Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Powell Academy For Success 1

Posted July 22, 2012
- a parent
Bad experience with staff members. my child was being discriminated for mis-behaving according to staff. wasnt being fed nutritionist food like the rest of students. having to sit in the sun for 35 min while on detention this school is no good. parents if you have a child with any medical problem attention deficiant this not the school for you. theres no resource for special students..there being mistreated and left out

Powell Academy For Success 5

Posted June 05, 2010
- a parent
i am very impressed with the school. i felt welcomed as a parent. this one of the best schools i have ever been to, no this is the best school i have been too.


Powell Academy For Success 0
no rating

Posted October 22, 2009
- a parent
Colin Powell Academy of Success needs more parents and community support. The number of students is 1247, and you may have only six to seven parents on campus volunteer, Parents please get involve with your child's school. The parents who do volunteer have employment; we use our vacation time, lunch hours to support the school activities. The students and teachers need parents, aunts, uncles, grandparents, neighbors to support the learning environment at Colin Powell. Thank goodness, for the teachers who volunteers so the students can participate in school activities.

Powell Academy For Success 5

Posted January 28, 2009
- a parent
This school has a excellent reputation for success and a short but perfect record for safe schools

Powell Academy For Success 5

Posted July 08, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Powell Academy For Success 5

Posted June 02, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Powell Academy For Success 0
no rating

Posted January 24, 2008
- a parent
I don't like this school some of the teachers don't care about the students. And it is really too many kids enrolled at this school. 3rd grade homework is not good either.

Powell Academy For Success 1

Posted January 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Powell Academy For Success 3

Posted November 02, 2007
- a parent
The academic program can be overwhelming for kindergarten and 1st grade students. 15 pages of homework due in 4 days tends to make a child not enjoy school so much. So re-enforcing the idea, that school is fun will be the sole support of the parent. There is not enough mixture of Ethnicity among the teachers, teaching in this neighborhood. Nevertheless, I have met some K-4th grade teachers who may care about children's the on a decent level. After school program is okay, but the WRAP program tends to switch the helpers from school to school after the students have known them for 2 years, which causes the children as well as the parents to fill unstable about the program. Stability is important in these multicultural inner city schools. Some children can be a little on the aggressive side, but cognitive re-inforcement and counceling can help with this

Powell Academy For Success 0
no rating

Posted October 26, 2007
- a parent
I think Colin Powell is a great school! I guess the only complaint I would have about this Academy would have to be the lack of parking!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Powell Academy For Success
150 Victoria Street, Long Beach, CA  90805
(310) 631-8794
Last modified Powell Academy For Success is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Powell Academy For Success Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews.