Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Thank you to Mr Dillie the principal! Your forward thinking, enthusiasm and caring for each student and your awesome staff has created a mind-blowing progressive learning environment for students. My son is a freshman at LVCP and he loves it. The testimony to your hard work was reflected in Newsweek rating LVCP as 366 out of 30,000 US public high schools. I look forward to the move to the new campus and the latest lab technology available to the students so they are well-prepared for college and their career.

Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
LVCP provides challenging creative team projects for the students. In addition they are encouraging to enter scholastic contests.Recently an LVCP math team won an international math competition that included college students! In addition, they have opportunities to take college credit courses which saves money for parents to shorten the student time in impacted colleges.


Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Yes, the principal specifically stated that the community perspective of LVCP is that its only for super smart kids. However he encourages all kids to attend and they will get the extra attention needed to succeed.

Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Yes because from the principal to each teacher they practice compassion, empathy and caring so that the students can imbibe this as well.

Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Yes, they have a zero tolerance for bullying. If students are struggling in school, LVCP provides additional staff to help the students improve


Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
My son is a freshman at LVCP. The principal Mr Dillie is so forward thinking, creative and caring and the kids and his staff love him. My son loves all of his teachers and he feels challenged just the right amount. The innovative ways the school teaches project based education really prepares kids for real life. I look forward to their move to the new campus which will have native plant landscaping, outdoor break areas for the students, and opportunities for environmental education, state of the art laboratories, robotics, and computer labs. Newsweek rated LVCP as 366 out of 30,000 public schools in the US even though LVCP is only 5 years old. This is because 95% of the students went to colleges and they had no drop outs. Interesting that Newsweek rated the high school that Mr Dillie headed in Texas as 367! Both schools are testimony to the leadership and learning environment that he provides!

Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a student
Discipline seems very reasonable at this school and the staff overall is very understanding to students who experience difficulties.

Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School 5

Posted June 24, 2015
- a student
Coming to LVCP has greatly helped me get back on track with my high school career, despite the fact that I was already a senior. The teachers were more than supportive of helping us whenever we experienced troubles in class. They always made sure that we were on track and was not behind on anything. Each teacher also has an hour of "office hours" after school where students can come and ask for help. The counseling/administration were also very understanding of the students.


Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School 5

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
We are so happy with this school. We have a one on one relationship with her teachers and her principal in such a small school setting. Unbelievable for a high school. The administration, the principal and the teachers are extremely kind to us and our daughter. She has thrived in this school and has participated in sports, student government , clubs apart from top notch academics. To say the principal and the teachers are nice is an understatement. Everything they have done for my daughter to help her cope with academics has been done in a purely unselfish way. Five stars to this school. We will miss interacting with the wonderful and kind folks at this school. My daughter had about 11-12 admissions to her school and she made it into some of the most highly regarded colleges in the country. She also had periods where she constantly fell very sick and had attendance issues and other health challenges and the staff, principal and administration just supported her in every possible way to keep her on track.

Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School 4

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
LVCP is a great school that focuses upon the college preparatory needs of students but to be honest, this school provides excellent educational programs for any student, college-bound or not, who wants to succeed. From core education courses to the school's Senior Institute (where students learn about how to prepare themselves for college life and beyond), the school has helped both of my students to help themselves. My students have had every opportunity to perform in sports, drama, orchestra, and science activities. I recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a college preparatory-focused school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School
2451 Portola Ave., Livermore, CA  94551
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (925) 456-9000
Last modified Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top