Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Savior Lutheran School

Private | K-8 | 152 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Livermore

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $430,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,595.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

64 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2009

I love the teachers and the kids. The changes in the middle school have been great. Our kids are well prepared for high school and have a great foundation for life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Our Savior Lutheran School is great because we are willing to grow and change and support each other through the process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

We love Our Savior school. It offers great academics, smaller class sizes, and wonderful teachers all in a Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

Our Savior provides an excellent education in a loving, respectful and morally strong environment. It is the best investment I have made for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

My children are receiving a great education in a loving Christian environment. Our Savior is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

Both my children have attended OSLS and loved it. We believe OSLS has an amazing mix of the right things that help children learn, grow to be good citizens and strong compassionate people. We think Our Savior is a great place to send children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

Our Savior Lutheran provides our children with a high quality education is a Christ-centered, loving environment. The extracurricular programs (Music, Spanish, Computers, and PE) are fabulous, too. My boys have wonderful friends and the best teachers. They love to go to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

We are very happy with OSLS and with everything it has to offer. The Christian environment, quality education, small class sizes. Our kids are thriving and we are thankful to be here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Great academics and caring teachers! Low student to teacher ratio and emphasis on technology. All three of our children attended OSLS from 3 yr. old preschool through 8th grade. They were very well prepared for high school, especially in making wise social choices. What a relief to know that there is school of OSLS caliber in the East Bay area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

I love Our Savior Lutheran School because the teachers and staff offer personal attentive care to each student. There is truly a family atmosphere among the students as well as the parents. My children appreciated the ability to have daily prayer and regular chapel time.


Posted October 15, 2009

It is a Christian environment with smaller class sizes and with the academic excellence that comes with being an fully Accredited school. Children and parents get that extra and personal attention not provided at many other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

The school is wonderful, all the staff really teach the children with care and understanding. My children have attended the school for 9 years. I have never had my children complainabout going to school they loved going . They liked all their teachers. My children also are very well rounded and have a great outlook on school and life . I fill that between the school & home both have played an important part in the devlopment of good character. It was the best investment I have ever made in a possitive way for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

All four of my children attended Our Savior. They received an excellent education which carried them through high school and college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

My kids excelled at this school! They have since moved on to high school, but they were well prepared when they moved on. As a parent, I very much appreciated how much the faculty cared for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Our Savior has upgraded its technology offering to be state of the art. They are integrating the computers into their pedagogy. It will be awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

From my personal observations and work with the administration, Our Savior Lutheran School is a 'gem' in the Livermore Valley Community. With lots of space for creativity, the school is an open and warm enviornment that lives into its mission. What I noticed about the students , teachers and famlies is a real since of purpose ad commitment to learnig. If you are looking for an academically challeging and spirituallly vigerous school for family, OSLS would be a 'thankful choice.'


Posted October 14, 2009

I love the fact that the students are prayed for, cared for, challenged academically, and strengthened in their faith in Jesus.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 14, 2009

Our Savior has a strong core curriculum as well as all the extras! Music, art, P.E., foreign language, religion and computers are part of their weekly schedule. There are also after school sports and music programs!


Posted October 14, 2009

OSLS is a school where students, families and staff really have the ability to connect and form real, lasting relationships based on Christ and genuine love/respect for each other!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

great teachers, terrific academics, high-expectations, character-building, faith-building, all in a nurturing environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 26%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Black 3% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Larry Tietmeyer, Principal
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • WASC & NLSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1385 South Livermore Avenue
Livermore, CA 94550
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 447-1246

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT