Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 64 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sunset Elementary School 2

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
I don't feel a real cohesive bond here between the principal and the teachers doing their best to educate the kids. From my experience, they seem to lack the proper training to teach their assigned grade and the communication between my son's 5th grade teacher and the parents is atrocious. I get the feeling that she's just going through the motions. I'm not happy!

Sunset Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
My son's teacher is a poor communicator. I was told she taught 2nd grade last year and is now teaching 5th. I feel this is too big a jump for her to be effective in the classroom.


Sunset Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
The homework seems a bit sporadic and I'm unclear sometimes on what is being graded and what's not.

Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
We have been extremely happy with Sunset. As a parent with children placed all around the district, I can say with confidence that Sunset is the best elementary school in the district.

Sunset Elementary School 2

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
Bullying is a HUGE problem at this school. They do not apply the consequences that are CLEARLY stated in their policies. Yes,the teachers ARE WONDERFUL, but if your child is being bullied, do not EXPECT them to do anything.My child is a straight A student and is in GATE. She belonged to the debate club,choir, volunteers at the public library ,does cheerleading, etc. Because of this she has missed school. Do NOT expect anything to be done by the principal, as you can see by other" reviews" , she will DO NOTHING. asked to be pn independent study, wonders why GOD doesn't love her, and other EXTREMELY serious things that I. won't repeat. The school's principal


Sunset Elementary School 3

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
My school is strong for kindergarten and 1st. Thereafter it is all worksheet learning. Now with open enrollment classes at Sunset are extreme and quality of education is lower. ESS is very good. In fact if it was not for ESS, my kids would not have had a winter or school program. Teachers pawn off reviewing homework to the parents therefore I am not sure how they know forward progress or areas kids need to improve.I have tried to keep an open mind, but I am looking at private school and/or would recommend the same.

Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2013
- a parent
The school site is well maintained. Principal is very caring and listens to concerns or feedback and takes action. She is awesome. Workshare programs don't work - teachers are not 100% checked in when they do workshare programs. Bad experience with this already. Otherwise, the FT teachers in first and second grade are great.

Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2010
- a parent
Both of my boys attend this school and I've been very pleased with the teaching styles and flexibility in the classroom. My kindergartner arrived to school on the first day having a 3rd grade reading level, and has been given access to an advanced reading class on specific days of the week rather than bumping him up in grades and ignoring the social building block created by kindergarten. My 3rd grader has ADHD and the teachers have worked wonderfully with him to achieve 90+% scoring on his STAR testing. They were able to harness his intelligence by keeping him busy rather than being bored and fidgeting. It's very difficult to understand how to teach a child with ADHD, and the teachers at Sunset are amazing.


Sunset Elementary School 4

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
Sunset Elementary School has a very strong PTO which makes the school very successful. The principal is not visible nor an active participant in the Sunset community. Due to the budget cuts and increased class size, some teachers are struggling to keep the quality of education.

Sunset Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
I love Sunset Elementary school because the teachers are very good and most of the parents are very involved in the School and want the school to be the best.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunset Elementary School
1671 Frankfurt Way, Livermore, CA  94550-6146
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. (925) 606-5230
Last modified Sunset Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top