Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public charter
Livermore, CA
Students enrolled: 433
Before care: No
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a student
Discipline seems very reasonable at this school and the staff overall is very understanding to students who experience difficulties.

Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School 5

Posted June 24, 2015
- a student
Coming to LVCP has greatly helped me get back on track with my high school career, despite the fact that I was already a senior. The teachers were more than supportive of helping us whenever we experienced troubles in class. They always made sure that we were on track and was not behind on anything. Each teacher also has an hour of "office hours" after school where students can come and ask for help. The counseling/administration were also very understanding of the students.


Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School 5

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
We are so happy with this school. We have a one on one relationship with her teachers and her principal in such a small school setting. Unbelievable for a high school. The administration, the principal and the teachers are extremely kind to us and our daughter. She has thrived in this school and has participated in sports, student government , clubs apart from top notch academics. To say the principal and the teachers are nice is an understatement. Everything they have done for my daughter to help her cope with academics has been done in a purely unselfish way. Five stars to this school. We will miss interacting with the wonderful and kind folks at this school. My daughter had about 11-12 admissions to her school and she made it into some of the most highly regarded colleges in the country. She also had periods where she constantly fell very sick and had attendance issues and other health challenges and the staff, principal and administration just supported her in every possible way to keep her on track.
1 person found this helpful

Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School 4

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
LVCP is a great school that focuses upon the college preparatory needs of students but to be honest, this school provides excellent educational programs for any student, college-bound or not, who wants to succeed. From core education courses to the school's Senior Institute (where students learn about how to prepare themselves for college life and beyond), the school has helped both of my students to help themselves. My students have had every opportunity to perform in sports, drama, orchestra, and science activities. I recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a college preparatory-focused school!
2 people found this helpful

Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School 5

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
Smaller student body, so teachers are better able to know and teach the students. Spirited staff that interacts with and encourages students to reach their potential through school activities and project based assignments.
2 people found this helpful


Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School 5

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
LVCP does a GREAT job in preparing my students for college. They offer not only AP classes; but many College classes as well. When it comes time to apply for colleges, the teachers are more than willing to do what they can to make the student SHINE!
1 person found this helpful

Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School 5

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
LVCP is a great school. The student/teacher is one that you cannot find anywhere else. We decided to have our child come to LVCP instead of going to her home school in San Ramon because of the different learning style and approach this school offers. San Ramon is known for its schools and choosing to opt out and come out to LVCP speaks volume.
1 person found this helpful

Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School 5

Posted January 19, 2015
- a teacher
Welcome to the greatest little school in the Tri-Valley! At LVCP, your student will not just be a number, and they surely will not slip through the cracks. Our teachers and staff take pride in giving all students exactly what they need to ensure success. Our goal from their first day to their last is to drive, train, and motivate your student(s) to highly achieve in their post high school education. Through a project-based curriculum, students at LVCP are trained to collaborate, problem solve, and communicate effectively. The foundation of LVCP is an exemplary academic program, and an inclusive campus culture that values diversity and makes all students feel safe.
1 person found this helpful


Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School 5

Posted January 19, 2015
- a parent
LVCP has been very supportive of my student. In addition to his regular LVCP class load, they have made sure he has access to the advanced classes he needs at Las Positas College. LVCP has a great relationship with Las Positas College and that is great news for the students.
1 person found this helpful

Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School 5

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
Reasons why we chose this school: 1. Block scheduling 2. Smaller school environment. 3. Each student is provided a laptop for school-year use, which stores their school files, notes, and e-copies of their school books, etc. 4. School is run by a CMO non-profit public benefit corporation with a Board of Directors that runs several charter schools. The school is not subject to conform to the District's way of traditional way instruction. They must still meet the California performance standards and accountability requirements like the other public schools, but they can provide other styles of learning and methodology. 5. Uses Project-based learning methodology (PBL) 6. All the teachers are fully credentialed, not part of a union, no seniority levels, hired 'at-will', and yearly teaching evaluation. 7. Has a variety of electives in the areas of music, arts, technology, and world languages with advanced equipment 8. Good selection of interscholastic athletic programs 9. Academic courses geared towards UC/CSU admission, ability for students to take college credits with college professors teaching several subjects a week within the school. And AP courses also offered.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School
2451 Portola Ave., Livermore, CA  94551
(925) 456-9000
Last modified Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Livermore Valley Charter Preparatory High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top