Advertisement
Advertisement

Vineyard Christian Middle School

Private | 6-8 | 84 students

VCMS is best known for its accelerated curriculum in a Christian environment.
 
 

 

Living in Lodi

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $183,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2012

This school is amazing! My daughter as grown so much in just one year! The teachers hold the kids to a high standard in not just academics, but also in their spiritual growth. They teach the students to take ownership and responsibility for themselves. Everone is held accountable and to a very high standard. My daughter has definitely learned to step up and she has become a better student and person all around. We love it here and our daughter does too. She doesn't just like school, she now loves school, and can't wait to go each day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

Vineyard has been such a unique experience...they really address the whole child: academics, social,and spiritual. We have two girls who have graduated from VCMS and have made life-long friends...and the staff has been fabulous mentors for our kids. Our first graduate from VCMS is now at UC San Diego and is still in contact with friends and teachers from there. The academics are challenging, but so worth it as the students are ready for high school. Spiritually they are taught to apply the Word and walk it out daily. And the social environment is so nurturing. This place was begun by parents and is everything a parent would want for their middle-schooler!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

I have three children who have attended or do still attend this school and it is the best choice we could have ever made for them for middle school. I feel it prepared them very well academically, emotionally, and spiritually for high school and their future life. The small class sizes make the kids feel like family to each other. Although my children couldn't wait to move on to high school, they still talk about how much they miss Vineyard and the experiences they had there. The trips to science camp, Catalina and Washington DC are amazing and just SOME of the many moments they will never forget. The staff, teachers, and parents of this school are all awesome and very supportive.To know this school is to know that God has had his hand on this school from day one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Vineyard Christian Middle School has fully prepared my children for the rigors and trials of high school, college and their life beyond. Reflecting a genuine love and care for the students, the staff goes above and beyond to encourage, challenge and celebrate each child in their care. God's love and blessings flow through this little school. Whether it's the student's involvement in the community, the support that so many people and organizations have received from the school or the impact that the alumni have and will make on the world, His hand is in it all. While there are other Christian schools in the area, none can compare with the unique programs and exemplary education that VCMS offers. I encourage any parent that wants to provide their child with the best opportunities for their life, to contact the school and set up an interview. You will not come away doubting that VCMS provides the best foundational opportunities for your child to succeed in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

5***** in every area...Teachers, AAmazing 4-7 day trips to Santa Cruz mtns, Catalalina Island, and Wash. D.C. during our sons 3 years there. Karen Hale (Principal extraordinaire) leads 5 over-the-top teachers who really CARE and pray for our kids...Our boys have excelled in academics AND great friends/social life in high school and college after spring boarding from this diamond of a school. It's worth EVERY cent (as a mom I work Part Time primarily for tuition, and can think of NO better way to spend $$. Weekly chapel is excellent, and the sport games really emphasize sportsmanship! Don't walk...RUN to this school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2009

the school very well prepairs us for high school and I love the teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2009

its very prestigious school but its not for me but if you like a tough school and believe in god and want to learn then this is your place
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2009

i love going to vineyard. The teachers are great. You have to love the fun we have with Mr.Anderson. You couldnt ask for more fun. The drama productions we do with mrs. billing are fun and going to science camp with mr.oliver was life changing :) You cant ask for more out of a middle school. The lunches are amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2009

We were told that our child would receive an academically challenging curriculum along with a Christian education while also helping him with the social changes that occur during these years. All three areas were addressed beyond our expectations. The entire staff does an incredible job and they love the kids! He is now in high school doing fabulously well. We highly recommend Vineyard Christian Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

Both of our sons are currently at VCMS, and we couldn't ask for a better school experience for them. Our sons are growing academically, socially, and spiritually thanks to the entire team of committed educators at Vineyard. I am a public school teacher, and I highly recommend Vineyard Christian Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

Our son attended VCMS all three years for his middle school experience and we couldn't have been more pleased. At Vineyard he was academically challenged, emotionally supported and spiritually matured. The entire staff is excellent. Curriculum is taught in a comprehensive manner and students know the staff cares about them and their well-being, as a whole. My son was totally prepared for high school due to the academic and personal responsibility challenges offered to him at Vineyard. I cannot reccomend the school highly enough. Our experience at VCMS was so positive we look forward to our other child attending there when it is him time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

I was part of the first graduating class from Vineyard. The teachers there, are wonderful. They are the most amazing teachers i have ever had. Now, i am facing the beginning of Junior year in high school, and i have still not had the love and the devotion from any of my teachers as i had at vineyard. It was really the only place that i felt safe. The goal of the teachers is to make sure that the students actually learn. They hold the motto 'leave no student behind' but they also make sure that no student is bored. There are so many positive words I could say about Vineyard, but none of them could come close to justifying the peace and the expirience I had there. It really prepared me for what I have faced, and will face.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Randal Oliver
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • chvcms@yahoo.com
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nondenominational
Fax number
  • (209) 339-4327

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Internet access
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Lodi Chamber of Commerce
  • Lodi Parks and Recreation
  • Lodi Avenue Baptist Church
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Vineyard Christian Middle School is currently the only Christian Middle School in the immediate area. We focus on grades 6, 7 & 8, preparing our students for high school. At VCMS you can expect the BEST...Bible centered, Excellence driven, Servant focused Training for life!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
35
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
45
Students typically come from these schools
Reece Elementary
Larson Elementary
Vinewood Elementary

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Jim Elliott Christian HIgh School
St. Mary's Catholic High School
Lodi High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2301 West Lodi Avenue
Lodi, CA 95242
Website: Click here
Phone: (209) 333-8300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT