Advertisement
Advertisement

Our Savior Lutheran School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Livermore

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $430,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,595.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

64 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2009

The Teachers are the best, they care for each and every kid as if they were their own. They teach the kids several levels above their actual age/grade preparing them for their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

When I first became involved with OSLS it was a great school. The staff were all on the same plan and the teachers followed the curriculum. As my child progressed through the years the curriculum got lost. Some teachers decided that Shurley English wasn't important and only taught it 2 days a week. Fourth grade was the worst. Neither teacher taught any English. They did love to give homework. As a fourth grader my child had 3 or more hours of homework a night. There was a lot of singling out by the staff at OSLS which in my opinion is unacceptable at a Christ centered school. I pulled my child after 6th grade because I did not have confidence in the 7th and 8th grade teachers. My child went from a low GPA to being an honor student in the new
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

Awesome I love my school I am a student there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2009

Our Savior Lutheran has a wonderful school program with childrens education & moral judgement being most importanta. Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

We love OSLS. Our children, now entering 6th and 4th grades have thrived there. They have been attending since they were 3 years old. I challenge anyone to find a perfect school, public or private. OSLS has had it's changes but certainly, so has every school in the country. OSLS is our home and we are so proud of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

We will be leaving Our Savior for next year and going to a public school. The current 4th grade is full of 'cliques' and if you aren't 'in' then forget it (parents & kids). The Christian values that are taught are not carried out in the social aspects of the school (after school care, recess, etc.) I would not recommend this school to anyone. We have hoped for improvements in academics and curriculum but haven't seen any in 4 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

I love this school. My two children completed their middle-school years here with great academic success. They were both well-prepared for the transition to honors/AP level courses at Granada HS and excelled there because they had been challenged at OSLS. When we arrived at the school, my son, a seventh-grader, had progressed beyond the school's curriculum in math. His teacher was very willing to work with us to put him on a self-study math program that allowed him to take Algebra II in 8th grade. This school is a wonderful Christ-centered environment that I know greatly contributed to my children's academic success as well as their Spiritual faithfulness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

I have three children currently attending OSLS, one in 1st grade, one in 3rd grade, and one in 7th. We have been very happy with the school. The teachers are extremely caring, and the children are definitely given a good grounding in the Christian faith, and a sense of being individually nurtured. The school has a wholesome atmosphere; I haven't heard any foul language during the whole time my children have been there, and I like the dress code (uniforms). The weekly chapel is great with lots of singing and a message geared toward the kids. If you want a Christ-centered school, this school really does strive to instill Christian values. The academics are excellent as well. They are currently starting accelerated reading and math programs that are computer-based in addition to the regular curriculum, so that children have the opportunity to progress faster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

My son started last year 07-08 and loves this school he actually wants to go to school now it used to be a fight every morning he is thriving we'll see how this year goes compared to other schools in Livermore this is a great school. I also have a friend who moved her three kids and they love it too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

Unfortunately, we had to withdraw our children from this school recently. The high teacher and student turnover rate is a problem. We did not feel our children were academically challenged. The school is religiously focused but far less academically focused.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2008

This is our 2nd year at OSLM and we are extremely pleased with the school and staff. Yes, they have gone through some staff turnover recently. However, I feel the overall changes have been positive and are sometimes necessary. Our children are thriving here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2007

My experience at OSLS has been mainly negative. I do not feel my son was challenged at all and we experienced a high turnover of staff. The school is on a downward spiral, in my opinion. It's unfortunate after many years of attending. Particularly, we experienced a decline in the middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

School year 07/08 is off to a rocky start for middle school. Another year of tutoring. We will be withdrawing from the school-I really trusted they would fix their problems after last year. Beware anyone considering enrolling in this school. They were an outstanding school for years, but have seriously lost their way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2007

I feel Our Saviors is going through a high teacher turnover rate and that is disturbing as a parent. I think that the teachers in grades K-5 are doing a great job but that the 6-8 could use some improvement. For the money you spend, you would expect excellence and teachers just aren't providing that..Hopefully they will work on the turn over rate and get the school back on track, as it is steadily going down hill. The principal of the school is not very easy to deal with and is somewhat evasive and does not always address the issues at hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

I'm a parent at OSLS whose children have been attending for 6 years. This year OSLS added Spanish instruction for all grades, and is planning to add extracurriculars like Knowledge Bowl, spelling bees, Jr. High student leadership etc. next year. The teachers seem to really care about the individual children and their specific academic needs, and I feel my children are treated like family. So far we've all been very happy with the nurturing environment and the high quality Christian education (good test scores). The Jr High in particular is far superior to other Livermore Jr Highs. (Bad language and poor behavior are not tolerated.) A nice school in general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

The Junior High at Our Savior seems better than Livermore's public Junior Highs--Spanish, computers, and art are part of the core curriculum for all, and the test scores are higher. There are only 50 students per grade level, so the Junior High is also more nurturing for the individual student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

We've been at the school for four years and have seen a steady decline in the quality of teachers and academics-there has been a lot of teacher turnover. One of the previous reviews says that many students receive outside tutoring. I find that unacceptable when you are paying private school tuition. They lack school clubs and student leadership activities. The quality of the before and after school care is horrible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

It is a good school in comparison to other Livermore schools but there is definitely room for improvement. It would be nice to see additional teacher development, especially in the lower grades, in helping children excel at reading and math. The test scores are confusing since the parents generally are highly motivated and many children are receiving outside tutoring. Overall parental involvement is what helps to make this a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2006

i think the school is ok exept the after school program it is bad
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2006

We have loved this school! My daughter has been here for one year so far and it has been fabulous! She loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 86%
Hispanic 10%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Larry Tietmeyer, Principal
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • WASC & NLSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1385 South Livermore Avenue
Livermore, CA 94550
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 447-1246

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT