« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public charter
Livermore, CA
Students enrolled: 433
Before care: No
After care: No
 

Contact this school

2451 Portola Ave.
Livermore, CA 94551

School website
(925) 456-9000
(925) 456-9009
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School address.
April 29, 2015
We are so happy with this school. We have a one on one relationship with her teachers and her principal in such a small school setting. Unbelievable for a high school. The administration, the principal and the teachers are extremely kind to us and our daughter. She has thrived in this school and has participated in sports, student government , clubs apart from top notch academics. To say the principal and the teachers are nice is an understatement. Everything they have done for my daughter to help her cope with academics has been done in a purely unselfish way. Five stars to this school. We will miss interacting with the wonderful and kind folks at this school. My daughter had about 11-12 admissions to her school and she made it into some of the most highly regarded colleges in the country. She also had periods where she constantly fell very sick and had attendance issues and other health challenges and the staff, principal and administration just supported her in every possible way to keep her on track.

- submitted by a parent
March 09, 2015
LVCP is a great school that focuses upon the college preparatory needs of students but to be honest, this school provides excellent educational programs for any student, college-bound or not, who wants to succeed. From core education courses to the school's Senior Institute (where students learn about how to prepare themselves for college life and beyond), the school has helped both of my students to help themselves. My students have had every opportunity to perform in sports, drama, orchestra, and science activities. I recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a college preparatory-focused school!

- submitted by a parent
February 01, 2015
Smaller student body, so teachers are better able to know and teach the students. Spirited staff that interacts with and encourages students to reach their potential through school activities and project based assignments.

- submitted by a parent
February 01, 2015
LVCP does a GREAT job in preparing my students for college. They offer not only AP classes; but many College classes as well. When it comes time to apply for colleges, the teachers are more than willing to do what they can to make the student SHINE!

- submitted by a parent
February 01, 2015
LVCP is a great school. The student/teacher is one that you cannot find anywhere else. We decided to have our child come to LVCP instead of going to her home school in San Ramon because of the different learning style and approach this school offers. San Ramon is known for its schools and choosing to opt out and come out to LVCP speaks volume.

- submitted by a parent
January 19, 2015
Welcome to the greatest little school in the Tri-Valley! At LVCP, your student will not just be a number, and they surely will not slip through the cracks. Our teachers and staff take pride in giving all students exactly what they need to ensure success. Our goal from their first day to their last is to drive, train, and motivate your student(s) to highly achieve in their post high school education. Through a project-based curriculum, students at LVCP are trained to collaborate, problem solve, and communicate effectively. The foundation of LVCP is an exemplary academic program, and an inclusive campus culture that values diversity and makes all students feel safe.

- submitted by a teacher
January 19, 2015
LVCP has been very supportive of my student. In addition to his regular LVCP class load, they have made sure he has access to the advanced classes he needs at Las Positas College. LVCP has a great relationship with Las Positas College and that is great news for the students.

- submitted by a parent
August 27, 2014
Reasons why we chose this school: 1. Block scheduling 2. Smaller school environment. 3. Each student is provided a laptop for school-year use, which stores their school files, notes, and e-copies of their school books, etc. 4. School is run by a CMO non-profit public benefit corporation with a Board of Directors that runs several charter schools. The school is not subject to conform to the District's way of traditional way instruction. They must still meet the California performance standards and accountability requirements like the other public schools, but they can provide other styles of learning and methodology. 5. Uses Project-based learning methodology (PBL) 6. All the teachers are fully credentialed, not part of a union, no seniority levels, hired 'at-will', and yearly teaching evaluation. 7. Has a variety of electives in the areas of music, arts, technology, and world languages with advanced equipment 8. Good selection of interscholastic athletic programs 9. Academic courses geared towards UC/CSU admission, ability for students to take college credits with college professors teaching several subjects a week within the school. And AP courses also offered.

- submitted by a parent
October 24, 2013
My son has been attending LVCP for three years. The staff is extraordinary. They are willing to listen to both the parent and the student. My younger son will be attending as well. Great college prep school.

- submitted by a parent
October 22, 2013
Livermore Valley Prep. School is WONDERFUL! It fully prepares the students for higher education. Challenges them on every level. Courses offered are excellent and various allowing the students to begin working towards their career choices. I will be enrolling my daughter next year!

- submitted by a parent
August 11, 2013
My son chose LVCP because of the college-level courses offered that were taught by college professors. Of course, this website's rating does not reflect that because Star Tests and AP tests do not apply to college courses. His SAT score of 2360 tells me he chose well, and that LVCP prepared him for life beyond high school.

- submitted by a parent
August 02, 2013
Charter school. Small Classes. The only college preparatory high school in Livermore. Project based learning.

- submitted by a parent
May 02, 2013
The best school I have ever been to. This school made me an honor roll student and I am at a loss for words, my English teacher Ms Spencer is the best English teacher I have ever had. Besides teaching me English she has taught me leadership skills and pushed me to be the best student I could possibly be. I can't promote this school enough. Yours truly, Makena Harmon

- submitted by a student
January 15, 2013
The amount of stress acquired from this school is what bothers me. We have projects all the time, in many different classes, and yet we still get a sustainable amount of homework. Tests come frequently, often accompanied with projects due in other classes on the same day. After we finish a project, there's no "break" in between the start-off of the next one. We simply roll out into another. Homework continues to pile atop studying, project elements, and extracurricular activities, stealing countless hours of spare time. I understand school is important, but so is social contact with friends. Everyone needs some free time, even if it's only a couple of hours. We're not machines, we're humans. This school seems to be testing how far we can be "pushed" before we "break." Occasionally, I have to pick and choose which project element I have to do and which one I won't be able to do, because there's simply too much work to be done. Then you get the response from the teachers, "You're not showing proper responsibility." That really ticks me off. You put us through all these tests, quizzes, presentations, projects, and homework, and the response essentially is: I don't care, do it.

- submitted by a student
November 14, 2012
Mine and my (freshman) daughter's experience of LVCP has been exemplary. Amid the usual pressures of high school, coupled with some unforeseen growing pains, the LVCP administration and faculty have steadfastly focused on the education of each student as a whole person, keenly committed to the welfare of all students. We have experienced this in just about every interaction with LVCP. Information is clearly communicated to families in a timely manner. School work ties out to meaningful application for use later in life. Teachers are grateful for and encourage parent interaction. My daughter is a cheerleader. She loves cheer, and because of cheer she is learning to balance priorities. LVCP Athletic Director & sports programs are growing at a healthy pace. All student athletes know their first priority is their education. The school's expectation is for student athletes to maintain grades of B- or better in all classes. While this and other websites will enumerate the minutiae of "how" and "what" is taught, I'll contribute this observation: common sense is demonstrated in literally everything at LVCP. Integrity and "big-picture" are typically modeled as well.

- submitted by a parent
May 09, 2012
LVCP is a great school. The entire staff is focused on guiding students to a great educational path. The Principal - Lauren Kelly -, the staff and the teachers are friendly, communicative and willing to work with students and are very prompt addressing any questions parents may have. There is zero tolerance for bullying and parents have to ability to be on top of their young adults education thanks to the School loop system that updates grades and homework on a daily basis. A paperless school leaves behind the heavy loads of books to be carried around campus. Constant email communication between LVCP, students and parents brings LVCP to the top of the list of Charter Schools because it promotes parent involvement, which is what some students need to be able to smoothly get to the finish line. LVCP IS DEFINITELY A 5 START CHARTER SCHOOL.

- submitted by a parent
May 09, 2012
LVCP is a school that I know my children can grow in and learn and be challenged daily. The teachers are first rate and the "outside the box" thinking makes it a fun place to learn. I love the fact that my children are exposed to real life requirements for their college future at such a young age, too. We wouldn't go anywhere else in Livermore! A 5 star charter school education!

- submitted by a parent
May 07, 2012
LVCP is a wonderful school! My sons have been with the Charter system in Livermore since inception. It was only natural to continue with the system into High School. The school provides a caring community of enthusiastic teachers, administration and staff. Each student is recognized for their abilities. LVCP encourages high academic standards while proving plenty of support to achieve them. They offer a well rounded High School experience with sports, dances, community service and a large variety of clubs.

- submitted by a parent
May 07, 2012
My daughter is a Freshman this year at LVCP. She is excelling with the help of the wonderful teachers here. The staff goes above and beyond for each student in part because they have small class sized and a small student body. She enjoys the project based learning as it is more hands on. I could't ask for a better environment to learn in!

- submitted by a parent
May 07, 2012
My son is in freshman, I am pleased with school education curriculum and balanced approach to sports. I am happy with the school extra science and math activities and the events they take part in it. School frequently takes part in Robotic, science, math, music and art competitions. Teachers are more connected to students and are helping them to choose right subjects. The right combination of parent, student, teachers and PTO are ensuring there is encouraging environment for students. Thanks Kak

- submitted by a parent
May 07, 2012
LVCP is more than a school, it is a close knit family where the teachers go above and beyond the normal teaching. They are always just an email away. It seems like they respond and help immediately. The students participate in great school activities that take them out into the real world. The project based learning has helped my student become a better student, and reach her academic goals. They have sports, and encourage everyone to become involved. The principal is really amazing. She is a great leader and someone you want to guide your student while in High School. I finally feel like my student is getting an education and preparing her for life after High School.

- submitted by a parent
May 06, 2012
LVCP is a great fit for our son. His teachers are excellent and the athletic program has helped him excel. We are looking forward to this great school expanding and growing in the Livermore community.

- submitted by a parent
April 28, 2012
My daughter is attending as a Freshman 2012. Her teachers are excellent, especially her math, English, history and biology and go beyond teaching facts for the star test. She gets to complete in school sports like volleyball and soccer because the school allows all who want to play to play. The facilities are below par for now, but hopefully that will improve soon. The school is small, so doesn't offer all teams such as golf, swimming and tennis yet. But the smallness is also a benefit as the school is very welcoming. But it's the teachers that make LVCP really shine.

- submitted by a parent
January 29, 2012
This is a wonderful school. My son and I are very happy with the school and teachers. All teachers have qualifications beyond what is necessary and they excel in their fields. If you contact the teachers by email, you are guarantied to get replies from most teachers within hours - even during night time. This shows their dedication to serve their students. Above all principal Ms. Lauren Kelly does a very good job of managing the school.

- submitted by a parent
August 30, 2011
I am very pleased with my son's experience at LVCP. He is currently a 10th grader, and has a college level US History class taught by a college professor in his high school campus! His cross country coach is a JO coach who is just absolutely amazing. His honors Physics teacher was a scientist at a national laboratory. All of these plus small class sizes and so much more.

- submitted by a parent

Profile Completeness

ADVANCED

Want to improve this school’s profile? You can!

All schools on GreatSchools begin with BASIC completeness, which includes important information like contact details and test scores. It’s up to the school community to take the next steps. As a parent or community member, you can share what you know with other families by writing a review or answering a few questions about what the school offers. As a school leader, you can upload photos, describe school programs, and more with an Official school profile.

The completeness meter moves to INTERMEDIATE, then ADVANCED, and finally HONOR ROLL as you complete the following: 10 or more reviews, at least 1 photo, and 9 program questions parents find helpful.

Want to improve this school's profile?
for Parents
for Schools
 
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery


About this school

Welcome to the greatest “little” school in the Tri-Valley! At LVCP, your student will not just be a number, and they surely will not slip through the cracks. Our teachers and staff take pride in giving all students exactly what they need to ensure success. Our goal from their first day to their last is to drive, train, and motivate your student(s) to highly achieve in their post high school education.

10 / 10

Rolling deadline

Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: April 29, 2015

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School
2451 Portola Ave., Livermore, CA  94551
(925) 456-9000
Last modified Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top