Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Marina Montessori School

Private | K-4 | 14 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Long Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $400,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2012

Finding a school that has a professional yet truly caring and loving staff as well as a top-rate academic program that will challenge your child to work at his/her full potential is a most difficult task, unless your child is lucky enough to attend Marina Montessori. It doesnt take long to see why Marina Montessori has run a thriving and successful school for almost three decades! The teachers and staff at this school are committed to providing each child entrusted to their care with all the love and kindness their hearts can hold, while teaching them a rigorous and child-centered curriculum. My daughter was reading just weeks after enrolling at Marina as a Kindergartner! She is now in the GATE class at her Elementary School after having attended Marina Montessori from Kindergarten until 3rd Grade. My daughter was successful at Marina Montessori because above all else, she was motivated to be her best because of the loving, caring environment that Marina Montessori creates for all children. Marina Montessori gets it right when it comes to educating and caring for our most prized possessions, those little hearts we hold in our hands each day, our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

My 5 year old son is doing 3rd grade math & 2nd grade reading/vocab thanks to the teaching and encouragement of Marina Montessori. Teachers recognized after a few weeks of enrollment, that our daughter, 2yrs old, was more advanced than the same-aged-class she was in and immediately made the adjustment to place her in the 3-5yr old class. Teachers are eager to challenge the children so that they exceed expectation. We partner with teachers on what they are learning and how to reinforce the growth at home. Dance Webby Program comes to the school every Thursday if you wish for your child to learn dance(reasonable extra cost) . Very family oriented school & has many family generations of students coming to learn. Also, have two nice playgrounds on site for children to play. They have such a nice cot area for the kids to take naps, my 5yr old has started taking naps again by choice since he's started! Recommend this school highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

My son has been attending this school for the past six months and we couldn't have chose a better school for him!! Before he started attending there, he was in a in home day care. His father and I were very nervous about putting him in a school setting because we felt he was still so young. When we went to visit, we met the director and toured the school and it was then that we knew this was the school for us. Since then, our son has adapted very well and made many friends. The teachers are wonderful and very insighful. I would recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a fun, nurturing environment for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2010

My daughter has been going to this school since she was 2 (potty trained). The teachers are excellent, the balance of learning is great. When ask, how is my daughter acadmic program coming along. The teacher is wonderful about talking to me about her progress. In all this is a wonderful school and when it comes time to take her out of the school we are going to very sad very sad.....Oh also my daughter is a grade higher ..........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

The staff is wonderful & very nice. However, I wasn't too happy with the academics. It seemed like the kids watched a lot of TV (not educational TV, but stuff like Sponge Bob). My child didn't learn much there. I pulled her out & homeschooled her & got better results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

I love the school so much. My five year old son is attending and absolutely hates leaving when I come to pick him up. His teachers are wonderful as well as the kids. He has many friends and always looks forward to going to school. The curriculum is great as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

My last child just graduated from Marina Montessori School after being the tenth relative attending. We started out with a two year old fifteen years ago and we liked the school so well, each of our siblings enrolled their children as soon as they were old enough to attend. When our cousins or other relatitves are old enough to go to school, they will surely go there. The teachers are so exceptionally nice, we consider them to be like family. Every once in a while we will go by just to say hello. My kids really enjoy stopping by and seeing their favorite teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

I love this school. My Grandson has attended this school since kindergarten. He is in the 3rd grade now. The children that are in the older grades get age appropriate academia. His teachers are loving, but all business when it comes to the basic skills. It is a family run school and we enjoy being part of thier extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

Not to fond of this school. More of a day care then an actual school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 29% 11%
Black 21% 6%
Hispanic 14% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Candyce Brizzolara
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2301 Ximeno Avenue
Long Beach, CA 90815
Phone: (562) 494-4641

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Buffum Elementary
Long Beach, CA




Bethany School
Long Beach, CA



Our Lady Of Refuge
Long Beach, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT