Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-4
Private
Long Beach, CA

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oakwood Academy 5

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
My son has been going to this school since kindergarten and I have nothing but great things to say! All of his teachers have been amazing, the administrator is firm but fair and highly organized. The students are provided well balanced and home cooked meals, that are of a much higher quality than what you find in public schools. They have a variety of toys and activities that you just don't find on the public system. My son is extremely happy there and at the top of his class! Well worth the investment in your child's education!

Oakwood Academy 1

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
This school academics for the most part are great and push your child to excel. However this school tends to be test driven and when a child is doing poorly or lacking in a subject. The attention is brought to you but no additional resources or help is given. Isn't the purpose of teacher is to bring the best out of their student? The School once had a great administrator, now it seems as though the principal in place is miserable lacks emotion. There is no unity at school, no recognition for students. The principal in place lacks empathy and her communication is horrible. I would avoid sending your child to the elementary school. Once a flourishing school with amazing teachers and leaders, now its simply a school collecting money .


Oakwood Academy 2

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
The academics and teachers are excellent. My daughter in in K and her teacher is very positive and always has time to speak to parents. However the administration is of very poor quality. Upon meeting with the current principal/administrator about my daughter possibly being bullied I was told (in short) the other child is intelligent and wonderful and everyone loves her and your child is mean spirited. I was told the other child could not be a bully because no one has ever seen it. However, on 3 separate occasions I witnessed this child acting inappropriate to other children while the staff were too busy talking and carrying on to notice. The principal was clearly biased against certain students and she made that very clear in the meeting. None of my fears or concerns were acknowledged at all. The school and academic is great but I do not recommend this school strictly because of administration.

Oakwood Academy 4

Posted March 02, 2011
- a parent
Oakwood Academy is a great elementary school if you are looking for a small school with a family feel. There are lots of extra activities for the children to do and the teachers are very caring.

Oakwood Academy 4

Posted March 02, 2011
- a parent
Oakwood Academy is a great school if you are looking for a small school with a family feel. The teachers are great and there are lots of extra activities for the children to become involved in.


Oakwood Academy 1

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oakwood Academy 5

Posted December 08, 2009
- a parent
I have two boys enrolled in this school and they have been there for five years. I must say that comparing to a public school, Oakwood Academy has great academics but also a loving environment. As a parent, i truly appreciate the family atmosphere where everyone knows everyone. Also, i would like to commend the staff for providing the extra security for students. There's nothing I would change about this program. I love it and my kids do too!

Oakwood Academy 0
no rating

Posted December 08, 2009
- a parent
What a great value! In these tough times, I've debated whether or not to take my child out of Oakwood Academy to save money. After researching public schools and after school programs, this is the best way to go! My child loves going to school, the teachers are personable, they are open from 6 to 6 and they even have extra curricular lessons. What a packed day! All for about 150 a week, give or take. I wish I had more friends to tell....


Oakwood Academy 5

Posted November 24, 2009
- a teacher
I have worked for Oakwood schools for 4 years now and can tell you this is a safe place for your child to learn and grow! I noticed some of the comments about television and would like to say that our facilities are open from 6-6 & before your child's teacher comes or after they leave to accommodate our 12:1 ratio that we are proud to offer we place the children into groups for a movie. It is never more than an hour. Occasionally it is educational, but the children are in an educational environment all day. We are proud to offer both education and fun! Stop by in the middle of the day & you will find them intently working! I went to the Oakwood schools since I was 2 years old and am now a nursing student at a private university. Invest in your children. Choose private schooling!

Oakwood Academy 1

Posted November 15, 2009
- a parent
This school is great for academics, but leaves much to be desired for building self esteem. The children all pick on each other and the teachers never seem to catch any of it. I haven't really seen any enforcinging of the 'do unto others...' rule. Also, They watch a lot of television. In the afternoon, it is TV time. That is bothersome. Couldn't they find a hundred other things to do with the kids instead of plop them in front of the TV?? I want to get my kids out soon.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oakwood Academy
3840 Long Beach Boulevard, Long Beach, CA  90807
(562) 424-4816
Last modified Oakwood Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-4
Oakwood Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top