Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Giant Steps Children's Center

Private | K | 22 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Long Beach

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $221,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

Giant Steps is an absolutely marvelous school! Teachers are sweet to the children, but will be firm when needed . Students come out as great learned ready for the big campus of elementary school! The teachers are sweet and take time to talk to the parents! The little thing children get in trouble for will soon turn to big situations if children aren't addressed appropriately! That's why the teachers address it to the kiddos and the parents so they can learn from it! I don't get why there are bad reviews. I use to be a student here and everything was fabulous! I am going to send my kids to this school for sure! ~An old student


Posted September 24, 2013

I'm the parent who posted a review on sept 24 2013 and meant to put a 5 star. My daughters been there for almost 4 years and I couldn't be any happier with the attention my daughter and son recive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

worst school possible because of the teacher turnover and the children dont even get acknolwledged by the staff
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 29, 2012

This school has the worst staff and director that do not know how to treat children i found one of the teachers pulling on my son hand almost draging him to the floor. They don't pay attention to them.Teachers here tend to complaint about the smallest issues. i think they forget that parent pay for them to take care of their children. Some of their punishments to the children is unethical. They don't give the parents any credit for educating the child. In addition they are very negative when it comes to child and parent raising them.PLEASE DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS CENTER
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2012

I do not recommend anyone to take their children to this school.They sit the students in time-out for an extensive amount of time. i was constantly getting called in the directors office for lame excuses that my child wasn't listening he's 3 yr what do they expect. this place was like BABY BOOT CAMP. we had a horrible experiece.:0( :0( the worst staff and director. the teachers just want easy $$$$ they do not put any attention to the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

I do not recommend anyone to take their children to this school. This school has the worst staff and director that do not know how to treat children. They don't pay attention to them. Last week I was observing them for half an hour and all the staff did was stand around and talk to each other and was expecting the children to behave while they had their conversation. I also obseved them during supper time and they were serving them water instead of juice or milk. This is a horrible school to take your children to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

I do NOT recommend you bring your child to this school. There are only 2 good teacher's at that school , the rest of them are just there for nothing , my child always gets a green card , YET they complain " oh he was doing bad but once I put him/her in time out he/she behaved very well ". I was in the observation room the other time and all I saw was a child who didnt do anything that bad , was pulled by the arm and sat in a chair . Whats wrong with that is , the teacher USED FORCE on the child , the children there are very nice & loyal . I JUST DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL FOR YOUR CHILD !


Posted July 28, 2011

Teachers here tend to complaint about the smallest issues. i think they forget that parent pay for them to take care of their children. Some of their punishments to the children is unethical. They don't give the parents any credit for educating the child. In addition they are very negative when it comes to child and parent raising them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2011

I am an educator and I needed to write this review. I do not work for Giant Steps. This is a great school. They are doing everything right instructionally. The phonological foundation they are creating is developmentally appropriate and is necessary for future reading skills. My child loves this school, he races in each day. I have dropped by at different times and observed unannounced from the observation rooms they have in every classroom. My child behaves each day and gets a green card, however, I have heard them correct his behavior and that of others on the play ground they are firm, and fair. I have reccommended this school to all of my friends for theri preschoolers. They provide an excellent environment. They are affordable and that is just a bonus, I would pay twice the fee if I had to to keep my child at this school. Thank you Giant Steps.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

I normally don't post reviews but I just had to. Our Family has had a wonderful school experience at Giant Steps. I would like to thank the director and staff for taking care of our children, teaching them so much and helping them become strong and caring individuals. ... Director JIM is a very good person. He showed many children discipline including my 4 year old thats getting ready for Kindergarten. School staff are all very concerned about childrens well-being and safety.Academics are excellent and staff is attentive and very helpful to children.The teachers teach more than a curriculum at this school. Very clean and they show you step by step on what they do for the children. I am very happy with this school and will be enrolling my 1 year old as soon as he turns 2! GREAT!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Giant Steps is a great child care center / school. My daugher has been attending GS for the last two years and has acquired so much knowledge as a pre-schoolers. There are also privacy rooms to observe the teachers and kids interact. GS steps is not afraid to move your child forward into the next class level. GS is very cleanand serves three hot meals. The teachers also make time to update the parent on how there child is performing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

Giant Steps may look cozy and warm from the outside but looks aren't always what they seem> Don't be fooled by the nurturing dameaner. its all an act> They sit the students in time-out for an extensive amount of time. i was constantly getting calls @ work, for lame excuses that my child wasn't listening> he's 3 what do they expect. this place was like baby boot camp. we had a horrible experiece.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

My dauther loves this school and has attended for over 3yrs now; the staff is wonderful & my dauther has learned and grown so much...I wish she could stay longer but i know she has been given all the right tools to move forward and grow! we love giant steps & all the staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

My son has been attending Giant Steps for almost a year now. Since he was not used to interacting with so many other children and being put into a class like setting, transition for him was not easy at first. ALL of the staff members were incredible at communicating with me and helping my son adjust to his new everyday environment. I first chose GS because they were one of the cheaper schools AND provided meals, but I came to find that they surpassed all the other schools I had ever looked into. They have a friendly, clean, fun, educational and loving environment. I am SO pleased and priveleged to have my son attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

I love this school. My daughter has grown and learned so much. And they really care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

This school is wonderful! The staff is great, and my son looks forward to going to school everyday. My son has learned so much, and his social skills have improved. He has really come out of his shell. I cannot wait until my youngest is old enough to attend Giant Steps. Good Job Giant Steps!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

This school seems to tolerate kids fighting. My daughter was getting punched in the face by another boy everyday and she finally stopped wanting to go to school. The teachers never told me this was going on. When confronting them they gave me the run around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

This school is amazing! Both of my children have attended GS and one will be graduating soon!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 6%
Hispanic 50% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Yajaira Duque
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6951 Obispo Avenue
Long Beach, CA 90805
Phone: (562) 633-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Creative Day Academy
Bellflower, CA


Wesley Gaines School
Paramount, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT