. My kindergartner arrived to school on the first day having a 3rd grade reading level, and has been given access to an advanced reading class on specific days of the week rather than bumping him up in grades and ignoring the social building block created by kindergarten. My 3rd grader has ADHD and the teachers have worked wonderfully with him to achieve 90+% scoring on his STAR testing. They were able to harness his intelligence by keeping him busy rather than being bored and fidgeting. It's very difficult to understand how to teach a child with ADHD, and the teachers at Sunset are amazing.


Sunset Elementary School 4

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
Sunset Elementary School has a very strong PTO which makes the school very successful. The principal is not visible nor an active participant in the Sunset community. Due to the budget cuts and increased class size, some teachers are struggling to keep the quality of education.

Sunset Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
I love Sunset Elementary school because the teachers are very good and most of the parents are very involved in the School and want the school to be the best.

Sunset Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are great and really care about the kids having a well-reounded education.


Sunset Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a community member
The teachers and administration have very positive attitudes to share and influence the students .

Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2009
- a community member
The Teachers give all students the ability to learn and the tools to accomplish their learning process in a clean, safe and caring atmosphere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunset Elementary School
1671 Frankfurt Way, Livermore, CA  94550
(925) 606-5230
Last modified Sunset Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sunset Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. Top