Advertisement
Advertisement

Our Savior Lutheran School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Livermore

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $430,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,595.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

64 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2014

Hi, Folks. My children look forward to school each day and they adore their teachers. As a mom, I appreciate the longer school days and the smaller class sizes. I also feel that the academic content of the teaching curriculum is far above what we received in the public school system. God is welcome in the classroom and my children are blessed and thriving. I highly recommend Our Savior Lutheran School for the nurturing of your child's academic progress and spiritual growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

The teachers are very caring and provide a great environment for kids to learn. Small classes are also a benefit! Good sports program (volleyball, basketball, track)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

My children have thrived in the warm, small school environment at Our Savior. In addition, the academic program is excellent. The school administration boldly selected a fantastic curriculum called Core Knowledge 4 years ago. In addition to high Math and Science standards, Core Knowledge focuses on World History and American History taught in chronological sequence which is integrated with appropriate Fine Art, Music and Literature at each grade level. Starting in Kindergarten, students learn about world geography, Mesopotamia, Egyptians, Greeks, Romans, etc, all the way through modern times in middle school. I loved it when my daughter was studying the Middle Ages in 4th Grade and simultaneously was learning about calligraphy and artwork in the Gutenberg Bible and Gregorian chant in the early church. American History is also taught from Kindergarten, providing a firm foundational knowledge of our country's unique history. The History and integrated Liberal Arts program is outstanding compared to the Social Studies that is typically offered in other schools. If you are looking for an enriching academic program in a nurturing environment, Our Savior is an excellent choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

Today I asked my 5th daughter what she liked best about her school, Our Savior Lutheran. Boy was I surprised, and pleased, when she told me History! She likes the way they learn about History, Art, Music and Literature altogether which is very interesting and memorable. The curriculum is based on the Core Knowledge Sequence which is very rich and rigorous and content specific. Of course, she also likes it because she has so many friends there. I like the k-8 environment. It is a small school so everyone seems to know everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2013

I am a student at this school. Yes, it has become much smaller, but I love the teachers here. I have been at this school since pre-school. The entire staff is amazing and supportive. Kids will be kids, one of the other comments says students here hurt each other by chucking balls. That is a huge over statement. I am extremely close to my classmates. If you ever have trouble in a subject, there is always a teacher willing to help. They have not combinded the 6th and 7th grade as of now. I love this school so much. We learn a lot. The size of a school does not matter does it? It matters that we get a good education from the start. We have an amazing principle who actually interacts with us. Teachers and students are very close. It is not hard to make friends at this school because everyone is so friendly. The homer work loads are reasonable as well. For the fourth grade they have a revolutionary day where the kids dress up as revolutionary characters and they do all kinds of stuff. This school is wonderful! I recommend it.


Posted June 4, 2013

This school is falling apart at the seams. It used to be such a great school and loving environment. That has dramatically changed this year. So many totally out of control kids in this school and they refuse to suspend as they would hate to lose out on that enrollment money that they soi deperatly need. Kids physically hurting other kids by throwing balls in their faces on purpose...and the teacher gives the kid a warning vs removing him from the classroom! I say this school is done in another 2 years..so many kids leaving that they are combining a 6th and 7th class so they save money on teachers! Never mind how the kids will all get the level of education they need...it's all about money at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

I'm very impressed with what the school has to offer: Core knowledge, Great sports programs (basketball, volleyball, track, cheerleading), music, spanish, commputers, PE, and much more....I'm so excited that the school continues through Middle School, it's a great foundation for my kids. I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

They have a great educational program and they are getting ready to implement the core program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My daughter's teachers have taught and loved her during the past 2 years! she has grown physically, mentally, socially and spiritually! i could not have asked for more!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Our daughter is finishing 1st grade and has received such a tremendous education and our son will also be attending the school next year in Kindergarten. Excellent education, community and teachers. With public schools slashing budgets at the expense of the children it is a no brainer for us to send our kids to Our Savior. I graduated from De La Salle H.S. and Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo - and I know that education is the cornerstone of our children's future. I could not be prouder to be associated with Our Savior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Our savior is truly the intersection where faith and excellence comes together. The school is the first school in the area to use the core knowledge curriculum. She has already well into her 1st grade math and she s still in kindergarten. There s a large support of parent involvement. They even have track and field competition for the kindergarten children. While other schools are cutting back on music programs our savior is teaching music. It s a great place to be a parent of a student !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Our Savior is a school that teaches to the whole child - academically, socially, and spiritually. The school community is a family that works together to raise the children to be the best people they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2010

Our son has been at OSLS for seven years and we LOVE it. Excellent educators, helpful office staff and a moral code that is not found at many other schools. We are very pleased with all aspects of this school and would recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2010

Thankful for a pubic school alternative. As our society puts less and less emphasis on respect, honor and moral behavior, it is a blessing to have a school who strives for these characteristics. Parent involvement is very important to me, OSL allows classroom and school developement input from its parents. Parent involvement that is heard and respected, not heard and ignored! Teachers who know & care for each student. Education that challenges all levels of students. Extra Activities that envolve all grades in school spirit, sports and family fun. A little know treasure to Livermore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

Even in these tough economic times, Our Savior is making every effort to keep all the 'extras' such as music, art, foreign language, technology training, and athletics. No school is perfect, but this school is working hard towards academic excellence within a loving environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

The teachers are great: knowledgable, caring, and instill good values in the children. Have age-appropriate expectations for the children. School system is organized, provides many positive events for the children. The children are very well-behaved, due to the expectations and values communicated. The school system keeps close tabs on your child, and if anything is amiss, notify you immediately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I love to see the happy, well behaved children when I come on the campus. It is such a warm loving atmosphere.


Posted November 4, 2009

I love Our Savior Lutheran School because of the teachers, especially the fact that when there is a child out of place (or out of class) you immediately know where the child is supposed to be. Most of all though, the fact that my children can get an excellent education with wonderfully reinforced Christian morals is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

It's been a privilege to teach in such a loving environment for 20 years. I'm honored to be an extension of Christ's love as I instruct and interact with students. Besides, where else would kids run across the school yard just to give a hug?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2009

Our Savior in Livermore is a great school. Both of my children went there from K-8 and they are doing great in higher education and life. Great nurturing enviroment, academic rigor with a solid foundation in the Christian church. Its realy a great extension to your family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 86%
Hispanic 10%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Larry Tietmeyer, Principal
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • WASC & NLSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1385 South Livermore Avenue
Livermore, CA 94550
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 447-1246

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT